Boon Siew Honda celebrates 60 years, 5 million bikes

Boon Siew Honda, official manufacturer and distributor of Honda motorcycles, today clocked a milestone of 60 years in the Malaysian market. In addition, this year also marked the production of 5 million motorcycles from its manufacturing facility in Penang.

“For over 60 years, Oriental Holdings Berhad had developed a strong relationship with Honda Motor and we have unified our vision to offer innovative and reliable motorcycles to the public through their latest agreement. This bond between Oriental Holdings Berhad and Honda Motor reflects on the business relationship between Malaysia and Japan in the automotive industry,” said Dato’ Seri Loh Cheng Yean, Chairman of Boon Siew Honda.

Beginning in 1957 with the establishment of a showroom in Pitt Street, Penang, with 50 units of the Honda Cub, local production of Honda motorcycles started in 1969. The first million motorcycle production milestone was achieved in 1986, with the second million being achieved just three years later.

Boon Siew Honda currently produces motorcycles in a RM200 million, 23.7 ha plant located in Batu Kawan, Penang, which began operations in 2013. Motorcycle models produced are the Wave Alpha, EX5 Dream Fi, Wave Dash Fi, Wave125i, RS150R, Honda BeAT, Honda PCX and MSX 125.

In the first half of 2017, Boon Siew Honda sold more than 400 units in the large displacement motorcycle category, an increase of 12% from 2016. For 2018, Boon Siew Honda will be aiming to garner 50% market volume in Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV), up from 42.8% in 2017.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Maria on Dec 12, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Dear author, if i not mistaken both pcx and msx are CBU from thailand.. Congratulation to boon siew for 60 years in malaysia. I have wave 125i 2010.. Still serving me well except for vibrating coverset. I hope they will introduce more fresh product like Cb150r , CBR250RR , click 125, new airblade and legendary new supercub with round led headlamp. I also hope thier quality and after sale service as good as it shoukd be

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Dec 12, 2017 at 10:18 pm

The list of motorcycle models produced in Malaysia was provided by Boon Siew Honda.

• dolloh on Dec 12, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Thanks Honda Malaysia for giving us kapcai

• So kapcai super cub baru tu keluar tak kat malaysia?

• Donno on Dec 12, 2017 at 9:02 pm

An article about boon siew honda without a single picture of the EX-5?? Every single picture in this article has honda bikes that is not even sold by boon siew honda!

• Choon on Dec 13, 2017 at 7:46 am

Too bad the quality not so good as b4…..especially RS150R….Tensioner, tps problem…can see those bad comment at fb group. Anyway I owned this model and also civic 9th generation that served me good so far…. 60th anniversary no any gift for loyalty owner????

• Papa G on Dec 13, 2017 at 10:09 am

don’t forget the coil issue… as early as sub 5k km mileage already happened

• applegreen on Dec 13, 2017 at 10:35 am

So many sweet memories with BS honda motorcycle. Went to JPJ applying for motorcycle license but then that pegawai JPJ asked me “Datang nak ambil lesen motor tapi kamu datang naik motor mana boleh !?”

• Norman on Dec 14, 2017 at 7:10 am

How about 50th anniversary supercub 250cc 2 cylinders with 35hp/25nm slapped with 110/70-17 & 150/60-17 tires?