No more clamping in Kuala Lumpur from Nov: mayor

Clamping operations in Kuala Lumpur will be suspended indefinitely from November, following a directive issued by mayor Datuk Nor Hisham Ahmad Dahlan. According to a report by The Star, the decision was made following a meeting involving KL City Hall (DBKL) executive director of planning Datuk Mahadi Che Ngah, senior officers from the legal and finance departments as well as the parking operator.

In May, a similar order was issued following a request from several Kuala Lumpur MPs recently to review the parking contract awarded to Yayasan Wilayah Persekutuan (YWP). However, the suspension was lifted in areas which weren’t considered “hotspots” in the city. The welfare arm of the previous Federal Territories Ministry outsourced its parking contract to Vista Summerose at the end of 2016.

A DBKL source revealed the mayor made the decision after a dispute between a motorist, whose car was clamped, and DBKL officers in Taman Tun Dr Ismail went viral recently. In the incident, the man was seen berating the officer continuously, and the mayor, who witnessed the incident, felt embarrassed by it. “The mayor said he felt he was the one being scolded by the resident, and the incident made DBKL look bad, so he decided to suspend clamping,” the source said.

Vista Summerose managing director Datuk Nik Haidi Nik Mohamad confirmed the matter, saying, “unfortunately, it is true and we are disappointed because we have a contract that clearly spells out that DBKL authorised us to clamp illegally parked vehicles. It is going to cost DBKL a lot (in compensation). I estimate it to be not less than RM80mil as we were given the authorisation to manage parking and clamping. We have invested a lot of money on the logistics alone.”

Nik Haidi also expects the number of traffic offences (particularly those involving parking) to increase in November once clamping is suspended, adding that the situation would be chaotic. “Clamping was the most effective enforcement method in easing congestion in Kuala Lumpur and we have proven it countless times in the past. Honestly, clamping is the best enforcement method, better than issuing compound notices for traffic offences,’’ he noted.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Actually clamping is not the problem. The bigger problem is the fact that DBKL officers are always asking for duit kopi to let you off the hook. So no point clamping also when half the time, the officers ask for money to open the clamp without giving you a receipt for the money you paid to open the clamp

The big problem is DBKL itself. I hope the mayor can clean the officers in DBKL first. This is more important. Everyday also kacau stall owners for money besides parking offenders. This must stop. New Government means we must eradicate all this dedak problem.

I reiterate. There is no point clamping when the officer pockets the money to open the clamp. Money does not go to the kerajaan or LHDN like this. It goes into the officers pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 31
    • pasarsalak on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Goodheart DBKL, driver jz park awhile go prayers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Chris Chan on Oct 27, 2018 at 11:09 am

Previous Government always encouraged corruption. So this is normal. It will take some years before remnants like this disappear completely

• Darren on Oct 28, 2018 at 12:06 am

Previous Government didn’t elect this useless mayor. Please bring back the previous mayor and previous Government.

• P. Alyanna on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Previous Government encourages corruption. Current Government actively participates in it. That’s even worse!

• Continue to clamp on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Flip flop… Always doing the popular thing never the right thing ..

• Sallehuddin on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Typical Putrajaya mentality. Follow the 1.6 million Government servants attitude in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • English Teacher on Oct 26, 2018 at 6:38 pm

The problem isn’t DBKL, but the mayor. However the mayor problem isn’t his fault but the Government of the day that ordered him to stop clamping. Cowboy Government. Nothing less expected from this Government and their head that has a liking to horses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • New Malaysia menu on Oct 27, 2018 at 8:22 am

The problem stems from the top, which is PH Government. Remove them and all these fear to enforce the laws will be solved.

• So you are saying since outlaws are running the country, so nobody should follow the laws anymore? Understood.

• Leonardo on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:34 pm

No need to clamp, just tow away!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • prolever on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:13 pm

Yep. Tow are more efficient then clamp.
      Plus, they HAVE TO PAY before their car can be release.

• JOHN MINUM TEH 16 X on Oct 26, 2018 at 7:18 pm

Why not authorise netizens release all the angin of the 4 tyres….Since the dude has a spare tyre,he has to fix the other 3 tyres….he has to get help….to frustrate the idiot.Then give him a hefty summon of Rm500…this way DBKL has income from the dude…or better still tow away with a hefty fine of rm1000.

• M.Hamzah on Oct 28, 2018 at 9:21 pm

Like one said, this is a Cowboy Government. Because only in cowboy country where people ‘settle’ things with each other, often using viciously escalating methods. That’s the reason why sheriffs of old were upgraded to police officers. We seem to be going backwards as a society even since Pakatan took over.

• suomynona on Oct 26, 2018 at 11:29 pm

I second this. More fun, just like the TV show ‘Parking Wars’

• Paul Ng on Oct 27, 2018 at 12:37 pm

Clamp makes more monay and efficiency than tow, per day average profit RM900k. I got 3 clamp in 2 months RM300. Not in kl centre but taman areas. No blocking. Park far but not in a designated boxes. Places that can park but they not willing to draw the boxes. Some areas with limited parking spaces some of you will know not because of convenience. Sometimes just a quick meal economic rice like 15 minutes turn up to be RM107. Now I tell myself rather go to dine inside the mall. Top up RM100 can park many times in a decent place instead of feeding the DBKL. RM900k per day for a simple job.

• awang1031 on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:36 pm

what’s this? are we going backward?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • English Teacher on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:38 pm

We are spiraling into a cowboy country. No laws adhered, pressure groups influencing government policies, backroom dealings, friendly criminals being freed while innocents arrested on a whim, easily fooled citizens, this is Westworld made real and onto a whole nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
      • Chuck on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:05 pm

The rogue sheriff & family gotten checkmate

• Chavez on Oct 28, 2018 at 12:14 am

The sheriff is in jail while the outlaws and bandits are running the town. Lawless government.

• Malay Teacher on Oct 26, 2018 at 11:42 pm

Then move back to civilised country like Indo. Simple. I’m sure you will find similar people of your kind that you will fit better in their society. Go on, why still stay in a cowboy country and complaint?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • M.Hamzah on Oct 28, 2018 at 9:24 pm

No doubt Indonesia now has surpassed us in terms of civility. They certainly don’t ask you to go back to whereever. Malaysian civility has went to the dogs.

• Jay Law on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Clamp also park, suspends clamping then..?

• teh satu on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:45 pm

What a stupid idiotic move not to clamp? In fact clamping should be increased 100 fold!

Clamp, clamp, clamp!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:47 pm

This is the dumbest decision ever. So now nobody will be clamped even when they are at fault.
    This is much like cutting trees down because their dead leaves litter the streets.
    Super silly mayor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
  • FireAce on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Decision was made after some offender scolded the enforcement officer for doing their job and you felt “embarrassed”?

Everyone, please start scolding this stupid Mayor “read Mayonnaise” in social media so he will fell “embarrassed” and decided to quit his job. We will then hopefully get a someone with a thicker face and do their job properly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • Truckers on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:20 pm

Teksis scold the Government, so the clamp on Grab.
      Road offenders scold on Government, so they refuse to clamp.
      Come, lets scold this incompetent Government for being easily bullied & being incompetent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • What happened to Malaysia? Do this tell us that illegal parking is correct? Does this Mayor know how serious the congestion have been caused by those selfish illegal parkers, place with free car parks available with few minutes walk, yet they illegally park causing heavy jam at an obviously narrow path near pasar pagi. Hey Mayor, we are moving backward man! When you feel embarassed, you debolish the law? What if you get compliment then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • An idiot too. on Oct 27, 2018 at 4:10 am

Why don’t you tell the good people here on how clamping an illegally parked vehicle which caused congestion gonna alleviate the problem?

What we need is to tow the vehicle, not to LOCK IT DOWN SO IT WILL CONTINUE TO BLOCK THE ROAD!

Bodoh tu simpan sikit untuk anak cucu.

• albag on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:35 pm

hurray.. now we can park anywhere we like.. screw the council & clamps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • LatukBandar on Oct 26, 2018 at 5:56 pm

can park anywhere u like.. saman & masok Ops Warta

• Vader on Oct 26, 2018 at 6:34 pm

The G even waives saman now https://paultan.org/2018/08/17/all-existing-aes-summonses-to-be-written-off-loke/

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 26, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Means ah beng and lalamoi can simply park their daddy bought car in the middle of the road oso can?? (Actually saw few times they simply park bloking one of two lane road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:01 pm

Hutang ptptn tak payah bayar, parking merata tak kena clamp, bunuh orang takde hukuman mati, rogol orang tak kena sebat. Ya perubahan kepada negara rosak

• Teh satu on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:12 pm

Stupid idiotic move not to clamp!

What kind of backward thinking is this???

• Muniandy on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:38 pm

Clamping or towing both should be effective if enforced without fear or fervour. What I dont understand is on what basis a compensation of Rm 80 M or more is being claimed. Can there be a public disclosure of Vista Summerose claims and terms of contract. Hope this is not another one of those lopsided concession where the poor public is going to be burdened with when cancelled.
    I feel we should employ technology wherein clamps when installed is captured in a centralised computer and can only be unlocked using the same software upon payment and issuance of a reciept using a handheld linked to the centralised software. This should reduce any corrupt practises.

• String Fellow Hawk 2.0 on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:43 pm

Well, clamping is fine with me. But first build a building with a lot of parking spaces in the hot spot area. There are many hotspot areas do not have any ample parking space. Imagine driving endless hour looking for a parking space. It’s not surprise motorists tend to park illegally due to frustration.

When you build enough parking spaces and still finding people park illegally, then they deserve to be clamped. Maybe you, guys thinks this is one of ways to increase more revenues. So why bother to built one.

Another thing, please do not allowed people to rent the parking spaces. Lately we notices many red lines had been drawn showing it had been rented. Really..in a hot spot area?

• Isobel Chin on Oct 26, 2018 at 10:03 pm

So can that couple last year who were jailed for scolding DBKL officers sue DBKL for being too hard on them, now that the new mayor is so scared of traffic offenders?

• brian on Oct 26, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Someone call a doctor.

• Matchy on Oct 26, 2018 at 11:42 pm

Why the KL mayor felt embarrassed by it? ‍♂️

• fauzi on Oct 27, 2018 at 2:29 am

stupid decision…cannot make hard decision that make everyone’s life just better…spineless

• KS Lee on Oct 27, 2018 at 2:45 am

Come on, clamp still leave the vehicle in an obstructive position right? Saman and kasi tow away the jerk’s car laa…

• azhar on Oct 27, 2018 at 10:28 am

So people thinks clamping is the only solution to rule breakers??..they never heard of towing & saman is it?…and where is those article did it mention that clamping will be stop forever?

• Just lock the brainless who didnt park their car that couse big problem to the traffic …Jam the whole trafic giv them saman they also buang wat for

• TreeHugger on Oct 27, 2018 at 4:24 pm

Few months ago this new gov set all speed offenders free from having to pay their AES summons and even gave few weeks AES-free period just because they envy the BN crony companies. And now this? No clamp indefinitely because gov feel embarrassed? Now all these self-centered parking offenders are set free to park wherever they like. I’m starting to feel like this gov also, like before, never intend to put rakyat interest first. This sick mindset leaders should be voted out in next GE.

• Korean Fan on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:30 am

Our new government believes that Malaysians have grown to be first class people after they voted them in. So they believe Malaysian will park their car in civic manner and never obstruct traffic. They also believes that Malaysians are law abiding citizen who will not commit murder and drug traffiking. So they have to abolish capital punishment.

Yeah. You can still believe, in your dream.