Taxi drivers demand a meeting with transport minister to address issues, or they’ll protest on November 8

Taxi drivers aren’t giving up the fight, as you’d expect. They’ve now demanded to meet with transport minister Anthony Loke soon, failing which they will hold a protest to demand a meeting at parliament on November 8, The Star reports. According to Big Blue Taxi founder Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, cabbies have been asking for a meeting with the ministry since Pakatan Harapan came to power, without success.

“We want a harmonious relationship with the ministry. We want to resolve the issue (facing taxi drivers),” he told reporters. He said that for the protest slated for this Thursday, taxi drivers will not leave parliament unless Loke or his deputy Datuk Kamaruddin Jaffar meet them.

Among the subjects cabbies want to discuss with Loke is e-hailing, which has had an impact on cabbies’ earnings. Shamsubahrin said that taxi drivers aren’t asking for Grab and e-hailing to be banned, stating that Loke’s recent statement that the government would not bow to the demands of taxi drivers that Grab be banned was misleading.

“Please do not talk rubbish. I respect you so much, (so) please don’t come up with these kind of statements. We don’t want the government to ban e-hailing, we just want e-hailing drivers to adhere to the same rules that govern taxi drivers so that there is a level playing field between us,” he said.

Last week, Loke had reiterated that the government will not give in to the demands of taxi groups who want them to ban ride hailing or e-hailing services using private cars, such as Grab.

In response to the latest statements made by taxi drivers, Loke replied that he will not entertain any request that contains an element of threat. “If you want to discuss, we are ready to hold discussions, but do not threaten us,” he said.

It was previously reported that the government is set to create a level playing field in that both ride-hailing drivers and cabbies will be subjected to the same rules and regulations. The process will be implemented in stages to ensure smooth operation for all parties, and will begin on January 1 next year and expected to be completed within a period of six months.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Reformer on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Taxi drivers deserve to get at least rm7k monthly pay frm govt. Work 7 hour a day .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
    • Edwin L on Nov 06, 2018 at 8:50 pm

They should get Govt support in view that they have supported PH in taking over, that’s what friends are for, or at least the enemy of my enemy are for, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Yes, the Gov shud sapot them even though the proposed regulations were made by Najib. If UMNO men can be accepted into PH, why not taxi drivers?

• I also agree. They should also have subsidy for cigarettes, and also be allocate shaded areas either naturally or man made within klang valley for them to sit and discuss about whatever they like to discuss while smoking their subsidised ciggies. Also, they should be allowed to charge fare at their whim and fancy during certain hrs of the day, preferably a 12 hrs a day allowance.

• Sayingsaying on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:43 pm

These cheater cabbies protest for their own fault. U charge passenger too expensive and ur meter tipu2 pipu, so people not stupiak like u cabbies and they go for grab!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • John Goldman on Nov 06, 2018 at 10:46 pm

KL cabbies put Malaysia at top of the list.

• Sikap UiTm dan Mara on Nov 07, 2018 at 10:27 am

Dah bosan dengan perangai macam ini. Pls work hard and make Malaysia proud

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:49 pm

GO AHEAD!AND CUSTOMERS WILL TELL YOU WHO IS THE REAL KING.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Donno on Nov 07, 2018 at 7:35 am

Yes customer is king. Future does not wait for those who does not want to change with the times. Last time it was the becha/rickshaws with taxis, now its the taxis turn with ehailing. Change or you will be left behind.

• transformer on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:51 pm

the whole taxi scheme are so corrupt and thugs. just disband! whoever want, can join e-hailing anytime. Rakyat want e-hailing anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • jamal on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Keepidap bruther!
    No retreat No surrender !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
  • Sapot! sapot! We must protest to let the Gov know that they shud care for taxi drivers like what the previous Gov did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 58
  • Not Toyota Fan on Nov 05, 2018 at 8:26 pm

Oxymoron. DEMAND meeting but at the same time want HARMONIOUS relationship !!!???

Bodoh, si botak Blue Taxi & gangster² dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • sibuk protest, grab sapu customer..why not work to improve your services..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • i swear that dude looks like dr evil in austin powers lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • oricon666 on Nov 07, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Dr. Evil: I demand the sum… OF 1 MILLION DOLLARS. Muahahahahahaha.. muahahahahaha….

• Open botol on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:10 pm

with the advent of deliveroo, myeg & lazada, our taxi can be hired to send foods, geran & roadtax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:17 pm

Time to stock up on tear gas and batons.

• Emi Sasaki on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Last century, Rickshaw bandits terrorising public, years later Trishaw bandits bullying customers, then and now Taxi bandits cheating customers and creating public disorder…

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 07, 2018 at 11:03 am

And see what happened to the rickshaw & trishaw. Both consigned to history books.

• UTurn M on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Above is the face of a man in disbelieve after he has given full support & the support of his people to Mr UTrunM in return for a promise to eliminate the competition. In the end he got capati, and he will never enjoy a capati meal ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • uturn on Nov 06, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Padan Muka, all the taxi drivers

• The Transport Minister should come up with a innovative solution with new intelligent advisors to solve the TAXI woes.

The OLD Team in the ministry of Transport always give advise TAK BOLIH PAKAI and very obsolete leading to unhappiness.

That why TAXI DRIVERS need to get better deal with new solutions but ministry of transport not coming up with any good ideas and solutions and also not bowing down to solve it. I wait to see if the new HARAPAN Government is in the making of new BN 2.0 or not.

So what the point of ministry of transport charging Taxi permit and do nothing but collect GAJI only… Do not even know the feeling of those good TAXI DRIVERS Cari MAKAN.??

• If only they dedicated this much hardwork at their jobs rather than protests.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 05, 2018 at 10:30 pm

The faces of the rakyat when they found out they were being capatied by all those broken promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 22
  • spend the same time that you wasted to earn more money!

• I just wanna LOL for teksi!

• Andrew on Nov 05, 2018 at 11:02 pm

“taxi driver protests”
    *laughs in grab*

• Libertarian driver on Nov 05, 2018 at 11:10 pm

I hate cabbies, if anyone here knows the struggle of getting a cabbie to use his meter for
    A trip from subang jaya ktm station to jalan kewajipan will know what i am talking about, but this blue taxi dude is right the playing field is not level why does grab or other e hailing services get to set their own rules and standards and pricing while the cabbies have to let the government decide for them??? PH or BN the government will always be incompetent to help the cabbies, my suggestion is stop regulating the cabbies and let them set their own price and requirement this will allow them to compete better with other e hailing services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Helen Ang on Nov 06, 2018 at 7:39 pm

they used to demand RM25 for a ride from KTM station to USJ.
      those were the days until Uber and Grab came along.

• stastasta on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:03 pm

talk about level playing field, why not allow grab drivers to pick up passengers from road side ? and use subsidized natural gas ?

• Helen Ang on Nov 05, 2018 at 11:26 pm

worse scumbags in malaysia.
    prefer to walk than taking taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Provide Good Product on Nov 06, 2018 at 3:18 am

If they were honest, polite, and had clean, smell-free cars they wouldn’t have a problem. If you provide a good product at a good price you never have to worry.

But when I hail a taxi the driver is grumpy and rude if I want to go somewhere he doesnt like go he deems the ride too short, 25% of the time he will take the “long way” to get more $, and 75% of the time the taxi smells like body odor and cigarettes. After the ride you have no one to complain to!

With grab/lyft/uber, car is clean, driver cant refuse your route, and at the end you have a digital log of your trip. If something goes wrong you can inform the company they refund your money!

Taxi drivers brought this on themselves. They all want to make a few extra RM in the short term, and hurt themselves in the long term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Taxi drivers, sila meninggal.

• Teksi john on Nov 06, 2018 at 8:35 am

Good going, we will see grab being closed down soon. Teksi is the future, grab is a history

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • Bryan on Nov 07, 2018 at 8:15 am

Grab will never closed down, taxi drivers must beat the competition and improve themselves. All i see is the in the future taxi drivers will convert to Grab, and taxi slowly vanishing together with their lousy customer service.

• Only if BN is in power… But i dun see this to be true when PH is still in power. Let’s vote back our previous Gov to restore the glory of our taxi industry.

• casual rider on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:05 am

If you read the paragraph on top of the guy bald head I think it’s a fair request from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • “we don’t negotiate with terrorists”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Ruslan Bahari on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:29 am

With this bunch, it’s always and “or else”. Twats of the highest order.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:41 am

Protest as much as you want. Nobody wants to take your ride.

• Minister, just approve their request. We rakyat will NOT USE taxi even if grab cost us the same like taxi. We dont use taxi not because of the fare only. But their attitude and poor service. LET RAKYAT TEACH THEM THIS TIME

• And one more thing, once Grab follow the rules as taxi, make sure taxi driver DONT KACAU GRAB DRIVER WHEREVER GRAB PICKUP CUSTOMER.

• frankC on Nov 06, 2018 at 4:10 pm

Level the playing field between taxi and e-hailing is the fair way to go. so I don’t quite understand what’s fuss taxi drivers and its association is protesting about then ?
    previously or currently, it is biased towards e-hailing service.

• andrekua on Nov 06, 2018 at 4:35 pm

You want e-hailing drivers to adhere to your rules but are you willing to adhere to e-hailing rules, aka no haggling and use meter instead. Of course, change those old cars please.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 06, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Abang abangs are so lazy. Learn to work hard. Too pampered with bantuan all the time given all their lives

• Where were you? Ur govt was anxiously waiting you to come and plotek & defend them but ur too late now. Such laziness is unacceptable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 06, 2018 at 5:32 pm

All these problems is because the lazy teksi drivers are making so much of noise, threats and walkouts. Jealousy is the No 1 cause here.

Hello teksi drivers, you guys are so lazy. All the time want to be pampered and want bantuan all the time. Typical Putrajaya mentality.

Try to work hard and if can, go join Grab. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab. Why must you be jealous? Go join Grab and make money like the Grab drivers.

Don’t just lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours. All the time smoking under the tree, chit chatting and looking at girls.

Be like the NTUC drivers in Singapore. They work non stop. 12 hours non stop they are driving looking for passengers.

You are lazy, how you expect money to come to you? If you spend like 6 hours in the day sleeping under the tree, smoking non stop inside a parked teksi……of course money won’t come to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 06, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Pity Grab drivers now subject to all sorts of regulations and fees just because teksi guys are jealous.

Grab and Uber gave the rakyat clean, not smelly teksis and honest system.

We the rakyat got fed up with cheating teksi drivers. Even I myself have been asked to pay RM300 for a ride from KL Sentral to KLCC which took a mere 10 minutes.

Malaysians were fed up with the cheating teksi drivers. All the time refuse to pick up passengers because of suka hati. Jam means or rain, tell the passenger don’t want to bring them. If bring them, even 1KM, they charge RM50

Rakyat got fed up with all these cheating. Then refuse to use meter. Those who use meter also, 9 out of 10 meters got gadget inside that can make the meter move faster. When JPJ want to inspect, then they remove the gadget, thus no detection.

We have had enough of cheating by the teksi abang abang.

Oh yeah, don’t forget about the huge number of dirty teksi drivers who talk dirty to women and try to peep into their skirts when they collect money.

Until today teksi drivers are non stop digging their nose and using 2 ten sen coins to cabut their bulu janggut at traffic lights…..time to change la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 06, 2018 at 5:44 pm

This Datuk was sentenced to 20 years jail and convicted. He should be sitting in his prison cell now because he was actually sentenced and convicted. A simple google search can see his sentence 2 years ago.

But previous corrupted Government let him out early. Time for new Government to uphold the law and make sure he serves his sentence. Otherwise it is a mockery to our courts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Demander! on Nov 06, 2018 at 6:18 pm

As a Taci user, I demand Government to ban all Taxis and Taxi drivera to serve Rakyat!

• Tango on Nov 06, 2018 at 6:53 pm

It’s the taxi permit holders who are protesting rather than taxi drivers. All permit holders should be investigated for crony corruption in how they obtained the permits.

• Duanz on Nov 06, 2018 at 7:14 pm

No need. The taxi drivers just want to harash the ministry only like what they do in Langkawi to our prime minister.

• Helen Ang on Nov 06, 2018 at 7:36 pm

lantaklah whether they want tp demo or not.
    we wont miss any one of them.

• Grab must follow same rules as teksi – coerce and swindle riders and behave rudely. Great plan. Then teksi and Grab can be hated equally.

• sugarhill on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:07 pm

I dont understand. Y dont they join grab or other e-hailing service n start earning efficiently. Thats the direction of public transportation today, they jz hav to adapt to it.

• Gogogo on Nov 06, 2018 at 10:55 pm

They are digging their own grave. Should e hailing comply whatever the taxi does.. not a single customer will take taxi . Hahahaha.

• Nicholas Lee on Nov 07, 2018 at 3:25 am

Yes, he is right.

The playing field is not level.
    It is not fair that Grab cars are much nicer and cleaner than taxis.
    It is not fair too because customers get friendly drivers with clear pricing and shorter trips.
    It is also not fair that customers don’t have to worry about grumpy cabbies or not being able to hail a ride.

You brought this on yourselves, by being lazy and dishonest to the rakyat.

• Too Ju Ling on Nov 07, 2018 at 8:50 am

The red-white taxis are all “tak boleh pakai”.
    The taxis drivers are famous for choosing customers, ovrecharging, sleazy and the drivers love to talk-c#ck and smoke under tree. Pure lazy bums. Hopeless ppl. Disgraceful ppl.

Now, they are demanding???

• Pak cik on Nov 07, 2018 at 8:54 am

It’s not the taxi drivers, it’s the taxi companies that holding the license culprit
    Liberal the licenses and more companies or qualified individual owns it

• Funny thing here is, with so many ppl defending GRAb, the other day i got a cheaper rate in a taxi than grab from klia to bangi.
    grab pun mahal gak, but at least confirm same rate across all drivers

• Ben Yap on Nov 07, 2018 at 9:37 am

those who cause unruly behavior should strip off their datukship. malaysia has no place for unruly behavior that cause public nuisance.

• Slick tyres on Nov 07, 2018 at 9:53 am

Im confused here –
    Previously Taxi & Rakyat claimed Grab owned by Rosmah that Taxi could not make money. So Taxi and Rakyat blamed Rosmah. Now PH is happy with Grab, while Taxi blames PH. If Grab is owned by Rosmah why is PH happy with Grab and ignore Taxi?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2018 at 10:03 am

send him back to jail

• Auntie Chen on Nov 07, 2018 at 3:05 pm

was it just me……but the taxi driver faces in the photo looks like gangsters, kaki pukul, etc. Nobody dares to take a ride in their taxi. I will be worried to death to have my daughter being driven by such drivers….

The botak with beady eyes is especially suspicious….

• Benzs on Nov 07, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Grab is the only choice for me. No thanks Taxi, bad experience with Taxi. Even got taxi at lower price but I still choose Grab, quality assurance with realiable system. Just my sharing

• Kelvin on Nov 08, 2018 at 11:35 am

What is there to complain?

Go see for yourself most TAXI drivers parking in TASIK SELATAN ECRL station especially approaching MID NIGHT refuse to USE METER .

Most of them there group up to charge a short 2 km journey RM 30 when GRAB only cost RM 5.

See these drivers got NO ETHIC and day light robbery for using TAXI ..

Furthermore , our Ministry of Transport division for TAXI enforcement is always Sleeping without working or Close one eye on the unscrupulous TAXI operation.

Minister of Transport enforcement team talk BiG but so TAKUT of TAXI Driver like a RAT hiding. No summon also for TAXI running RED LIGHTS.

• Minister is scared he wud get embarassed when taximen scolds his enforcement officers, so he gave up enforcing the law.

• Go ahead, go protest. Noboday cares.