SPIED: W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class facelift in Malaysia – C200 Avantgarde, C300 AMG Line and C43

The dust has barely started to settle following the launch of the new W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class, but Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) looks set to continue the non-stop action with the introduction of another model in fairly quick succession.

The car in question is the facelifted W205 C-Class – it had already been revealed back in July that the refreshed compact executive model was due in Malaysia sometime in the fourth quarter, and so its introduction here looks to be on target, given the first local sighting of the vehicle.

Reader Daniel Chew sent along photos he captured of the facelift, which was spotted on transporters and uncovered. The neat thing is that there’s more than one variant on show – in fact, three were sighted, giving us an indication of the debut line-up for the car here.

The range will start with the C 200, which now features the automaker’s new M264 mill. The 1.5 litre twin-scroll turbo unit offers 181 hp (184 PS) at 5,800 to 6,100 rpm and 280 Nm of torque at 3,000 to 4,000 rpm, and features a 48-volt electrical system incorporating a belt-driven starter/alternator, which is able to support the engine with 13 hp (10 kW) and 160 Nm of boost when needed. The C 200 will go on sale here as an Avantgarde variant.

The second of the trio in the photos is the C 300, which will arrive here in AMG Line trim, as it was in pre-facelift form. The variant is powered by the M264 2.0 litre direct injection turbocharged mill, and the new mill brings about a slight increase in power output to 255 hp (258 PS), the older M274 delivering 241 hp (245 PS) at 5,500 rpm in the previous iteration.

Max torque, meanwhile, remains unchanged at 370 Nm, but is now available from 1,800 rpm compared to 1,300 rpm previously, with peak remaining at 4,000 rpm. Both the C 200 and C 300 variants will come equipped with a 9G-Tronic nine-speed transmission, which will be new to the C 300 in its facelifted form, the pre-facelift never featuring it.

The third car spotted is the Mercedes-AMG C 43 sedan, which has also been refreshed alongside the regulation C-Class. The mid-cycle rework introduces a bump in power output from the 3.0 litre biturbo V6 – the unit now offers 385 hp, a hike of 23 horses over the 362 hp on the pre-facelift.

New items making its way on to the facelift include a new steering wheel, a 12.3-inch digital instrument display with a choice of three display styles as well as fresh interior trim options. The local car is also set to get a larger central screen, a 10.25-inch unit, as revealed by the spied interior photo.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Joneed on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:46 pm

Eyeing the C 350e FL

• That tablet now looks outdated and ugly the bigger it gets the ugllier

• The C200 basically has the whole market to itself since BMW decided to drop the 320i from their lineup.

• superior Audi A4 2.0 TFSI, the class leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • digidigi on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:17 am

The pricing of 330e is as close as c200

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:30 am

The F30 is on its way out and less people will be buying it after what they saw they could get in the new G20. The 320i should make a comeback by then along with the 330i and 318i with later introduction to the 330e and maybe the M340i which should be the star of the show.

• Bmw User on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:28 pm

If autobavaria dont improve its service, it will eventually make its customers change to other brands. No manner how good G20 is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • As Mercedes Malaysia is PROUD to be number 1 luxury car brand in Malaysia, they will up the price or strip off more features to exploit more profits. And still, there will be people blindly purchasing this brand. When u are rich, even when u are shortchanged, u don’t complain because money sense more than common sense and u are so full of self conceitedness u think u are at another level!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Brand prestige > all

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:27 am

They will drive themselves to the wall sooner or later. Just wait for their price announcement for this FL lineup. Achieving record sales does not entitle you to hike prices when the kit count doesnt follow suit. Plus I don’t like C line up after what I saw we could get if we are patient and wait for MBUX in the next gen C.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:27 am

Best selling Mercedes in Malaysia but still overpriced. I am confused, is the 1.5 Hybrid system? If so, then the price must be cheaper in Malaysia because it can benefit from our cheaper Hybrid tax incentive.

Will Mercedes MBM drop prices? Or they will cleverly not bring this car in?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:16 am

By right it should get tax exemptions. But whether it will be passed down to the customers? We will find out next week. But looking at the price of the new A200 and A250, I kinda think price might go up. Might slot in in between both A Class models.

• Andy Lee on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:51 pm

I was told the price will go up. C200 will cost RM259k++.

• I’m waiting this model, hooray!!!

• JOACHIM on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:05 am

That plastic bit between the tailamps and bootlid has always annoyed me.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:23 am

expect a very bad trim…why suddenly no more hybrid models

• This design is already boring to me, sorry but next.

• _tahbi on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:41 am

hv the opportunity to view this model last week when it came down from the trailer in nz wheels jb… well the xterior is more striking thn b4 … its a c200 … but if comparing the current a200 interior so its dmn outdated … but the headlight tho … tempting

• my 2012 e class feels cheap, many issues like timing chain,thermostat, cooling hoses and many worn bushes and mounts only after 70k km. conclusion is the components seems very cheaply made, never again i will buy a premium car with low quality parts. Why pay too much money to overpaid germans

• applegreen on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:00 pm

nothing special. Next year people will look ahead of new G20 and volvo s60

• Silver Arrows on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Hope they will bring in Diesel spec

• meladam on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:03 pm

bila lah nak mampu pakai..

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Noticed that there is no more slot for a CD in the dash. The days of the optical disc is numbered. Which is sad, cos CD sound quality is better than lossy format like Spotify. Gotta move with the times I guess.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Favorite car of insurance agents 126