Clamping of vehicles in KL to be temporarily stopped

Starting today, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will not clamp vehicles that break traffic rules relating to parking, which may result in a chaotic time for motorists in the city. Thankfully, the move will be a temporary one while DBKL resolves an issue following a request from several Kuala Lumpur MPs recently to review the parking contract awarded to Yayasan Wilayah Persekutuan (YWP).

According to a report by The Star, DBKL was asked to suspend YWP’s contract based on the local authority not calling for an open tender. The welfare arm of the Federal Territories Ministry outsourced its parking contract to Vista Summerose at the end of 2016.

KL mayor Tan Sri Mohd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz stated he will meet with KL MPs this Wednesday to discuss the matter but noted a decision can’t be made immediately. “I will meet with Kuala Lumpur MPs on Wednesday and give them the necessary feedback on why suspending the clamping of vehicles may not be a good idea,” he said.

“I was asked to suspend (clamping) for the time being. It was a request from KL MPs Lim Lip Eng, Fahmi Fadzil and Tan Kok Wai. We will give it a try, and on DBKL’s part we will continue with enforcement and towing of vehicles if necessary.”

“The MPs must understand that while I respect them as elected representatives, I cannot be taking orders from them. Things are a little uncertain right now without a boss. There is no FT minister. Some decisions cannot simply be made without putting some thought into it,” he added.

Amin Nordin also noted cancelling YWP’s contract will require DBKL to review the contract in terms of compensation. Vista Summerose managing director Datuk Nik Haidi Nik Mohamad revealed that should DBKL terminate its contract, the compensation amount would be almost RM100 million.

“They still have to hire someone else with the technology to the job and it not as easy as it seems,” he said, adding that clamping was effective to prevent people from illegally parking their cars – out of the 250,000 cars which park in the city every day, only 80,000 pay for parking.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sathia on May 28, 2018 at 11:42 am

Malaysia Baru herald greater civic responsibility and engagement between local govt & residents. A country & people that were willing to go all out and together to make greater Malaysia

• When the lawless r in rule, then lawlessness r on the road. Hurray to New MY! MIGHT IS RIGHT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • hondaman on May 28, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Now everybody can park everywhere… Terima Kasih PH

• Ismet Ulam Raja on May 28, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Former DBKL gov sold 64 parcels of valuable KL land. DBKL can rilek now, no more clampings. Terima Kasih DBKL.

• 7yrsold on May 28, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Typical sore pembangkang. Skip !!

• YB Albert on May 28, 2018 at 12:18 pm

You guys see…wah Liao..when u terminate the dude ,u got to pay RM 100 juta…u see the built in “scam”…just shameful to sign contract with these “gentlemen'”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Mikey on May 28, 2018 at 12:40 pm

WOW, should DBKL terminate contract of YWP, the compensation would be almost RM100 million. Looks like we are all in the wrong business man.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on May 28, 2018 at 12:40 pm

No more clamping, good good, but should be straight TOW AWAY the bloody hell cars that parked illegally/haphazardly in the city (there shouldn’t be any tolerance already, even 1 illegal parked vehicle can slow down the traffic like hell or aggravate the traffic jam situation). You simply park, be prepared to face the music (do like Subang Jaya area where MPSJ officers are very nasty one).

• pojie on May 28, 2018 at 1:06 pm

cars that parked illegally/haphazardly around bazaar areas. Inconvenience to other motorists.

• Victor on May 28, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Yes,

We still fully support and want authorities to straight away take action to TOW vehicles away that block other vehicles ( already inside parking lots ) especially those who always DOUBLE PARK .

This also apply to those vehicles parking perpendicular until a 20 metre width road effectively becomes a three metres width road just manage to allow both incoming and oncoming vehicles to come thru. — —– especially in residential roads and shop areas

Really sickening and the rule of laws must be applied and enforced always .

• Hope MBPJ would tow away those illegal parkers in front of Amcorp Mall as well. It’s so annoying to see them taking one lane there.

• Bernard on May 28, 2018 at 1:02 pm

PH will do things the right way, open tender, just, fair according to internationally accepted rules and regulations.

They will do things for the long term and do away with cronyism and nepotism for good.

• True, the mode of contract award should be scrutinized, but why is the enforcement put on hold?

This is sending the wrong message to the public. We are already facing issues of haphazardly parked cars, traffic blocking and a number of things. Why make it worse?

• Susukotak on May 28, 2018 at 2:01 pm

kempen kurangkan kutipan hasil YWP. caranya. letak kereta ditempat yg betul

• Capt. Lucas on May 29, 2018 at 12:59 am

Lets all do as the govt. of the day requires. Yes protocol is imp…but there wasnt any with former and with you. All money and favours !!
    So now, do as u are told and relinquish your post and let good governence be the order of the day from this day on. Tq

• sohai on May 30, 2018 at 7:30 am

with or without clamping, please be a responsible road users.
    is also the duty of everyone of us to maintain order in the time of uncertainty and transition.

• Imelda on May 30, 2018 at 11:36 am

majority have NO RESPECT for traffic law including JABATAN PENGANGKUTAN due KOPI o License passing .

Now this is the result of producing sub standard drivers who challenge the law by illegal double park in all cities and residential roads causing irritatation and obstruction traffic and people driveways