VinFast to unveil sedan, SUV at 2018 Paris Motor Show

Vietnamese automotive start-up VinFast will be unveiling its new sedan and SUV at the Paris Motor Show in October. As reported earlier, the Pininfarina-designed models will emerge from the company’s joint venture with AAPICO Hitech for automobile body stamping and welding in the country, while partnering German engineering group EDAG for the first EV to enter the Vietnamese market. The sedan and SUV are set to go on sale in Vietnam next year.

The automaker has lofty goals; it hopes to be the top car manufacturer in ASEAN with a target of 500,000 units per annum by 2025. The company expects to produce 100,000 to 200,000 cars a year in the first phase, which includes the aforementioned sedan and SUV, as well as electric motorcycles.

“We have the resources, scalability and commitment to become a significant new player in the global automotive industry. We are immensely proud to be the first volume automotive manufacturer in Vietnam, and the first to participate in a major international motor show,” said CEO of VinFast Trading James DeLuca.

Earlier this month, General Motors (GM) announced that it will transfer its Vietnamese operations to VinFast, which has also been appointed as the exclusive distributor of Chevrolet cars in Vietnam. Previously for Chevrolet assembly, the existing plant will be optimised for the manufacture of the upcoming models, and Vietnam-market Chevys were imported.

This adapted manufacturing plant will supplement the purpose-built, 335-hectare facility which is currently being constructed in Hai Phong, northern Vietnam, which the company says is one of Vietnam’s largest-ever industrial projects.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Soon Vietnam will beat Malaysia just like how Thailand beat Malaysia to become the Detroit of Asia

Somemore Vietnam people super hardworking. They don’t minum teh 8x a day and makan kuih in kantin but work super hard in the factory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
    • Agreed. Its becoz of minum teh 8x a day and makan kuih in kantin that jepunis can come out with killer airbags. Jepunis shud follow Vietnam culture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 18, 2018 at 9:22 pm

We need more Mainland people to come into Malaysia to teach the GLC and Putrajaya folks how to work hard

• Lucky Geely is giving some brains to Proton, otherwise Proton will lingkup.

• Rizal on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Vietnam also now wants to be ASEAN leader in automotive sector. We Malaysia still harping on petty issue everyday such as on UEC, LGBT, GSTvsSST, racial and religious issue. How to achieve Vision 2020 or become Developed Nation like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • Aero (Member) on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about.

Even if the concept models look incredible, the production models may turn out average.

Even if the production models are good, quality control and refinement may be lacking.

Even if quality is good, market adoption may be slow.

Even if sales are strong, exports will be a whole different matter.

Even if exports exceed expectations, bear in mind that competition on the open market, especially from Chinese car companies, will be an uphill battle.

And even if all of the above are overcome, by then, the car would have become a thing of the past. Replaced and obsolete, maybe a niche luxury. Just like horses today.

Some 20 or so ‘small countries’ have tried to win the automotive industry ‘game’ by creating successful independent local car companies. So far, only 1 (Korea) has won using this risky and expensive approach. The rest were just shades of ‘(financial) loss’. Most were sold off and ended up becoming manufacturing hubs for the ‘big countries’. Some are still trying to stay independent at the expense of taxpayer dollars.

The auto industry has long been a ‘big country’ game. I would love to see Vietnam change that. But honestly, I have very little reason to believe that they stand any real chance. We’ll see what ultimately happens in 5 or 10 years time.

Some might think that I’m being negative or pessimistic with my above comments. But I’m just sharing my pragmatic view on the subject. Good luck to VinFast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • dewi champa on Jul 19, 2018 at 2:51 am

Anyone knows how Vinfast sourcing there raw materials and automotive parts from where or oem from which country?

• ss427 on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:23 am

Hey Proton, why doncha put your whatever Iriz, Preve, Gen2 on display at the Paris Motor show too?

Please remember to put up a BIG BANNER overhead stating ‘Proton, Malaysia’s answer to BMW!’ and make sure you setup your booth next to BMW okie?

Opps… did someone say your cars does not even meet the min safety requirements in Europe? Or that none of them can meet Euro 6+?

Awww… that’s too bad… whatever happened to your global car thingy?

• kzm (Member) on Jul 19, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Lol.. all those car already out. Plus those tagline is from more a decade ago.. be real dude