Ford F-150 previewed in Malaysia – CKD right-hand drive, four engine variants available, from RM389k

Yup, you read the title right. The iconic, mother-of-all Ford pick-up trucks has arrived in Malaysia, and in right-hand drive form, no less. You’re looking at the 13th-generation Ford F-150, which is set to go on sale here in locally-assembled form, converted from its original LHD guise.

According to Hamawangsa Kredit boss, Nizam Arifin, the pre-facelift F-150 will be sold exclusively by the company as a rebadged version, with an annual sales volume of 150 units being targeted. The vehicles will be imported from the US (this includes the tyres, too), while the RHD conversion kit comes from Canada.

The truck will then go through a three-month conversion process in Malaysia, at a facility that is yet to be disclosed. After-sales support will be outsourced to a long-time partner of Hamawangsa, whereas a third party insurer will be announced at a later date, the company added. If you haven’t guessed yet, the F-150 has not, and will not be officially sold by Sime Darby Auto Connexion (Ford Malaysia).

The pick-up will be offered in three body styles – Regular Cab (single cab, three-seater max), SuperCab (extended single cab, longer wheelbase, six-seater max) and SuperCrew (twin cab, six-seater). There will be five trims – XL, XLT, LARIAT, King Ranch and Platinum – on offer, each paired to a six-speed automatic. A choice of 4×2 or 4×4 can be specified during your purchase, but the latter is standard issue for the King Ranch and Platinum variants.

Customers can choose between four engines, starting from a 2.7 litre EcoBoost V6 that’s good for 325 hp and 508 Nm of torque. Up one rung is the 3.5 litre EcoBoost V6 with 385 hp and 524 Nm. There’s also a naturally-aspirated pick, in the form of a 3.5 litre Ti-VCT V6, offering 282 hp and 343 Nm of torque.

The range-topping F-150 will come with a 5.0 litre Coyote V8 (which also equips the Mustang GT), pushing 365 hp and 569 Nm of torque. Towing capacity ranges from 3,855 kg for the 2.7L EcoBoost to 4,850 kg for the 3.5L EcoBoost.

It sits on 18-inch twin six-spoke alloys wrapped with 275/65 Goodyear Wrangler all-terrain tyres as standard, but customers can choose to upsize to 22-inch wheels if they so desire. Hamawangsa will also offer accessories for the F-150, among which will be the popular Raptor pack. There’s no picking and choosing, according to Arifin, because these cosmetic kits will most likely be bundled together as one upgrade pack.

The equipment list has yet to be confirmed, but some features – as seen on the F-150 LARIAT example on display at Hamawangsa’s showroom – include halogen headlamps (no LED DRLs) and fog lamps, LED combination tail lamps with built-in sensors for blind spot detection, keyless entry/start, remote engine start/stop (similar to the Honda Civic and BMW 7 Series), a full panoramic sunroof as well as a powered tailgate with an integrated step capable of supporting loads of up to 350 kg.

Other conveniences include an all-new eight-inch MyView digital display – with up to seven tabs – offering info such as real-time tracking of towing information and GPS navigation display. Also on, a shift-by-wire 4WD dial, heated and ventilated front seats, dual-zone automatic climate control, cruise control (passive) and Bluetooth hands-free.

There are also two 110 volt/400 watt AC plug points (one in the lower dash, the other behind the centre tunnel) and dual rear air vents, although to use the former, you may require a step-up transformer or voltage converter.

In terms of safety, the F-150 comes equipped with six airbags, hill-descent and hill-start assist, AdvanceTrac with Roll Stability Control and Curve Control as well as a tyre pressure monitoring system, which comes on top of the usual suite of three-lettered acronyms like ABS and VSC.

Now, pricing, and it starts from a whopping RM388,888 for the entry-level 2.7 litre EcoBoost variant (which starts from US$28,675 in the US, before options), but Hamawangsa is lobbying to get the cost of entry down to the RM350k mark. It’s still an obscene amount of money we’re talking about here, which makes us wonder what the eventual figure will be like for the Platinum 5.0 litre V8 (from US$55,450 in the US).

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• This truck is less than US$35k, and you try to screw us at almost $400k? We not dumb dumb

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 17
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 17, 2017 at 8:39 am

The ford mustang is about US30k but it is sold here at nearly 500k…dumb dumb orso issit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 112
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:11 am

Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world despite our GDP being one of the lowest. Malaysians are even struggling to pay for their basic B segment car.

It is high time Gomen keeps to their promise to lower car prices by 30%. We have waiting 4 years now since the promise was made

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • LMAOOOOOOOO Malaysia? “Highest Car prices in the world?”

I’m sorry bro.

but.

have u ever heard of singapore

• sudonano on Oct 18, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Malaysia “Highest Car prices in the world”.

Malaysia “Highest Income in the world”.

Malaysia “Strongest ekonomi in the world”.

LMAOOOOOOOO

• Sohhai on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:19 am

MY high Car taxes & duties make car prices 500% so high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • So what does it mean when F150 @ Rm630,512 in UK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • U work in msia u get paid RM4k, you work in UK u get paid 4k euro.. Make sense

• NO 1 Question to Paul Tan on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:29 am

How this company can convert left hand into right hand drive in 3 months but Proton needs 18 months to do the same thing, despite Proton having resources from Geely and 12,000 workers at their disposal.

How is this possible?

3 months vs 18 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Whats that song called? Its all about the money, money, money.

So why u n call Ely, Ely, Ely.
          Why Model3 oso take 2 years, 2 years, years.
          To convert from LHD to RHD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Because F-150 already have RHD sold outside My. This company just bring it in. Not like Geely, the converting process need to start all new all together.

• Rightwinger on Oct 17, 2017 at 5:07 pm

To answer your question look for the keywords ‘conversion kit’ In the article. That kit available right now. For Geely and Proton, they have to create from scratch.

• MeToo on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:28 am

Learn to differentiate the tax structure between the Mustang and a TRUCK.

Throwing you a bone here, in Australia, the Ranger Wildtrak is the same price as the Mustang.

• lilytan on Oct 17, 2017 at 8:43 am

It looks like any other pickup truck.

• Civic sold in US is $18k. How much RM Civic sold here?

• Who on earth asked for this to be brought here? And who would be stupid enough to buy at that price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 22
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 17, 2017 at 8:40 am

Those who can afford asked for it..why…jelos issit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 127
    • Those that are driving Hummer would definitely be interested in the F-150. And they are usually quite wealthy, so 400k is no big deal.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:14 am

Do you know why Jeep can only sell 1 or 2 a year in Malaysia? That is your answer why this car will fail. Jeep even better US25k but sell here RM500k

• Kaki 4x4 on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:41 am

I’m stupid enough to buy one. Please. Don’t bash me.

• kenny on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:30 pm

now that’s a surprise for the year so far

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • FF150Monster on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:37 am

Big suprise for sure. For the size of this F150, will make hilux, navara, ranger, triton look tiny. The F150 SuperCab(extended single cab) interior only already about the same size of Navara’s interior, even i see the rear seat leg room quite comfortable for this extended single cab.

• Ranger on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:26 am

RM389k.
      (Like) Ford F-150.
      (Dislike) Volvo XC90 T8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
  • Jimmy on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:35 pm

This father-trucker can tell all those Ninja King to ‘sin’, or ‘siam’.

Since it is purely for premium market here, heavy commercial use is unlikely; so the project planner and marketing team must really study properly what rich people want. Ego. Show off.

My suggestion is: discard those single cabs and focus on SuperCrew, offer just 3.5L Ecoboost V6 and Coyote V8, throw in luxury items like panoramic sunroof/all-round LEDs lights/chromes, plush luxury interior, good safety gadgets and driver aids in handling such a massive vehicles. Include all its off-roading capabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Those that lament the Hummer H2 is not in production anymore, this is the truck for you guys!

• dodgeviper99 on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:44 am

So exp. Pickup truck 0% tax in bolehland…

• David on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Datos will get this to go off-road.

The rest of us can get 4 Hilux with this price.

WHY CKD still 3 times the price of U.S.??
    1.Gov thinks people are stupid, can’t do simple math.
    2.Gov is greedy (as always)
    3.All of above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
    • Who on earth want to buy 4 hilux? 1 just enough lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • If gov greedy as always, then how come this is priced at Rm630,512 in UK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • WTH to do with Gov? Gov is not the one who selling it. Ask Hamawangsa and Sime Darby for other Ford model. BTW, this F-150 is not mass production like those Ranger at least here in My. Maybe that why the price are expensive. Again, Gov is not the one who selling this.

• Rightwinger on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:48 am

Same reason why a HD Iron 883 is sold here at Rm90+k and a Yamaha Bolt 950 is at Rm50+k, even though both are in the same US$9000 bracket over there….

• MeToo on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:29 am

1. THis has nothing to do with the govt

2. Its not brought in by Ford.

3. Its brought in by an independent importer trying to scalp the public with huge margin.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:44 pm

warranty concerns…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Patrick on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:52 pm

The assembly plant would be the Great Wall factory in Gurun Kedah. The owner of Hamawangsa also have interests in Great Wall malaysia.

• mofobike on Oct 17, 2017 at 1:19 pm

FORD truch RHD 3-month conversion.

Boyue RHD conversion 30-month conversion.

• Tesla Model3 40 months conversion.

• Boyue RHD need to produce from scratch. Not like this F150, its already available for RHD. How many month Ford need to produce the RHD version? Hamawangsa just assemble it. All R&D for RHD had been done long before by Ford.

• 389k? Why not wait for mercedes x class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • donno on Oct 17, 2017 at 8:53 am

That merc is just a Nissan Navara with some 3 pointed star slapped on it. Better buy 3 Navara’s LoL!

• The X-class is much smaller than the F-150. BTW, would you buy a Navara rebadge if priced at 400k? That is another question for another time.

• Is this imported as whole vehicle then Hamawangsa do RHD conversion or isit comes in kit form which they will assemble together with RHD kit?

• Knightrider on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Father of d truck…can go anywhere…

• It’s a clean conversion to RHD, I’ll give them that. But, they left out the driver’s foot rest which can still be seen on the left side which they forgot to transfer over.

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:55 pm

only a hardcore pickup fan will buy this. 400k for a pickup LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • 12yrsold on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:20 am

Bro, we have many “hardcore” pickup fan but not many are filthy rich

• its a reason for privately owned company directors to buy an over-priced luxury pick up

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 17, 2017 at 1:00 am

CO2 emissions?

• The top of the range engine is actually the ecoboost 3.5 which starts at $30,275 in XL trim, the 5.0 V8 is $29,375 in XL trim.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 17, 2017 at 4:15 am

Very surprising to see a company bring in the Ford F-150 truck (of all things), and in CKD kit form no less. Is there even a market for this kind of truck in Malaysia ? The price alone is enough to scare anyone away, and we haven’t even considered the cost of running (petrol, road tax, insurance) and maintenance (since most parts must be imported from America, and our ringgit is weak right now).

But I suppose there is a niche market for almost every type of car here. Our auto market is the most diverse in ASEAN, over 150 car brands are currently sold here (not including grey imports). But only a few brands prosper. Unfortunately, Ford is not one of them… although, they were the Kings once upon a time.

On a side note, this truck is technically called ‘Urban Warrior 150’ and not ‘Ford F-150’. It seems that Urban Warrior builds modified Ford Group cars under license. This is nothing new or special, a lot of companies do this to get around market restrictions.

Urban Warrior can officially sell this truck here because it’s ‘not technically a Ford’, and therefore, Sime Darby (Ford franchise holder in Malaysia) cannot stop them. But unlike grey importers, Hamawangsa is legally obliged to provide full aftersales support for Urban Warrior buyers.

Also, I wonder where they’re planning to assemble/convert the truck. LHD to RHD conversion is not as simple as it sounds. Anyway, wishing them all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • To compete with Mesidis X keras. Same same price, but either for brand prestige or powah!

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Scary price. But as such is the price of entry.

The truck comes in full CBU so it gets all the taxes shot at it. Then again additional cost for the RHD conversion kits, which should attract another 30% minimum.

Then its the cost of AP and the local RHD conversion costs.

Then management costs.

Then profit.

I really wonder who would buy this. But then again, if you had this much dough to even contemplate this, highly lightly you would have some horse boxes or boat you need to tow with this. Nothing else in this segment would be able to tow that with the refinement and durability of the F150.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:42 pm

@4G63T DSM

I see, thanks for the info man. No wonder it’s so expensive !

That means it’s not technically a CKD or even SKD model… so it has to pay 20% extra import tax even though it’s somewhat assembled locally ? (CBU = 30%, CKD = 10%) Anyway, who knows why it’s so expensive…

But I guess even if this F-150 were a proper RHD & CKD model, it will still cost way more than it should. Sigh…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Scary price. But as such is the price of entry.

The truck comes in full CBU so it gets all the taxes shot at it. Then again additional cost for the RHD conversion kits, which should attract another 30% minimum.

Then its the cost of AP and the local RHD conversion costs.

Then management costs.

Then profit.

I really wonder who would buy this. But then again, if you had this much dough to even contemplate this, highly likely you would have some horse boxes or boat you need to tow with this. Nothing else in this segment would be able to tow that with the refinement and durability of the F150.

• zamer on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:23 am

great effort to bring this beast.
    But 400k with reflector headlamp and that kind of interior quality is a bit shamed.

maybe the price is not because of the car but its more of bringing the car to Malaysia

• Ha..ha..ha.. do you know the length of this F-150 ? Starting price near 400k? How many wanna buy a half million truck and drive it on urban road? No parking spaces in the City will fit this monster. Not pratical in MYS. Ford Malaysia just dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • shogun on Oct 17, 2017 at 8:47 am

It is not Ford Malaysia who bring this truck into Malaysia. Read the article you lazy man.

• Read carefully. It is not SDAC (Ford’s Malaysian distributor) that want to bring this in.

• Article said its NOT by Ford Malaysia la. Pls read.

• Read the article please.

• Shafz on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:17 am

Bro Ford Malaysia had no relation what so ever with this car. Read properly

• Froozi on Oct 17, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Nothing to do with Ford Malaysia bro..hehe..read and understand my friend..

• Shafiq on Oct 17, 2017 at 7:27 am

Probably Honda should consider bring their pickup trucks to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • There’s no economic sense bringing the Ridgeline here. Honda buyers will shy away from it because its impractical, being 3.5l V6 only, running cost is bound to sky rocket. Also, Honda Malaysia does’t built/sell any J-series V6 engine, no ASEAN country does, re-stocking parts/ training mechanics needed to prepare for just one model is impractical. Unless they re-engined the big body with the 2.0l Turbo-4 seen in the new Accord which might very likely make its introduction here, the Ridgeline defies all practical sense to be brought to Malaysian or even truck-loving Thailand.

Than again, truck lover here, with their preference for strong ladder frames and Torquey diesel engine workhorse, and the fact that the Ridgeline will be priced at a premium compared to any of our current crop of trucks, and you have better chance of going to the moon than seeing a Ridgeline officially imported here.

• The Ridgeline is manufactured in the US, only in LHD and starts at around US$30,000. If after conversion to RHD, priced around RM300k, do you think there is enough demand to justify bringing it here?

• MeToo on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:31 am

Have you seen how ugly their truck is? I was just back form my tri-annual trip to the US, and believe you me, no one will wanna be caught dead in it…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Honda does not have the traditional body on frame pickup.

The Ridgeline (if that is what you were referring to) is a unibody and not as suitable for what this F150 is built for.

• Ben Yap on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:07 am

many malaysians will be drooling over this truck but end of the day, still happy with their Ford wildtrak.

• henry on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:26 am

I am not surprised on the pricing. But I am very surprise of a grey importer effort to bring this in with CKD and RHD conversion. Out of so many other vehicles, seriously, why this?

• at 400k, its not even luxurious to begin with. what makes them thinks it is legit to sell it at 400k +-

• Raptor on Oct 17, 2017 at 9:48 am

F-150 Raptor?

• Wooo… c’mon guys.. regardless of the price tag, we aint come out with any cents if malaysian automobile company wanted to bring it in. Of course there is always a market for everyone. Can afford it and like it, go ahead. Cant afford it, go for something else. Why still hv this skeptical mind and attitude of condemning things that beyond our control? Thought this kind of people making a lot of noise and wanted the govt to change. But wht about urself and ur unwanted attitude/mind? Tong kosong?

• LOK CHYI YEU on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:07 am

wa…. the prices…. i thought this is just a normal utility truck in the USA. Here become premium truck, Can buy a luxury brand with that pricing…. maybe they put the Mercedes logo with the Class X on it in ppl will buy at that pricing else Ford brand and 380k u can keep it in the store. 150 units! I think 10 units also hard to sell.

• with ford mustang costing at rm 400k++, now with ford f150 at rm 389k, where n what are your cost justification?
    import tax at 300%..
    i will be surprised if ford can sell 10 cars a year in msia..prove me wrong

• TheDean on Oct 17, 2017 at 10:31 am

What an absolute joke. In the US, this truck is the most popular truck for a reason: the everyday joe drives one, from carpenters to builders to raging uni goers. Close to half a mill here? It’s like a pair of Levi’s that costs RM2,000.

• Rojak44 on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:00 am

saw this pick-up on my way back yesterday, right hand drive.. very fast though and the pick-up is very stable on corner at 130 kmh compare to other pick-up sold in Malaysia.

• orang biasa on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:18 am

Can editor stand beside the truck to see how big it is? Or compare to other trucks too.

• erwinkarim on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:25 am

quite overpriced considering this is the everyman’s truck in america and other less-“capable” offering in malaysia is one-third of the price

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:26 am

CKD still sell for so expensive. Imagine CBU cost a million haha

I went to view it just now. The cheap plastic interior are made in malaysia obviously and doesn’t worth 400k

From what I can see the engine is the only part why the price is expensive because the engine came to malaysia with huge tax charges. It’s identical with the Ford Mustang but Mustang is import so it’s worth it but this makes in malaysia

• It wud be so ironic that they used plastics made in MY from conversion kits in Canada.

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:33 am

It’s longer than the normal ranger. Forget parking anywhere in malaysia unless the area is huge and allows you to park in a double box space.

I went to view and seriously. The quality is poorer than wildtrak interior. They use potong plastics

Knocking on the dashboard is like knocking your door sound

• Leafable on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:37 am

Sorry how much is the road tax? LOL

• gonggok on Oct 17, 2017 at 11:51 am

Can go anywhere except any indoor/basement parking hehehe

• Merc fanboy on Oct 17, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Mercedes Benz x class is better choice

• Bear in mind this truck is wide. FJ cruiser / Land Cruiser / H3 could barely fit in your standard car lots.
    With that kind of price tag, you probably wouldnt be using to haul kelapa sawit or durians.
    Stick with Ranger for practical use.

• The F12 of Maranello on Oct 17, 2017 at 12:51 pm

What the hell…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 17, 2017 at 1:11 pm

Pre-facelift from USA? Does this mean its old stock?

• its through a third party company called urban warrior that makes off road modified models of the f150 and other trucks.the importers were smart to go through third party and have no big company run up their asses

• now, this is a shocker lol

• Toy Yoda on Oct 17, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Why 110 volts plug points? Malaysia uses 240 volts. Won’t power up many local electrical appliances.

• Becoz USA uses 110v power?

• Hahaha on Oct 17, 2017 at 7:53 pm

JDM MPV comes with 100V only. No problem powering up our local electronic stuff at all. Unlike in the US, most of our local stuff supports 100V to 240V.

• Silverado on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:09 pm

How is this CKD? The entire truck is imported as a CBU. Modifying it with a RHD-kit makes it a CKD?

• Paul Si on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Reminds me of the good Wald days, this does.
    It’s not a Ford, it’s an Urban Warrior.
    http://www.urbanwarrior4x4.com/

• Kangkung Power on Oct 17, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Best!. This pickup gonna kick the butts of Everest, Triton, Ranger, etc….

• They should wait for the 3.0L power stroke diesel variant with 10 speed auto. More efficiency and malaysian prefer diesel engine for heavy vehicles.

• Justin Ng on Oct 19, 2017 at 10:02 am

would be nice if its f150 raptor supercrew. i would love to have one.

• thekoris on Oct 23, 2017 at 6:15 pm

goddamit 400k for a frickin truck…ckd plak tu… how much malaysian government n dealers tapaw us

• With that price for F-150 is a no NO.. If it’s a F-450 Platinum, double cabin, extended bed with 6.7L power stroke Diesel.. Then maybe worth it..

• Winemaker on Oct 28, 2017 at 12:16 am

‘ve been dreaming of buying one in Bolehland, but never expecting the RM 400k+ price tag, especially with the supposedly different{lower} tax structure for p/up truck compared to other types. Will go for it for
    <300k.

• OmG what happened to the macho muscle Looks?