Singaporeans can now check for Malaysian summonses and pay at 900 PDRM kiosks or online

Singaporean motorists, revealed yesterday to have 37,506 unsettled traffic summonses since 2014, can now check the status of Malaysian summonses and make payment at 900 kiosks erected in the city state or online, Bernama reports.

Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director SAC Sharul Othman Mansor said Singapore-registered vehicles topped the list of outstanding summonses with followed by cars from Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia.

“A total of 20,651 summonses have been paid, but we still have more than 61,000 yet to be settled,” he said, referring to the total number of unsettled traffic summonses by foreign registered vehicles since 2014.

There should be no excuse, as Singaporeans can pay their dues without coming to Malaysia. “The payments can be made at 900 kiosks which have been provided by the PDRM in Singapore. Alternatively, they can also pay online.

“There’s no excuse for not settling summonses in Singapore, and it’s not necessary for PDRM to set up a counters at the Malaysian High Commission in the republic or other neighbouring countries for the moment,” Sharul Othman said, adding that Singaporeans can also pay at several locations in Johor such as Johor Premium Outlet and the Gelang Patah R&R.

Motorists from across the Causeway have told the media earlier this year that they were willing to pay for the summonses, but wanted proof that they were the ones who committed the offence, citing cloned vehicles used on Malaysian roads as a cause for concern.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 12yrsold on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:24 am

“There should be no excuse, as Singaporeans can pay their dues without coming to Malaysia”

He he he. Is this the BEST our Man in Blue can do ? If they know their vehicle are blacklisted, U think S’porean are stupid to drive their vehicle to M’sia AGAIN to be stopped ??

If PDRM seriously want to collect the Dues, stop them from checking on-line. Let them in & nab them in M’sia. Do what SG do to us M’sian. Looks like PDRM did not learned anything from SG police.

• myEgg on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Alot customers have outstanding traffic summonses yet renew roadtax, lesen no problem.

• Zahmin on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:45 pm

This is why Singapore will always have more brains than Malaysians. This is why their GDP Per Capita is 6x that of Malaysia. And this is why the SGD is 3.3 to the RM Ringgit.

No need scientist or rocket science.

Singapore implemented this 20 years ago. You don’t pay saman, you cannot even leave the country. At immigration, you will be caught.

In Malaysia, we still cannot think of that simple solution. We will have 100 mesyuarat to bincang and study the solution. The mesyuarats will take 20 over years. But still no solution.

So simple lah. Just prevent any Singapore car from returning to their home country unless they pay any saman.

You think you have kiosk and online they going to pay the saman?

• 12yrsold on Nov 28, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Zahmin, why are U asking me this question – “You think you have kiosk & online they going to pay the saman”?!

• azrai on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Who gets the contract to install 900 kiosk in Singapore?

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Make those singaporeans pay the summon in SGD.

when malaysians get fined in Singapore, we pay in SGD. so when they come to malaysia, they pay in SGD too.

• Bernard on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:16 pm

In their country, they follow all the laws as they respect their just laws.

• Theres no such thing as just laws. Its just how pipu dealing with them interpret it. The law is the law. – Judge Dredd

• Those car still able to reenter Malaysia? They should have register information such as address or ID. Just published it in the JPJ website as blacklisted car / driver. Same to local driver and summons.

• Rikzi on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Sembang….

How many unsettled summons by Malaysians? Own kampung also lazy to do enforcement, now want to target tourists who only come once or twice a month? Got so hardworking or not?

• Ahbothen on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:21 am

Through my observation, foreign cars ie singapore cars are purposely targeted. Authority is very lenient to local cars, they also know locals all waiting for discount.

• Alyy8128 on Nov 29, 2017 at 2:13 pm

where to check summonses? on PDRM website? can’t find any link there.