Malaysian Hafizh Syahrin confirmed for 2018 MotoGP

Local racer Hafizh Syahrin, better known to fans as “Pescao 55″, will be the first Malaysian to compete in the 2018 MotoGP season with satellite team Monster Yamaha Tech 3, after a successful winter test in Buriram, Thailand. He joins twice Moto 2 champion Johann Zarco in the French team.

Hafizh will be riding the Yamaha YZR-M1, and posted a time just 1.7 seconds off the fastest laptime set by Dani Pedrosa of Repsol Honda Team. 23-year old Hafizh, who comes from Ampang, was previously slated to compete in Moto 2 with SIC Racing Team, but left suddenly, only to land the position vacated by Jonas Folger, who pulled out of the 2018 MotoGP season due to injury.

“I’m incredibly delighted after receiving the good news that I will ride with Monster Yamaha Tech3 in 2018,” said Hafizh. “Following three very interesting and great days of testing in Buriram, where I learned a lot, I want to thank my crew again, especially Nico and Maxime, but also Johann and Laurent for their advices. In just a short time, I really learned to fully control a MotoGP bike, which is still unbelievable for me,” he said.

“I’m really happy to announce that Hafizh Syahrin will be the second Monster Yamaha Tech3 rider alongside Johann Zarco,” said Tech 3 team manager Herve Poncharal. “It has been a long process to find somebody, who could be the one,” he continued.

“We had to convince all the people around us, that Hafizh is going to be a good MotoGP rider. Therefore, we had to give him a tough task during the three days of testing in Buriram. In the end, he did a tremendous job, he fulfilled the mission. Yamaha was more than happy with his performance and the whole Tech3 team was delighted,” said Poncharal.

Final testing for the MotoGP teams happens in Qatar on March 1. The 2018 MotoGP World Championship season begins at the Losail Circuit in Qatar on March 16.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Congrats on Hafizh! With the same bike as lejen Rossi, show the world what u can do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 22
  • Anton Ravind on Feb 21, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Congrats Hafizh for doing so well. We know you have worked hard to achieve this. You are one of the few who don’t ask for bantuan.

Goes to show, working hard pays well and one will be successful.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 171 Thumb down 132
    • Again with the bantuan bollocks. So let me quote the right honourable Yamcha on this:
      “Don’t ever dilute his performance and succesful with degrading comment as mintak bantuan.
      He is one of the talented charm that despite all odds coming from European rider even from his countrymen watering down his caliber, he proved them wrong. Give him an average bike to ride on, he will tail your superior European driven bike to the end and make their fan miserable on grandstand. He just need a better bike and crew to topple them. Now, Europe fans are in mixed emotion about his performance. Those who live on the bike like Mr Poncharal know the talent when he saw one. Some really love to give Syahrin a shot, while some want him to groom a bit more on moto2.”

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 196 Thumb down 245
      • Katak Sendiri on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:39 pm

try to improve your English john. Then you can understand better

keyword “Don’t ask for bantuan”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Nadzmi on Feb 22, 2018 at 6:18 am

john, ko faham baca? Tembak tanpa baca betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
      • My England is Bad on Feb 22, 2018 at 9:16 am

he like to call people caveman, but he himself caveman cannot understand Inggeris

• Basri on Feb 22, 2018 at 9:56 am

panjang cerita john tapi tak relevan

• Anton Ravind on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:47 pm

john, do you know how to read?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • So much insinuations on Hafizh’s achievements. Jealous much? Deal with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Donno on Feb 21, 2018 at 6:46 pm

“We had to convince all the people around us, that Hafizh is going to be a good MotoGP rider. Therefore, we had to give him a tough task during the three days of testing in Buriram. In the end, he did a tremendous job, he fulfilled the mission. Yamaha was more than happy with his performance and the whole Tech3 team was delighted.”

“I am very honored and proud to give him this chance and I know this is going to be something historical, because it’s the first time that a Malaysian rider is racing a full season on a MotoGP bike and we know how popular our sport in this part of the world is.”

“I want to tell Hafizh: Welcome in our family! We will take care of you like our son and I’m quite sure we can have a great season. You can learn from the team, from Johann. Thank you for your enthusiasm and for your involvement. I can’t wait to be in Qatar with you on our bike.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Donno on Feb 21, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Again congrats hafizh! MotoGP this season will be the best yet for all malaysian fans!

PS. Petronas, please re-sponsor Hafizh.

• Its time Hafizh to fly on his own. Pet shud continue to sponsor upcoming new talents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
      • PETRONAS please stay clear from this boy and let him focus on his racing

• Slirh on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:42 pm

Dear dora,
          whatever happens please undervalue the role and opportunity that PETRONAS has provided to HS ie Sprinta “kapchai” race, CEV European races and others. While I fully support HS for his determinations, attitude and talents in pursuing his MotoGP dreams. We also have to remember that opportunities were created thru Petronas local talent developments when no one even cares.
          Therefore, HS please fly onwards on your dream to become first Malaysian MotoGP champ

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 21, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Tahniah!! So there is a Malaysian rider in every category right?

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:46 pm

That is correct. Aside from Hafizh in MotoGP, other Malaysian racers are Zulfahmi Khairuddin – SIC Racing Team and Khairul Idham Pawi (SuperKIP) – Idemitsu Honda Team Asia, in Moto2, with Adam Norrodin of Petronas Sprinta Racing in Moto3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:02 pm

This news brings more joy than the news on reduce in fuel price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Fish55 on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:19 pm

This is the best news so far for 2018. Congrats Syahrin…!!

• congratulations
    and all the best

• the driver on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:42 pm

Told ya he was talented.

• He got talent to walk thru the door. Now he must show he oso got talent to stay with the crowd. All da best to Hafizh!

• Farid Apandi on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Go on and make us proud Ampang dude!

• Wahed Shamsudin on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:42 pm

He wasn’t nicknamed ‘the fish’ for nothing. Well done!

• lilytan on Feb 22, 2018 at 8:43 am

Now dont blow up this chance like zulfahmi did at redbull ktm.

• hope Malaysian will appreciate local motorsports talent more. Felt gutted that local radio can casually talk about English football, but not local rider during MotoGP week for the pass few years.
    Majulah sukan permotoran untuk negara

• komarad on Feb 22, 2018 at 10:01 am

congrats!! wow chance to be side by side with Rossi

• azhar hussein on Feb 22, 2018 at 10:08 am

Congratulation hafizh…welcome to herve poncharal family!!!. do ur best and show the world…
    u make me proud to be a malaysian…
    We pray for u for the successful with the M1 machine in all 19 races motogp 2018.
    good luck…

• nurussalam aziz on Feb 22, 2018 at 10:11 am

Congrats ‘little fish’ aka Pescao 55!

• Hairul on Feb 22, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Congrats Hafizh!! Really proud to be a Malaysian right now…Show the world what we Malaysian riders are capable of…Now I need to buy a flight ticket to kl from borneo and watch him race in Sepang this NOV…

• RunneR on Mar 03, 2018 at 8:01 am

After so much trust.. Can he deliver? Im so worried cuz i dont want him to be the 2nd ‘alex young’.. Qatar 1st day 23rd..2nd day 21st..3rd?