2018 Royal Enfield Himalayan in Malaysia – RM36,880

After the launch of the Royal Enfield store recently, Malaysian distributor RE Motorcycles has launched the 2018 Royal Enfield Himalayan adventure bike at a price of RM36,880, excluding insurance, road tax and registration. There are two colour options available – Granite and Snow.

Launched globally in 2015, the Himalayan is powered by a single-cylinder L410 SOHC engine displacing 411 cc, with liquid/air-cooling and fed by EFI. Power gets to the ground via a five-speed gearbox and chain.

Designed to travel both on- and off-road, the Himalayan carries long travel suspension – 200 mm with a 41 mm diameter front fork and 180 mm at the rear from the monoshock. Wheel sizing for the Himalayan is suitably large for rough terrain, rolling on a 21-inch spoked wheel in front and 17-inch hoop in the back.

Weighing in at 191 kg, the Himalayan is not light for a sub-middleweight class machine and fuel is carried in a 15-litre tank. Braking is done with a single 300 mm brake disc in front clamped by a two-piston calliper while the rear wheel gets a 240 mm disc and single-piston calliper.

Amongst the fit-out equipment on the Himalayan can be found an LED tail light, combined analogue/digital instrument cluster, windscreen and digital compass. A full range of accessories is available for the 2018 Royal Enfield Himalayan such as soft or hard case panniers, spotlights and spare fuel canister and every Himalayan comes with a two-year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• The commander on May 28, 2018 at 6:28 pm

In india it just 30k rupess…what has gone wrong here…pity u malaysian…bye..

• Not 30k INR its INR 200k

• Yeah I don’t think it’s that cheap. I even have spoken to an indian national before, he said for one himalayan u can actually buy 3/4 bajaj

• sohai on May 30, 2018 at 7:25 am

India people pity Malaysian? haha
      thanks for the joke.

But none of us will be moving to India anytime soon. we love our country too much.
      bye.

• sulthansyedibrahim on May 28, 2018 at 11:02 pm

Yes in india its INR200k and its a failure model, which RE discontinued in INDIA

• Donno on May 29, 2018 at 9:39 pm

That thing has the less horsepower than the KTNS RS3 250cc bike. Is it worth RM36k? RM25k is more like it.

• YEGlocal on May 31, 2018 at 5:48 am

erp vendor malaysia …although sites we backlink to beneath are considerably not associated to ours, we feel they may be really worth a go as a result of, so have a look…

• Christian on Sep 08, 2018 at 11:18 am

I need to contact the Malaysian distributor as I am presently in Malaysia and have a malaysian assembled and bought bike which I have used happily and extensively through South East Asia. For my future trips I am seriously contemplating to acquire an RE Himalayan 410. my only problem comes from the surprise of your given price at am incroyable almost 70% more expensive as in Europe and the USA and this, it seems without the equivalent ‘Euro 4’ norms. Paultan.org, can you please help me to comprehend haw this bike, which is 1/2 this price in India, is here far more expensive then a 500cc Japonese and far less sophisticated (which I like). According to my calculations it could not exced 20,000 to 23,000 MR all taxes included. I am a 70 years old men who been bikind this the sge of 15 and have a few countries and miles left behind his bikes. Please can you contact me. Think you far your attention. Christian. M. P. Selaries.