MSF celebrates Merdeka with night endurance race

It’s fast coming up to the 61st year of Malaysia’s independence, and the Malaysian Speed Festival (MSF) is gearing up to the occasion with 14 non-stop hours of fierce car and motorcycle racing, drifting action and a celebration of automotive culture at large with the series’ Merdeka round on August 31 itself.

The event features this year’s only Enduro Cup for the SuperTurismo race series, held at night under the bright new 150-lumen lights of the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) for the first time since the series, previously called Saturday Night Fever (SNF), received its MSF branding.

The races are held in a 40-minute endurance format, with the same wide variety of race car categories covering everything from tiny kei cars like the Perodua Kancil to popular Honda and Toyota models. The longer races are bound to push drivers, technicians and engineers to their limits.

Also returning is the MSF Superbikes series, which has been well received with the grid for Round 2 in April being full within an hour of registration opening – such is the eagerness of bike racers to compete. As usual, there are Super 400 and Super 1000 categories corresponding to the engine capacities, and each is split further into three groups depending on the respective riders’ pace. There will now be a dedicated female category as well, paving the way for an increasing number of women to participate in the series.

Fans of sideways action will be delighted to find that the MSF Drift Gonzo is back, providing a time- and points-based challenge for drivers looking to slither their way around a laid-out course in the most outlandish way possible. In total, over 630 drivers and riders across various disciplines took part in Round 2, so expect the same level of packed, close-fought competition.

There are other activities in store for those catching the action, as automotive lifestyle group NoEqual will be hosting its Tea and Tires V3.0 event that will show off the coolest customised vehicles. In addition, visitors will be able to enjoy refreshments from various food trucks at the North and South Paddock and at the Grandstand area.

Once again, the MSF Merdeka round will be happening on August 31, with full-day passes offered at RM20 per person before 10am and RM35 after. The tickets come with free grandstand seating and access to all racing events happening that day.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• antloke on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:24 pm

last i checked, malaysia was formed on 1963, so 2018-1963=55, no? or you meant to say malaya’s independence?

• USA last state Hawaii was merged into USA in 1959. So does it means USA independence was 59 years ago? Or was it 242 years ago when the 13 ori states got independence? Hmm…

• antloke on Aug 18, 2018 at 11:43 pm

well, all those territories which formed the USA are equally states while sarawak and sabah are theoretically still 2 countries together with malaya formed malaysia, they are not 12th and 13th state as what your textbook taught you, so no, your comparison with USA is not appropriate.

• The US States joined the Union as equal partnerships. Unlike our federation, their states has a lot more autonomy. So while they r equals amongst each other, they not beholden to central gov except for federal decisions. And yet they dun proclaim independence from when they joined the Union but follow the ori independence day. If they din bother about this, then why shud we?

• antloke on Aug 19, 2018 at 9:53 pm

we should call a spade a spade. don’t forget that sarawak and sabah joined malaya as independence ‘countries’ , unlike those US states. since both these countries already have their own independence days, how many independence day should there be? just because USA implemented such tradition doesn’t mean we must follow suit as well. they don’t have NEP and everything is merit-based, why don’t malaysia emulate these good practice instead?

• Yes, why not we follow them? Why must we be petty about such things when on a larger picture, even powerful countries like USA dun gip a fak about it? U think NEP is bad, try being a Coloured Murican dealing with polis there.

FYI, do read more. Their states had a high level of autonomy b4 join the Union and maintains that level of autonomous unlike East MY. They joined as equals and they dun mind celebrating independence as a whole country.

• antloke on Aug 20, 2018 at 10:25 pm

be petty? no, it’s important because sarawak and sabah joined as sovereign states not colonies, not another states while their natural resources are being sucked dry by malaya and remained as poorest “states”. you really should read more than just your history text books.