More Proton dealers impressed by Geely visit in China

Proton is continuing to invite its dealers to visit the Geely Research Institute (GRI) in Hangzhou Bay in China, in order to get a feel for how the national carmaker’s new foreign strategic partner was researching and developing new technologies. Three more dealership owners made the trip in early March and, needless to say, they were just as impressed as those before them.

“From what I gather after the visit to the GRI, we could see that Geely takes into account every single detail,” said Munauwir Mohd Khir from Edaran Saga. “From planning to execution, careful thought is being put in place to ensure a smooth process. Everything is done in a controlled manner and the processes are in order. I also observed that they follow stringent rules, and regulations that are adhered to, so this is very good.”

He added that he was impressed with Geely’s technological prowess as well. “It takes a good car manufacturer to have a big vision for the company – not only developing cars with advanced technologies but, more importantly, cars which are environmentally friendly as well, like electric and hybrid cars.”

Mohd Nazrin Mohamad Fozi of Rahman Brothers Automotive said that his visit more than lived up to his expectations. “[GRI] showcased Geely’s technological capabilities and the future of automobiles. I can imagine if these technologies, like advanced safety and other state of the art features are incorporated into Proton cars, we will definitely be at the leading edge of automobiles in Malaysia, and beyond.”

The Geely Boyue will form the base for Proton’s first ever SUV, coming at the end of the year

Meanwhile, Hazree Hisham of Vitalic said, “When I walk through the areas in GRI, I could feel a sense of calm all around. Line workers do their work diligently, and they look serious about the work at hand. We can see there is a sense of pride in the effort they put in to. It is a no-nonsense environment. They are so focused on their work to ensure quality delivery of output.

“On top of that, the floors were so polished I could not even see a single speck of dust or dirt. This is an example of a world-class facility at its best,” he added, noting that he could clearly see how Proton could stand to benefit from its collaboration with Geely.

“After this visit, I believe I see more clearly now the developments that are ongoing in Geely and how Proton could eventually benefit in the long term. From the working culture to the plant, there is a proper system and flow to doing things. Production is in control and everything looks orderly.”

The visits are part of Proton’s plan to convince its dealers to upgrade to 3S and 4S outlets, in order a cultivate a more premium image for its upcoming Geely-based models, starting with its first ever SUV at the end of the year. It signed up nine dealers for its dealer improvement programme in December and January, and just last week it announced that it had signed ten more.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• polla on Apr 02, 2018 at 6:39 pm

“Line workers do their work diligently, and they look serious about the work at hand. They are so focused on their work to ensure quality delivery of output.” why Proton staff still struggling to be productive after more than 30 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
    • Not enuff sales volume. But thats what Geely is here for.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
      • Pochi on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Aiyar soon Proton will have more staff than its yearly sales figures … Now oledi drop below 4000 units a month already … Boyue will contribute 10000 units a month ka ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • https://paultan.org/2018/02/08/proton-looking-to-sell-400000-cars-per-year-by-2027-aiming-for-30-market-share-in-malaysia-10-in-asean/

• 12yrsold on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:20 am

Lets hope by 2027 for the sake of M’sia, U & me will be around to see this comes to fruition.

• Proton EV arriving 2017, priced under RM100k.

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

• Why wait? This one here now and cheaper
            https://paultan.org/2018/02/06/treeletrik-t-mv7-electric-lorry-priced-from-rm66000/

• Loser on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:56 pm

Not enuff sales volume? tell tt to honda & p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Honda is kawan kawan with P1. So? What about ur Toyota waterfall sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Najib Economics on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:52 am

Boyue a Left Hand model and not sold out of China before. Malaysia is their first test market. Changing to Right Hand Drive is not cheap involves things like dashboard and steering racks etc…. unless Boyue can sell many units here. The cost will be borned by Proton again…Can it sell?

• Rightwinger on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:55 am

And yet there are bashers that cast aspersions, alluding to incompetence on P1, questioning the time it takes to convert and making it sounds like it’s simple like changing socks.

• johnissohai on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:52 am

ever wonder why not enough sales volume????…that is because your car sucks!..incompetent proton workers..always wish for tongkat to be given…LOL..useles crap

• Ahmadjh on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:17 pm

why not enough sales volume bcoz mesian pipu no patriotik & no sapott kreta tempatan.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Mentality problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Fake news on Apr 02, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Be fair with news not selective like a gorilla humping it’s chest… Tell us more about the 80% of your 200 dealers that sold less than 20cars a month …which part of China did you invite them to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Dave Wong on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:33 am

There are too much burden on the After Sales of Proton, we need to trim so fat. Only those who perform will stay.

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:06 am

i dont think its a matter of productive.. im very sure some of the same people who worked in proton, also now work in plants in malaysia building hondas, mercs, volvos, toyotas, peroduas, etc.. end of the day, i blame it on poor leadership.. GLC style appointments..etc. at least there is now leadership in proton from the “outside”, and unfortunately, they are burdened with the legacies of the past.. cars that weren’t selling 1-2 years back won’t automatically start selling now that new management is in place.. its going to take them a couple of years to get things up and running again. it will be interesting to watch whether the new suv can be accepted or not by the Malaysian public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • GLC style like PNB, EPF, TH, Pet, etc no problem. But meddling by a CERTAIN person was the problem.

• Nazirull on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:54 am

Nasi lemak mgmt & protek mindset. Sediakan payung seblom hujan…Tp x mampu beli payung

• Ayuhlah P1Geely!
    A Jepunis once said, after hurting a slumbering behemoth: “I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:06 pm

Proton, Geely > all

They doubted us, laughed at us, but they can’t hide their fear.

In their desperation, they thought they could shake us, but our spirits remain unbroken. For we look to the future, one that is filled with prosperous, prideful joy. We become stronger and better than ever in our pursuit to greatness, for we have nothing to lose, and everything to gain.

They could not see it now, but they will see it before they know it. By which time, the automotive landscape here will be disrupted so much, and the people will stand to gain the most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Mark my words, Boyue PX7 will be SUV market changer like what Iriz was to B segment hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • johnissohai on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:55 am

ever wonder why not enough sales volume????…that is because your car sucks!..incompetent proton workers..always wish for tongkat to be given…LOL..useles crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • johnissohai on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:58 am

Iriz market changer???????????…since when?..how many units sold since it was launched?..

on a side note john, doesnt matter if proton team up with ferrari or buggati, cars coming out from proton factory will never sell well, and if u have a proton, u will be begging ppl to buy it once u plan to sell..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • johnwhat on Apr 03, 2018 at 2:51 pm

since when Iriz was a game changer? Unless you’re being sarcastic la.

• Without iriz ur new Mivi wun have dual VVti, 6 airbags, ESC, TC, & ASA. Market changing deshou?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Different people work differently. Whether Geely can get the same working attitute continuously remains to be seen.

• Ex-Proton on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:45 pm

Lol… Nampak sgt those who visit Geeky is so jakun cause Proton itself never have proper system.

Proton need more than 30 years to realise about good system??! U must be kidding.

“From the working culture to the plant, there is a proper system and flow to doing things. Production is in control and everything looks orderly.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Ex-Proton on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:47 pm

So Jakun cause never see Proton has such well organized system eventough before this work with Jepunis Mitsubishi, Suzuki & Honda.

• Most of them never seen P1 cars being made even thou alwiz being invited. “Tanjung Malim too near, tak best lah pegi. Tak mau lah”
        Invited to China. “Wah so nice, can see snow somemore. Walao! Look at how cars r made! OMFG I never knew! This is soooo awesome! Thats what P1 been missing, a plant that makes cars!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • 12yrsold on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:22 am

Hahaha. This I agree with U 100%

• MY pipu mentality. Travel local tak mau, wanna go exotic overseas area.

• tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:02 am

Minister himself also dunno Proton and Volvo got plant here, he thought they grow on trees maybe, pun intended.

• You mean Malaysian has been buying cars from company without proper system? Omg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Meaning they never bother to come see how cars r made, unless at exotic places. Tanjung Malim & Shah Alam not exotic enuff.

• Chock on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Yes, the old proton hicom factory. The keys are all left inside of the cars. Suka-suka got people curi and drive it out….

• Henry on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:55 pm

It pays to get out there to see what is going on in the rest of the world.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 03, 2018 at 12:14 pm

For too long, we have been inwards looking. The term “village hero” often used aptly. We maybe aware & perhaps up to par theoretically on global standards but realistically, the human capital is still blinded to other possibilities, simply due to lack of exposure & a closed mind set.

Look at how Proton dealers was stuck in the 90s era of 1S whereas China has leapfrog us to implement luxurious 3S/4S. Worse still, those 1S dealers are resistant to change for the better. This is an example of closed mind set even though those same dealers would have travelled overseas often on family holidays.

• YB Albert on Apr 02, 2018 at 8:21 pm

I hope the smiles from these bunch of proton dealers are genuine,followed up with concrete action.
    Lets hope they will not behave like the bunch of complaining dealers who gave Dr.Li Chun Rong ,a massive dose of ponstan,to alleviate migraine.
    By June,the sales of P1 hardly can reach 25,000 units.How in the world can DRB/Geely sustain a massive workforce of 10,000? Just pathetic and mind boggling.
    By the way,that bald headed dealer looks like MU winger ashley Young.Are u guys into football or cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Who says u cant be successful on and off the pitch? Look at Becks.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 02, 2018 at 11:19 pm

mcm free holiday aje…come back here…same old same old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:59 am

Come back here, they invest millions to upgrade to 3S/4S.

Geely also do a lot of training now, reported here in paultan before.

Already, they’re implementing Volvo’s QC SOP, they’ve reduced defects considerably.

Service cost also reduced, published on their website. Next time service, just show it to SC so you don’t get conned. Any other additional charges would require your consent first, thus far my service experience is quite smooth sailing, especially with Proton Edar SC themselves, haven’t been to 3rd party dealer SC for awhile.

• they put in the money to upgrade 3S & 4S. If they dun buckup and perform, they will die. Simple as that.

• suhardi on Apr 03, 2018 at 12:23 am

Geely has a good product to start with whereas in P1 our product is not only not up to mark but dated and seriously needs a total makeover.
    We cannot continue producing Saga / Persona with the same Vvti – Punch mismatch.
    The final drive matters most and that is why P1 is struggling to improve its sales numbers.
    Perhaps Proton assembly staff should also be seconded to China to experience + change the work culture.

• Henry on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:04 am

In the near future all current models will be replaced by Geely products. It makes economic sense to have a common platform with models sharing many common parts.

Just look at the present range of Proton, Ertiga from Suzuki, Perdana from Honda and its own Campro engined models. Inventory is a nightmare. What kind of business model is this?

• Anak Malaysia on Apr 03, 2018 at 12:54 am

X payah nak imprese sangat..diorg ni mana pernah masuk kilang. Sale person mana mau masuk dlm plant yg panas, bising dan x ada acond…diorang sebelum korang sampai dah prepare macam2. Sebenarnya culture yg betul ialah kurangkan MUDA( kerugian) dlm bahasa jepun. Teknologi tak ke mana kalau pembaziran berleluasa. Kilang kereta x perlu canggih2, yg kena canggih ialah cara pikir- enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rr on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:03 am

Contohi perodua! Enough said!

• Why wanna make lousy unsafe cars? Think about the lives of the users.

• Amran on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Think about the time of customer on the, not time inside proton SC every week to repair here & there..

• Betul Betul. Macamlah dia orang tak biasa buat preparation sebelum principal datang lawat.

• John Chai on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:47 am

Next, pls visit & learn from Perodua factory also.

• Because Malaysian dunno design cars, shame

• There are many things I disagree with gov. But this one I support wholeheartedly.

The world has become smaller and more competitive. Proton is fighting in a red ocean of vehicle product. They need a strategic partner.

I still cannot understand why Pakatan makes Mahathir the leader. He may had the idea to kickstart a car industry, but he failed because he put all his cronies in plump positions milking away Proton’s cash reserve, and in turn taxpayer’s money. In the end, we lose big time to Thailand.

So sad.

There’s still time to name a different PM candidate with no legacy problem.

• Apa ni on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:15 am

walau berak rata-rata, kerja mau betui2. Tak kerja tak makan, tak berak

• fuzikawa on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:36 am

Clueless about the future of Proton a company that was once on the right track..

• Nik Affendi on Apr 03, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Of course modern plants are tip top because they are designed top up.Past experienced has moulded how a plant should work.The car plants in US and Europe especially the Germans brand like mercs,bmw,audi,vw are the state of the art plants,followed by the Japanese and Koreans and are uncomparable at this time.

• tokmoh. on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:21 am

In some ways, Volvo/Geely plant is more advanced than Germans.

Many lauded VW’s MQB Modular platform, but they need to invest new production line to produce.

Volvo’s CMA platform can utilize current production line, so it is even more flexible and innovative at product and manufacturing level.

Read it in Forbes’ article about Geely. The writer have seen many production lines, but Geely’s truly impressed him. They make Tesla look like some bawah pokok amateur pomen.

• muka ada manyak senyum, semua sudah install weechat ka?

• Betol Tak? on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Why go so far when here can learn from Perodua success story.

• Why learn how to successfully make crap cars?

• tokmoh. on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:23 am

Jaguh kampung only.

Geely is jaguh dunia, their Volvo now worldwide award, keeps breaking record sales and profit.

• Bernard on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:11 pm

China has learnt from the Western countries and Japan on how to run a car manufacturing plant. Now it’s Malaysias turn.

China has come up to speed. Now Malaysia.

• tumpang glamore