Efkon E-Tag – new SmartTag-compatible infra-red device with improved performance and reliability

With Touch n’ Go’ having discontinued sales of the long-running SmartTAG, Austrian electronic toll collection technology provider Efkon has now released its own-branded infra-red (IR) device, the E-Tag. This device will be marketed under various brands, one of which is MaxTag by Sigma Technology which is already on sale online.

Both the MaxTag and E-Tag feature new microprocessors and display for improved performance and reliability, said Efkon Asia director Helmuth Blasch. “Most importantly, there is no possibility of cloning or risk of losing control of your finances through incorrect deductions,” Blasch said.

The E-Tag, and by relation, the MaxTag, can last 15 years or more, so long as the device is kept within a vehicle and not subject to external environment conditions and vandalism, he said, adding that both devices are portable and easily transferred for use between vehicles without the need for specialised installation.

Consumer response to the MaxTag has been good, says Efkon, with more than 1,500 units sold upon becoming available for purchase online. The E-Tag will be available for purchase through offline channels such as select Shell stations as well as car accessories shops.

Beyond the portable E-Tag and MaxTag infra-red devices, Efkon plans to offer aftermarket installation of built-in solutions, such as those offered in some locally assembled cars such as the Perodua Myvi and new Toyota Rush. Pricing for the built-in systems is not available just yet, as Efkon is still in discussions with unspecified OEMs.

Blasch also shared case studies in Germany and the Netherlands on the implmentation of Efkon’s infra-red dedicated short-range communication (DSRC) system in those countries. The Efkon-installed Nationwide Truck Tolling System in a multi-lane, free-flow (MLFF) configuration has proven to be highly effective, said Blasch, and caters to more than two million trucks travelling at speeds of up to 100 km/h.

An intial plan in the Netherlands’ Westerschelde Tunnel to replace the infra-red system with RFID was scrapped as it proved difficult to accurately direct microwaves at specific stickers, particularly with the presence of large, reflective metal surfaces such as from nearby tankers and containers, Blasch added.

The MaxTag is currently sold on e-commerce platform Lazada.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Never learn on Oct 23, 2018 at 6:12 pm

Still running on batteries ? Seriously ? A landfill of 9v baterries

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 23, 2018 at 6:13 pm

So many different systems lah. Rakyat all confused. Why can’t you be like Singapore, perfected all this 20 years ago and still using the same system.

No wonder Singapore is way ahead of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 12
    • karam singh on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:55 am

if malaysia is as small as singapore and poorly developed, we can agree and understand. but it is not. now imagine singapore is the size of sumatera, they will face similar difficulties to control development etc. perhaps, they dont bother because they have land so road network and traffic jams not an issue.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 23, 2018 at 6:24 pm

I will choose this over the RFID sticker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Safuan on Oct 23, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Here all taiko wanna make money, later on each lanes different system lol

• Still same design with SMART TAG? I doubt this unit can withstand the harshness weather of our country and would fail after moment use. At least, upgrade the design after countless of people complaint.

• Ben Yap on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Waste money to buy a soon obsolete item.

• Sweet tooth on Oct 23, 2018 at 9:00 pm

Education follow Finland, Toll follow SG, Culture follow Japan, Language follow U.K., Creativity follow US…..bolehlanders can be first class.

Just don’t follow anything Bolehland.

See life is so easy if people are willing to accept and change:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Deadend tech now with advent of RFID.

• keeekeee on Oct 23, 2018 at 9:27 pm

what’s the diff? exactly same as smart tag but a new name.

• Call me by your name on Oct 23, 2018 at 10:55 pm

Err because plus already stop selling their own smart tag and some still wanna use the smart tag lane

• TreeHugger on Oct 23, 2018 at 10:35 pm

This product, which looks and feels exactly like the last Smartag, now monopolizes the entire market. Sellers in Lazada are really taking advantage by hiking the price up selling between RM140 up until RM280 but people got no choice because government allowed the sale of original Smartag to be stopped even though RFID is still not available nationwide. In the end, rakyat always the one who suffers. Sigh..

• Ravi Kumar on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:02 am

I have been using the RFID one as part of pilot trials and I can say I love the easy of reloading and also the fact that I have not had any incident of bar not opening. Just make sure when you have tinted windscreen you have a location free of tint for this to work effectively.

• Ravi Kumar on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:06 am

Old Smart Tag was RM 120. This fellow wants to sell at RM 149??????? Really???

• Ravi Kumar on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:12 am

Read the comments on Lazada about MaxTag. My god not feeling it

• jack ong on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:24 pm

I do agree too much type of devices won’t reduce the traffic still not resolving the jam issue. RFID will continuous to improve and get more use like me and like others.

• J0han on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:29 pm

RFID currently in use by tng can’t be detected when wet. Useless, especially in our weather. You’ll have to fallback to tng or smarttag.

• chris on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:25 pm

i rather this than that inconvenience RFID tag because;
    – detection range/speed is similiar
    – you cant change that tag into another vehicle
    – you have to put out extra cash for that tag
    – have problems when in wet conditions.

but knowing Malaysia this is all a big plot to try to out the use of smart tag for RFID in the very near future probably because some MP have a share in RFID company.

• mauis on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:26 pm

why can’t we just use whatever the system (or similar) used by Singapore? No need to have big land to build toll booth hence no need for additional staffs except for maintenance, no need to slow down, etc, etc.. why? why? why?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 5:09 pm

i want smart tag, but the older model…this one very problematic