Peugeot 308 GTi on display at 1Utama – RM199,888

The facelifted Peugeot 308, which was officially introduced today, is being displayed at 1Utama Shopping Centre until October 28, and on show alongside it is the hot variant of the hatch, the 308 GTi, also in facelifted form. The car isn’t new, having been previewed back in July, but it’s pricing looks like it’s effectively confirmed, a stand at the display indicating that it is expected to be priced at RM199,888 on-the-road without insurance, identical to the initial indication offered in July.

It’s powered by a Prince 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine offering 270 hp at 6,000 rpm and 330 Nm of torque at 1,900 rpm. Paired with a six-speed manual transmission, with a Torsen limited-slip differential in tow, the 308 GTi will do the 0-100 km/h run in six seconds flat and manage an electronically limited 250 km/h top speed.

Exterior-wise, a more aggressive-looking front bumper, incorporating a gloss black chequered flag grille and a red accent strip (or black on models with Ultimate Red paint), side skirts and a large rear diffuser with twin exhaust exits help set the car apart from the regulation 308. It sits on 19-inch lightweight Carbone alloy wheels wrapped with 235/35 Michelin Super Sport tyres.

Inside, dedicated kit includes Peugeot Sport bucket seats with Alcantara upholstery and red stitching, along with a GTi-badged steering wheel (with red centre marking), chequered instrument gauges and aluminium door sills, pedals, foot rest and gear knob.

The local variant comes equipped with a Driver Sport Pack, full LED front and rear lighting, keyless entry, push-button start, a panoramic glass roof, a massage function for the front seats, dual-zone auto climate control, a 9.7-inch interactive infotainment touchscreen, an Arkamys 3D sound system with six loudspeakers and a reverse camera.

Mechanical upgrades over the standard car include uprated Peugeot Sport brakes with 380 mm front discs and four-piston calipers and a suspension tuned specifically for the car, with an 11 mm lower ride height as well as unique spring rates and damper calibration at the front. Safety kit for the five-star Euro NCAP-rated offering include ESP, DSC and EBD, among other things.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Baqtiar on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:20 pm

(Like) Peugeot 308 GTi.
    (Dislike) Kia Optima GT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
    • You know car or don’t know car on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Retarded comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Stanley Gan on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:59 pm

Inside SC, abang abang cannot even speak proper English. I got to speak in BM for them to understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • 1Engine suits All on Oct 25, 2018 at 7:13 pm

I see Peugeot already know is the same 1.6T Prince engine used since 2008/09

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:01 am

Good car but bad customer service and after sales. Run by a bunch of lazy people who are utter lazy and always expecting bantuan all the time.

Pity such a good brand but brand collapsed in Malaysia because those running the show are so lazy and have this lepak attitude. Always asking for bantuan in life and don’t want to work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Peugeot Naza is the same type of people in Putrajaya. Not efficient.

I rather pay money and get a car from a better company

• Teh satu on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:27 pm

This car got RV ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
    • This not toyota.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:19 am

Any Peugeot, there is a secret to buying. If you really love Peugeot so much and sayang it so much, then, be clever at how you buy this car.

If the car is RM200k now, wait one year and buy it in mudah. It will be RM90k. More than half the price.

You will still be safe cause still got 4 years warranty left.

Be wise when you buy a Peugeot. It is a good car to own but be clever at how you buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Nobrainer on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:16 pm

No brainer pricing. You can get a Passat highline and still get $10k back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • This competes with Golf GTI not Passat lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • diablo on Oct 25, 2018 at 10:29 am

Naza quite success 206 Bestari.
        good rebadge Naza 308 GTi at rm99k

• Lol yeah I’d like to see you get 10k back after selling a Passat. In fact I’d be impressed if you even get 40% of your money back after selling a 1 day old Passat.

• gotbrain on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:15 pm

aiyyooooo……kamon bro…get some brain into your brain…

• digidigi on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:26 pm

Lol, u better just get a330e, same performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • BeemerFreak on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:59 pm

What the hell is an A330E? Airbus?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
    • gidigidi on Oct 25, 2018 at 11:52 am

that comment was funny so i had to comment.

this fella really has no capacity to know the difference between a plane and a car, so there you go.

• cannot afford civic type R? then here is the 308 GTI at 120k cheaper, but wont b as fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Can it beat the Vios or Myvi, the ultimatr ah beng car??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • GTi-R on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:35 am

You forgot axia and alza bro

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:44 am

lala ah beng car can speed at road bump without brake, where do the driver care about the suspension or absorber thing. Even if they bang front and back and scratches all over the car the owner also don’t care. The most the lala ah beng car care about is to win the sport car.

For sport car where do they want to run with these lala beng car, their sport car is more expensive at least double or triple the price of ah beng new car. So in your case, I vote for lala ah beng car win. Lolz

• Dave Chapman on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:49 pm

GTi Turbo? Means it will overheat and turn to fire faster than standard model, right? If not then I want my money back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • TreeHugger on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:28 pm

It’s a shame such instrument cluster position making it hard to see, blocked by steering wheel. For short malaysians at least…

• Golfer on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:47 pm

I’ll laugh at whoever that buys this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:40 pm

When they cannot afford the real GTi they go buy this. There will still be a GTi badge stuck on the car.

• Ben yap on Oct 25, 2018 at 2:03 am

Still slower than golf gti

• It’s okay to pay 300k to buy Ford Focus RS.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:37 am

Obviously this 308 GTI and aiming to compete with Golf GTI. 6 sec flat 0-100km/h is better than Golf 6.4 sec but it is 270hp whereby Golf is 230hp. Golf R with 290hp is set a remarkable 5.1 sec, if de-tune to 270hp it will be somewhere 5.6-5.8 sec which is still better than 308 GTI. Of course Golf R is much expensive than 308 GTI which is not competitive in term of price for the Golf R.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2018 at 9:27 am

looks better feels better and drives better than the stupid overprice a250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Jualan Murah! on Oct 25, 2018 at 9:51 am

Murah sial! Boleh beli 3-4

• jeremy_clarkson on Oct 25, 2018 at 11:40 am

Can it survive the malaysian road with 35 tyre profile? I dont to spend money to buy absorber every year.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Nice! About time for Renault and hyundai to bring in megane rs and i30n respectively.

• With this thread, I saw alot funny comments ahhaha.. look like this car make ppl disappointed/.\

• Can anybody realize there weren’t any turbo enginee car with Manual transmission on sale here that affordable i mean around 80k to 120k?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 25, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Yes. Pretty sad isn’t. Even preve turbo and suprima don’t come with manual transmission.

• Low Boon Wah on Oct 26, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Peugeot 208 GTi is putting a smile on my face everytime I take it out. Manual with lots of grunt. 308 Gti is too expensive in comparison.

• intermilan on Mar 17, 2019 at 1:32 pm

I heard Nasim finally received MITI approval i.e. approved price to sell this car.