DBKL to help coordinate vehicle clamping from Nov 1

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) says it will continue to carry out wheel-clamping on illegally-parked vehicles in the city, but it will do so in coordination with private operators starting from November 1, Bernama reports. According to federal territories minister Khalid Abd Samad, this was to avoid any conflicts between the authorities and the public, who think such actions were just a way for the city council to make money.

“The clamping of wheels is not a commercial activity but is for the convenience of city folks. Some people see it as a commercial action, even (for us) to attain the key performance indicator (KPI), causing the conflicts. So we will have to coordinate with the operators in the standard operating procedure (SOP), so that enforcement is carried out in a responsible and transparent manner,” he said.

His comments were in response to reports indicating that mayor Datuk Nor Hisham Ahmad Dahlan had issued a directive to halt wheel-clamping from November in Kuala Lumpur. Khalid said that DBKL had an agreement with the appointed operators, but its priority was the convenience of the public.

The parking contract had been given to the Yayasan Wilayah Persekutuan (YWP), which later privatised the enforcement action to Vista Summerose. Back in May, several KL MPs had asked for the contract with YWP to be reviewed, saying it was based on the local authority not calling for an open tender. However, a cancellation would require DBKL to review the contract in terms of compensation, which is said to be almost RM100 million.

In related mattters, the city council says it is in the midst of upgrading its online system of paying compound fines after glitches in the system surfaced recently, when DBKL offered discounts for its compounds.

“Many people wanted to pay but the queue was really long and the system was not ready for old compounds as it did not have the database. So we will set up the system and hope that in future, the public will pay online,” Nor Hisham said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Now suddenly want to continue clamping back again. Uturn policy by this flip flop government. No surprise when their head is a Uturn expert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 30, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Actually want to clamping or not is not the problem. The bigger problem is the fact that DBKL officers are always asking for duit kopi to let you off the hook. So no point clamping also when half the time, the officers ask for money to open the clamp without giving you a receipt for the money you paid to open the clamp

The big problem is DBKL itself. I hope the mayor can clean the officers in DBKL first. This is more important. Everyday also kacau stall owners for money besides parking offenders. This must stop. New Government means we must eradicate all this dedak problem.

I reiterate. There is no point clamping when the officer pockets the money to open the clamp. Money does not go to the kerajaan or LHDN like this. It goes into the officers pocket.

Rakyat rugi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • Freddy on Oct 30, 2018 at 7:36 pm

The Government that you work for is spineless and totally hopeless.

• Do your part on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:49 pm

Please tune down copy pasting your negativity all over paultan.org it’s become quite annoying. No point spamming here and be a keyboard warrior. Instead, if you see any wrongdoing or become a victim of any crime, please be a responsible citizen to report it. When GE comes, go out there and cast your vote. That’s how you can do your part to make our country better.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 30, 2018 at 10:13 am

In some scenarios, clamping is not the solution – still inconvenience the public. Learn from MBSA and tow the offending car away…

• Agree, but towing would require a lot more manpower and vehicles. Clamping also serves as a visual deterrant to warn other motorists not to do the same. If done quickly and often enough, motirists will learn to obey traffic regulations.

• Lolz! So which story is true now? So konpius.

If road offenders make noise again, will the mayor Uturn lagi and stop clamping again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Whether or not clamping is a vehicle for increased revenue to achieve Kpi’s is irrelevant. If you’re illegally parked then you should be summoned or clamped. Given that the majority do not settle their summons, clamping is certainly the most effective deterrant to illegal parking. They should also clamp stationary vehicles with drivers stopped illegally unless they move on. Major roads experience unnecessary traffic jams because the number of lanes is reduced due to stationary vehicles.

• tricycle on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:09 am

Considering malaysian. It is better to clamp.

In some states in the US they tow illegally parked vehicle, employing a private company to do so. Cost of not retrieving the vehicle will cost the owner usd60 per day.

But in malaysia since there were reported cases of stealing cars using tow truck, it is better to clamp the car.

But at the same time the municipality should provide safe parking buildings for the car owners, so as to avoid illegally parked vehicle.

• Izzzzzzz on Oct 30, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Clamp and clamp, but those who left their cars abandoned in the parking spot? DBKL is actually quite stupid / bodoh tak bertempat in my honest reaction. It’s difficult to get a parking around my area due to lots of abandoned cars and motorcycles and illegally marked (reserve) parking by these people here. And everyday, these people who came to clamp and summon simply don’t give pity to those who have circled the area more than once. Like seriously Khalid, you’re not doing your job well. You’re simply the same DBKL like they used to be. Please take action against these issues first. That’s how DBKL can make more money.

• So is this gov out to make money or enforce the law? Which comes first? Seems like its the former and not the latter.

• Gabriel on Oct 30, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Flip flopping again…sigh

• albag on Oct 30, 2018 at 1:27 pm

expect another news reporting wheel clamp to be officially halted

• friendlyneighbourhood on Oct 30, 2018 at 2:11 pm

good, please continue to lock…
    i wish this will continue as i see many ppl love to park illegally