GST zero-rated: Mercedes-Benz models get rebates from RM11,799; AMG GT R is RM94,924 cheaper!

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) is the latest company to release new prices without the six-percent goods and services tax, which will become zero-rated come tomorrow, June 1. These prices will remain in effect until the reintroduction of the sales and services tax (SST) on September 1.

The price adjustment will result in decreases starting from RM11,799, with the brand’s least expensive model, the A 200 AMG Line (the A 180 Urban Line has been discontinued), now dipping under the RM200,000 mark at RM197,089. At the other end of the spectrum, the top dog Mercedes-AMG GT R is a whopping RM94,924 cheaper, although it still costs a cool RM1,588,964.

Separately, MBM has culled a few variants from its extensive 52-model lineup, including the CLA 250 Sport 4Matic, plus both the C 200 Avantgarde and Exclusive. Only the C 200 AMG Line, introduced late last year, lives on.

There have also been changes to the local E-Class range, with the E 200 Avantgarde receiving a RM15,000 price drop – together with the RM18,858 GST saving, it now retails at RM315,030. Meanwhile, the E 250 Exclusive gets a RM5,000 price drop and now sits at the same price as the E 250 Avantgarde at RM357,483. These changes correspond with a change in specification, which will be detailed at a later date.

The company is concurrently running a World Cup campaign (Mercedes-Benz is a sponsor of the German national team) until July 15, offering buyers either an interest rate of 1.98% with Hire Purchase Classic over a three- or five-year tenure, or Agility Financing. Both options come with either free insurance for one year or four free service vouchers (mileage cap of 48,000 km). There are additional offers for selected models.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Something that i cant afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • If the previous gov is still ruling, every rakyat would be able to afford this bcoz bn enrich the poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Pakatan Bestest Government on May 31, 2018 at 8:42 pm

You also mentionaed that once Pakatan Government took over, all non national cars will go up by 300%

Now, I see opposite. Car prices have gone down.

Enough of causing trouble here john. We are fed up with your lies

• Korean Fan on May 31, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Don’t put the cart before the horse. SST belum masuk babe.

And what is the point to have cheap car and buy now when economy will be bad in the coming years and you are not able to service your loan? Already KLCI has been dropping for the past 4 weeks and about to hit pass the 1700 threshold.

• In previous mgmt, KLCI hits new heights.
            In new mgmt, KLCI soon to hit new lows.

Tenkiu MY! Harapan Baharu Untuk Muflis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 31, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Wish they’d keep the C200 Exclusive cos it does have the comfort suspension. But the price difference against the C200 AMG is too small I guess and not many were buying the Exclusive. Guess most people don’t mind the sports suspension in the C200 AMG model.

• Afeeq Hasan the MalaysianAmericano on May 31, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Wow such a huge line up! Good job Mercedes, though where is the C63s sedan, S63 Sedan and S65 Sedan?

• Nurman on May 31, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Even if the price lowered by rm500k also i cannot afford… from 2mil to 1.5mil…

it is 6%…. if 60%, different matter….

time to buy cars before 1 sept

• I’m only interested to hear something like abolish car excise duty.

• tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2018 at 12:33 am

So what Mercedes did Paul Tan bought recently?

• Mesidis shares ;-)

• tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Ah, you must too new to remember.

Paul Tan bought S-class, shortly after S400h duty-free launched.

Harve bought E-class, shortly after E300h duty-free launched.

So somebody from the crew must’ve bought one at taxed price recently. Terima kasih, patriot!

• They change to Volvo

• I knew both of them have Mesidis. Just a tongue in cheek comment since Geely oso can buy Mesidis shares. Hehe.