Kia Rio GT Line revealed ahead of Geneva Motor Show

Kia has released the first images of the new Rio GT Line, which joins other GT Line models like the Sportage, Picanto and Sorento. The hatchback will make its public debut at the 2018 Geneva Motor Show, and is set to go on sale in Europe shortly after.

The GT Line treatment gives the Rio a sportier look, and includes a new bumper with “ice cube” LED fog lamps similar to those on the cee’d GT and pro_cee’d GT. There’s also a gloss black and chrome grille, LED DRLs, chrome window trim, a gloss black spoiler and 17-inch alloy wheels.

Inside, you’ll get black leather and cloth seats with grey contrast stitching along with a flat-bottom steering wheel. The dashboard gets a new carbon-fibre-effect finish, while metallic trim surrounds make their way to the door switches and gear lever.

While it may look like a hot hatch, the Rio GT Line is powered by a 1.0 litre three-cylinder T-GDI petrol engine (118 hp and 171 Nm of torque), paired with a six-speed manual transmission. Later on, naturally-aspirated 1.25- or 1.4-litre petrol MPi engines will join the mix, as well as Kia’s seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 12yrsold on Jan 25, 2018 at 10:19 am

When this Rio GT comes here, it will be the Best small car & the most powerful 1.0 litre 3-cylinder T-GDI petrol engine (118 hp and 171 Nm of torque) in M’sia.

• hondafan on Jan 25, 2018 at 11:16 am

you forgot about the fiesta’s 1.0 liter 3 pot churning 125hp

• 12yrsold on Jan 25, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Oh, U mean the one that they 1st launch(2014) selling at RM93,888 & now they are selling it below RM80k NOW !! I’ve COMPLETELY forgotten about it. Hehehe.

• 13yrsold on Jan 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

as I recall Kia also femez for throwing discounts for poor sales. A lot more Fiesta than Rio on the road.

• BowArrow on Jan 25, 2018 at 11:20 am

Picanto being A segment has sharkfin antenna but this Rio as a B segment don’t have it = =a

• 13yrsold on Jan 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

what’s the big deal about a shark fin antenna? it works the same.

• BowArrow on Jan 25, 2018 at 7:42 pm

ever see vios(b4 update)(alot) , persona , almera(yes dual antenna),myvi(old), xtrail ,civic(new),accord, well the list go on ,all with fake shark fin antennas, that means people loves it .

• Ali00 on Jan 25, 2018 at 11:27 am

I would sell my c-segment and take this b-segment GT instead!!

• Not sure whether it is the same car but I have seen the car here in Saudi on the road. At first I thought it was VW Polo but then I saw the KIA badge on the tail gate.

In local Saudi Kia Dealer website this car is already available. Just google Kia Saudi.

• Jeremy on Jan 26, 2018 at 4:09 pm

For a second there, the manual option was so dreamy. Miss those gear changing days.