Subang Jaya cracks down on illegally parked bikes

All Malaysian motorists understand the frustration of trying to find a parking space, only to find it occupied by one, or several motorcycles. In an effort to reduce this, the Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ) is clamping down, literally, on motorcycles parked outside the designated bays.

Using the E-Grip motorcycle clamp which locks the front brake lever in place, preventing the front wheel from moving, MPSJ has begun motorcycle clamping operations in the Sunway Metro area, according to a Facebook post from www.sjecho.com.my. To have their motorcycles released, owners pay a fine of RM30.

“Motorcycle owners have been parking their vehicles everywhere and anywhere they wish; at times blocking other vehicles and even occupying OKU parking spots,” said Noraini Roslan, MPSJ president. Noraini added MPSJ is looking at ways to increase the number of available motorcycle parking areas.

Noraini said MPSJ is identifying suitable spaces along back lanes and traffic islands on the road, adding that discussions will be done with police to designate motorcycle parking areas. MPSJ has arrears in traffic compounds amounting to almost RM80 million, with a recent campaign to have errant motorists settle fines at a flat-rate payment drawing a luke-warm response.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• PJ Should Do It Too on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:52 pm

A lot of motorcycles parked on paved pedestrian pathways. Annoying for people who walk especially when it is raining. Tak pasal-pasal kena lalu jalan berbecak sebab motor block jalan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • May be becoz they have emergencies? Never thought of that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
      • So true bro. motorcyclists pay roadtax too

https://paultan.org/2016/02/22/govt-to-allow-legalised-motorcycle-street-racing-in-kl/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • PJ Should Do It Too on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Yea emergency.. tell me the odds of a whole row of motorbikes parked on a pavement all have cirit-birit at the same time? Emergency la sangat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:35 pm

only someone who cannot think will say it is an emergency. I have seen wheelchair old 90 yr old man stuck because mat moto park on the pedestrian walk way infront of shops

This uneducated behaviour must stop

• New MY is just finding new ways to masuk pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 72
    • 12yrsold on Aug 06, 2018 at 1:36 pm

It has nothing to do with New/Old Malaysia. Its the mentality like YOU that makes the difference.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • the driver on Aug 06, 2018 at 1:19 pm

It’s been said before in foreign journals defending motorcycles, ‘motorcycles are not part of any problem but are the solution to the future of mobility’. What does that mean to the car driving brethren? It means that very shortly there won’t be enough roads to accomodate the cars and the solution is/are motorcycles. You only have to look at other cities like Jakarta or Bangkok.
    Mind you, public transport has its merits but getting to the station or other random acts of transport will require some form of personal transport – motorcycles.
    My suggestion to MPSJ is to think long and hard and consider what the future will be. They can start with more dedicated motorcycle parking bays and followed by pedestrian malls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • seancorr (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:19 pm

Motorcycle parking bays? Those bloody fools are parking at the car parking lots of the shops they want to go when there are empty bike lots like 10m away from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • the driver on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Enforcement – simple answer. Bloody fool car drivers can’t even park in the proper lots either

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • One motorvehicle D and B on Aug 07, 2018 at 7:57 am

Most car drivers are not motorcyclist but some motorcyclist are car drivers as well. For the latter group, we understand both sides of the problem. Why not MPSJ meet up with this group and find ways to improve the situation.

• Marcus Pua on Aug 06, 2018 at 1:45 pm

good job for MPSJ as it is way better than BDKL.
    take alook in Bandar Baru Sentul, u will see motor and car illegal parking + double park. 4 lands road become one land. I think the MP for Sentul area is sleeping…

• awg1031 on Aug 06, 2018 at 1:59 pm

too few parking spaces for them even though bikes are the majority ..how is that fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Doesn’t care u r new or old MJ, all are the same…you approve all the project which never ever build enough parking bay on it..so should we rakyat or Gov. go and summon you. Or you are created this, so that you guys can earn extra o as a bonus on it.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Good start. Now if only PDRM & JPJ take legal action against those rempit bikers who blatantly break the traffic laws. Something drastic has to be done, not only to enforce the law but to also reduce the accidents that occur due to these rempits flouting the law.

• BOYRACER on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:15 pm

In my city,there seems to lack of motorcycle parking bays.Even if it have,it would to far from anywhere which risk of being stolen.There are even commercial area without parking bays for motorcycle.So where do motorcyclists have to park.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Inti - mate on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:51 pm

SS15 + TAIPAN.
    MbSJ needs 24/7 monitoring.
    Nobody gives a hoot about parking.
    Double parking is a norm.
    Mana enforcement.?
    Don’t only go for the small fishes.
    One leg kick all!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Aug 06, 2018 at 6:11 pm

no money that’s why people ride motorbike. now want to fine them is too much. somemore so hard to get parking for bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • vVivi Zurianti on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:02 pm

hot-hot chicken sheeeet. As usual, by the local authority….

I dare MPSJ doing this 365 days a year….

• Bernard on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:21 pm

This must be done all across the country! After the first summons, the second time pls confiscate and destroy the motorcycle! The motorcyclist would also be prohibited from purchasing a motorcycle for a year.

• Motorcyclist on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:56 pm

What a narrow minded comment this is. One day all motorcyclist change to car and you will find you have to move your ass from the bed at 3am.

• Bernard on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:16 pm

It’s better than the type of motorcyclists we have in this country. Wake up and smell the coffee !

• The question that need to be asked, before we jumped into ANY CONCLUSION is WHY?

Once we know the “WHY”, then you can propose “once and for all” solution.

Please relay this humble request to Y Bhg Noraini Roslan.

• There are 2 main takeaways from this:
    1. Many building construction projects have either too little motorcycle parking lots (compared to other ‘sheltered’ vehicles) or they are placed inconveniently (like some last minute add on) further away, often along back alleys, in a far corner of the compound where one will have brave the weather getting there.

2. Inconsiderate motorcyclist blaming the lack of parking lots and simply putting them anywhere. This would be the same as car owners double or triple parking without a contact left behind. To those doing this, it doesn’t matter if its a car or a bike, you’re just plain selfish and deserve to have the vehicle summoned, locked or towed.

• Matchy on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:52 am

TBH, I find it hard to find motorcycle parking spaces. Even if it is available, it will be parked by cars!

• Spinning the wheel! on Aug 07, 2018 at 9:37 am

That’s why it’s called Malaysia boleh! Rm30 fine has any effect on these seasoned law breakers? You want to deter this kind of offenders, min slap them with rm 300 fine la !

• rider on Aug 07, 2018 at 4:19 pm

is it save to park in the correct place? if any bike part or bike goes missing is mspj willing to compensate?

• TreeHugger on Aug 08, 2018 at 12:27 am

The root cause is government poor or lack of city planning. All development projects by developer simply approve only without proper impact study to the traffic, accessibility, and environment. Developer also all greedy and don’t care for anything else other than maximum profit. The problem is in the attitude and civic awareness of those in power, with money, authority, and lawmakers. No matter how highly educated they and their children are, their selfish small capitalism minds will make Malaysia always stay in this firefighting petty problems and not develop into a proper developed nation that enforce policies which “avoid” problems before they happen.

• No no on Aug 11, 2018 at 11:59 am

Itu dia !! what if the pedestrians are in emergency? These bikes are blocking the ambulance staff or fireman to do their job. Thinking about 2 ways.

• Abandon Abbot on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:21 am

i use public transport but i do have a mopad

i use my mopad to go to SS 15 to do errands

but when i want to park at designated motorbike parking at SS 15 usually there will be inconsiderate car owners to parked his/her car at the designated motorbike parking

and i do not see those cars getting clamp

double standard