SPYSHOTS: 2018 Subaru XV seen again, two variants

The new Subaru XV has been caught yet again, this time by reader Jeang Herng near the Asia Jaya LRT station in Petaling Jaya. The Impreza-based crossover has now been seen in two variants – the range-topping 2.0i-P in the characteristic Sunshine Orange and the base 2.0i in Crystal Black.

From the outside, the high-spec model is differentiated by LED headlights with C-shaped LED daytime running lights (the 2.0i retains the use of halogen reflectors), chrome window line trim and silver roof rails. Otherwise, the two cars are pretty much identical to each other, equipped with front fog lights, silver door handles and 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels (not the 18s found in other markets).

Expect equipment count to largely mirror that of the Taiwanese-spec 2.0i and 2.0i-S models, minus the larger wheels on the 2.0i-S. There, the 2.0i gets a 6.5-inch touchscreen head unit, PIN code access, manual front seats and a rear view camera, while the 2.0i-S adds an 8.0-inch touchscreen, dual-zone auto air-con, a multi-info display, cruise control, a power-adjustable driver’s seat, a leather dash and a sunroof.

Safety-wise, the Taiwanese models get seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors, with the 2.0i-S throwing in rear cross traffic alert, blind spot detection, high beam assist and lane change assist.

Power should come from a revised version of the FB20 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated flat-four engine, now with direct injection. In Taiwan, this mill makes 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm (6 PS up from before), sent through a Lineartronic CVT to Subaru’s trademark Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system.

Earlier in the year, local distributor Motor Image confirmed that the new Subaru XV will make its way into Malaysia in the fourth quarter of this year, so the car should be launched here very soon. Excited?

GALLERY: 2018 Subaru XV in Taiwan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tkhengong on Nov 29, 2017 at 10:35 am

I was informed the car will be officially previewed on 30th November at MOtor Image PJ and the official launch is on December 8. I am considering to upgrade from my 2016 XV if the eyesight safety suite is available and the price is right.

• BetterbuyBoy on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Same $$. Better buy Pijot 3008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • TreeHugger on Nov 29, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Bro, how’s the subaru cvt performance, drive-wise? Any better than honda/nissan/mitsubishi cvt? Subaru makes good driver’s cars except for their choice to go cvt even in impreza. A bit skeptical there as I have experience with honda cvt which I don’t like.

• I like how Subaru respects the Malaysian public who have first hand information from the internet about the new car. Motor Image didn’t bother to cover up the new car with black plastic rubbish bags. They know that you onow what the new XV looks like.

Salute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • anaemic 2.0 is not to everyone’s taste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Nazray on Nov 29, 2017 at 11:24 am

when it coming out, look cool

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 29, 2017 at 11:54 am

So the best crossover is still mazda cx 3 if you like CBU imported or hrv for spacious.

This Subaru xv is useless without the iconic Subaru i sight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • hrv and cx3 are b segment platform, fwd with torsion beam suspension..its no where compared to the xvwhich are double wishbones at rear. Subarus could probably look simple and cheap on the outside but underneath is simply awesome.

• applegreen on Nov 29, 2017 at 12:31 pm

current XV 17 inch wheels look better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • i just love how subaru drives, its king during current stormy weather. Probably will upgrade my xv once subaru eyesight is introduced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • if the pre-facelift they sell rm90k, i will pay cash immediately

but they still sticking to promo price of rm109k…meh..no thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 29, 2017 at 3:45 pm

so low spec….apa ini la tan ah chong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Bernard on Nov 29, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Sell full spec below RM80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Andrew Lee on Nov 29, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Terrible resale value for the XV and Forester, as Motorimage is very fond of throwing big2 discount on their new cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16