The government has been urged to abolish the fee for open approved permits (APs) amounting to RM10,000 per used vehicle as it burdens both the seller and buyer. This was said by Mutiara Motors executive chairman Datuk Ahmad Kemin, reported by Harian Metro.
“I hope the new government can abolish the fee of RM10,000 for each open AP as imposed by the previous government. The sum is a big burden to the retailers, who also had to shoulder the 6% goods and services tax (GST) before this,” Ahmad told the media after the company’s buka puasa event in Johor Bahru.
He added that the proposal is to make it fair for local vehicle importers. “It’s different from franchise AP holders, where no fee is collected despite them importing large numbers. So, it’s only fair for it (open AP fee) to be abolished as we the local importers only bring in a small amount of vehicles,” he said.
The Mutiara Motors chief explained because of the high fees, parallel importers are now facing low profit margins, forcing them to scale down in terms of manpower, giving an example of 250 staff to 150 staff after taking into account wages and utility costs.
On the current tax holiday after GST was zero-rated on June 1, Ahmad welcomed the move, saying that it has increased sales by around 30% to 40%. “On average, we sell 15 to 20 units daily, especially Toyotas, and it’s very encouraging. Many consumers were waiting for 0% GST and took the opportunity to buy,” he said.
how about NO APs at all to begin with?
The old AP system introduced by Rafidah Aziz was to enrich those cronies who opened bumi recond dealers.
only Naza was sucessful. others just resold the ap to make profit.
say no to parallel import, say no to AP.
NO APs???
The gov is in need of money now, how could you asked for no AP? I think the gov increase the AP fee so that they can clear the 1 trillion debt, and become the 1st counrty in the world that have no debt at all.
Penang is debt free. You don’t see Penang street like Singapore clean. Still full of pot hole and dirty full of rubbish streets.
Apa lagi Mutiara Motors mau
Ya. Time to review this system. Need better regulation and better protection of consumer.
Take the Takata airbag worldwide recall for example, what have these AP holder done? I believe a big number of affected vehicle had been brought in be it new or reconditioned. Had they issue recall? i am wondering if they have proper record to start with in the first place!
Dont be a simpleton. All roads fall under the federal government. Because of corrupted BN, they dont give states under opposition the required budget and attention.
Tabung Malaysia collected 30 million already in case you didn’t know. Gov will reach target soon. So, no need to charge rakyat so much.
30Million is a long long way from 1,000,000,000,000.
You have 1TB space to fill and you now only have 30MB.
OR, we can retain AP, but let the AP be open to all companies and individuals.
No ap so that anybody can import their own cars and just pay the import tax and excise to govt…no need to pay profit to recon dealer..
Kronis comes a callin’
Kronis>>
https://paultan.org/2014/08/30/pekema-abolish-ap-affect-revenue/
Takpe new P1 coming soon to continue AP >>
https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/
New P1 =/= P1
And AP will soon be abolished
https://paultan.org/2018/06/05/abolish-rm10000-open-ap-fee-says-parallel-importer/
Read the article la. Its not abolishing but the AP holders requesting to remove the Rm10k fee. AP still remains. So no diff dulu dgn skarang.
Abolish it completely better, free for all, survival of the fittest. All these years of unfair advantage and tongkat, now you’ll taste hard work for real.
that won’t happened… abolish it will reduced gov source on income. you think the sedekah from rakyat enough to fund the gov?
Yes abolish fuel subsidise will save billions. If not enough put fuel duty like 64% on top will clear the 1 trillion debt in no time.
But but they promised petrol RM1.5/L???
Where?
Online bud for AP. Market price determines.
Well, price not always the issue for grey imports.
As margin for these 2nd hand is huge. Grey importers should provide better package to customers (such as warranty, free services etc)
Yes. They should ensure these cars are reliable. Maybe the Gov should increase the AP and thereby reduce old and auctioned cars flooding into our roads. The rich can still afford to buy directly from the showrooms. The gov then should focus on introducing a friendly law for manufacturing and assembling of foreign cars in Malaysia. in this way, there will be more jobs, more money for the gov, cheaper and reliable cars. Then Malaysia will not be looked on as a dump yard for those auctioned used cars
Abolish AP.
Just abolish the AP. Too many loopholes to plug in. Come on PH walk the talk since last time making a lot of noise
bising apa ini….already dulu earn banyak…scrap AP system!
Semi-Value, this is the second time I like your comment.
Haha, parallel importers bring in small amount of cars? Look at the vellfire and alphard – its everywhere!
Govt should abolish the open AP and reduce the taxes so cars become more affordable and local franchise holder can bring the cars in cheaper….
Dei those franchise sellers have service centres and warranty
This will encourage Grand Theft Auto around the world. More Toyota Vellfire, Alphard will be gone missing in Japan.
I suggest open bidding for APs restricted only to bumuputras.
Low profit margins ? If you can’t face the competition pls change to other business. In the real world there is no sure profit businesses. Get Real !
Abolish AP altogether, benefit only UMNO cronies, epitome of corruption. If you need a case Study on corruption. AP is the perfect case.
Better still, make APs available to everybody. They should be able to apply direct and pay for the APs.
The present AP holders can then turn themselves into agents to do the importation.
If this cannot be done, give out more APs, so that they don’t become too exclusive.
Should totally abolish ap itself
Wahhh… under the previous government all OK, can take the charge for years and years… now suddenly because the new government cares, everything is not OK with the previous system…
According to previous PM, these pipu patut cukurr..
Previously they complain, Najib dun gip and F. Now that they help Bapak back on the seat, its time to get remunerations.
Hello brader…we want the whole AP system to be abolished lah…….rent seekers!!
Nope. Retain the fee, but remove those giant AP rent seekers like Mutiara Motors. Reset and redistribute the open APs to small businesses.
Make AP’s available to everyone, government can auction them directly to whom ever wants to import vehicles.
Agree, no more cronies or middle man untung buta buta.
Want AP, pay straight to JPJ. Gomen get the money 100%.
Cronies cannot survive after this, well tough luck. Welcome to the real world of business.
Fair? Why not opening the AP to all regardless of race of bumiputera status?
Don’t talk about fair when you’re still relying on your bumiputera status.
Imagine when AP and high tax are no more, how much will a perodua axia cost?