Reporting potholes in Selangor with the Waze app

No one enjoys potholes, and we wish they can be fixed with quicker efficiency. In light of this, Waze has collaborated with the Selangor state government this year to allow motorists to report potholes via the navigation app.

According to Smart Selangor Delivery Unit (SSDU) deputy program director Fahmi Ngah, the Selangor state government has received more than 19,000 reports via Waze users, and have patched almost all of those that are on local authority roads from January to November.

“This citizen collaboration has shown tangible impacts and we hope that Selangor citizens continue to assist the state in pothole detection via the Waze app,” he said.

“With this initiative, drivers in Selangor have a simple and effective way to report potholes directly to the authorities, so they can get patched quickly,” added Edward Ling, country manager for Waze Malaysia.

The initiative covers all twelve Selangor state local authorities – Petaling Jaya (MBPJ), Shah Alam (MBSA), Hulu Selangor (MDHS), Kuala Langat (MDKL), Kuala Selangor (MDKS), Sabak Bernam (MDSB), Ampang Jaya (MPAJ), Kajang (MPKJ), Klang (MPK), Selayang (MPS), Sepang (MPSepang) and Subang Jaya (MPSJ).

However, this excludes some roads in Selangor that are privately owned or separately managed by the Public Works Department (JKR), the state district office, or the Malaysia Highway Authority and Concessionaires.

So, how do you report a pothole via the app? When you spot one, have your passenger tap and hold down on the Reports icon and then selecting Hazard. In the Hazard menu, select On road, followed by Pothole and finally, tap on Send to share the report.

Once the report is sent, wait for the relevant Selangor state local authority to patch the pothole within five days. As a safety reminder, you shouldn’t be fiddling around with your phone while driving, so get your passenger to do it for you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• shafudin on Dec 13, 2017 at 11:57 am

Syabas majulah Selangor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • KL Has Risen (2019) on Dec 13, 2017 at 5:08 pm

can selangor helps KL road users as well? for kl within 5 years can patch up the reported holes?

• Slgr needs to get their backyard in order 1st b4 sibuk nosing into their neighbours.

• tax payer on Dec 14, 2017 at 3:14 pm

roads in taman melawati, and its surrounding area is under mpaj, the rectification work done is so bad raise a question, is bribery still rampant within the mpaj ?

• lilytan on Dec 13, 2017 at 12:01 pm

While the reporting method is 1st class, the patching job is still third class. If the road is properly built at first, the potholes would not have happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • At least two parties to blame. Beside contractors, those overweight lorries put unnecessary pressure on tarmac as well.

• tax payer on Dec 14, 2017 at 3:17 pm

so overweight lorries and lorries that spill debris on the road under jpj, while contractor to build the road under jkr or local munipical, and contractor hired to clean the road all makan suap that is why msian road is still like msian road unlike singapore road so nicely built flat and clean. we are in the same monsoon climate but yet their roads are soo much nicer

• Road resurfacing is Bolehland tradition every 5 year. Lolz

• anonymous 2 on Dec 13, 2017 at 2:56 pm

if properly built at first how to get maintenance project? aiyohh!!!!

• Dug Ong on Dec 13, 2017 at 6:32 pm

They should learn how to build proper long lasting road from Putrajaya (not being political here, just stating a fact).. might invlolve a higher budget in the beginning but its worth it in the long run

• Stop using the stupid machine to fix the potholes, not a quality job

• Ken Mah on Dec 13, 2017 at 12:21 pm

I agree with lilytan. Before the repair, we have a pothole. After the repair, we have a hump on the road. After a few weeks, the patching starts to come off. Third class patching job. waste of resources.

• AddSaltAddPepper on Dec 13, 2017 at 2:49 pm

To add on, while doing road repairs works, most of the time it will cause traffic jams. Wasting our petrol too

• Having the pothole patched within 5 days is long. Selangor as a developed state, should get the pothole patched within 24hrs.

• azhar on Dec 13, 2017 at 2:10 pm

within 5 days not on the 5th day only they fix it..if 5 days is long, u should come to KL..lucky if they fix it in a week!

• 12yrsold on Dec 13, 2017 at 1:04 pm

This is one of the most relevant article that is beneficial & logical to both Rakyat & Selangor state local authority. At least I know my paid taxes to Selangor are being put to gud use. Majulah Selangor.

• KenJi on Dec 13, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Syabas Selangor. Daripada sibuk berpolitik, lebih baik sibuk bekerja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • Masalah ialah Slgr sibuk makan lebih dr keje maupun politik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Dec 13, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Only in Malaysia, potholes exist faster than the ones that are being repaired….

Here, potholes are actually in the size that could swallow a 17in tyre easily…..

Besides potholes, malaysia is the land where the existance of (mega sized)speed bumps….

• tax payer on Dec 15, 2017 at 5:33 am

agreed not only our roads are in bad conditions, the local authorities will then conveniently add the speed humps, the yellow stripes and the red stripes at every possible place they can think of. only in malaysia where cars suspensions, absorbers and bushings can last less than 50k km. this act of slowing down traffic by using methods that will cause damage to cars is so not fair because it will “punish” even to those who abide by the speed limit. more advanced country will put up signs and warning even a strobe light to remind motorist to slow down, the use a stripe line that produces sound instead of damaging cars… and they put up speed cameras. so that everyone can enjoy a nice smooth roads

• James Belacan on Dec 13, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Well done. This is a good initiative.
    Keep on doing the good work inspite of all the complains.
    You cannot please everyone.

• hondaman on Dec 13, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Potholes are unavoidable because of our weather, even singapore is consistently patching their roads.

• The Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) should view the current inconvenience caused by the ongoing SUKE & DUKE2 construction in narrowing numerous stretches of the existing DUKE plus MRR2.

And why should user of the DUKE continues to pay the toll without compensating the road users like myself for the inconvenience caused.

And lately there were numerous accidents along the MRR2 and the Jalan Ukay Perdana as a result of roads being narrowed to facilitate columns to be constructed for flyovers.

I believe with this message across to the public, the MHA should at least reduce the burden by compensating for a toll reduction and charge it into the toll concessionaires for not providing due safety features like lighting and safety barriers sufficient to prevent accidents which will be more to happen.

I believe the concessionaires safety officer must be reprimanded for such lackadaisical behaviour and NIOSH/CIDB should inspect all temporary roads on their safety aspects before fatalities happen.

• can we report it while not driving? (in the office etc) ie select from the map the various locations we remember the pothole located?

• Ben Yap on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:08 am

if housing area got potholes, can report or not? i realised a lot of housing areas, the roads are not well kept especially made worst by illegal speed bumps erected by the residents.

• rakyat marhaen on Dec 19, 2017 at 12:50 pm

when patching:
    1) pls la use the small steamroll or machine with similar weight and NOT with the stupid small machine,
    2) pls patch a wider area than the holes, so that no humpy bumpy
    3) don’t just do it for the sake of “melepas batuk di tangga”

• Last week I reported a pothole at the junction of Jalan Balung Ayam with Jalan Sungai Bertih 3, in a residential area in Klang. That pothole has been there for many months.
    One week has passed and the pothole is still there.
    Perhaps Waze works, but the pothole people don’t?

• reported 6 weeks ago and clinked almost every day when i saw those pinhole in Bandar Mahkota Cheras main road to grandsaga highway. The pinhole still there.

• NT KHOO on Jun 24, 2022 at 2:43 pm

This morning I travel to work at Seksyen 16, when passed by Persiaran Selangor about 7.25am I hit a pothole in front of Sri Dayaa Manufacturing factory. caused my front lefthand side rim cracked and Cost me RM600 to replace a whole set of rims just because of 1 rim cracked.
    Can I claim back the repaired cost from MBSA municiple.

Regards