AAM Malaysian Motorsports Blueprint Forum 2018 – mapping out motorsports development for the country

The Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM), as the official national auto-sports authority (ASN) and custodian of Malaysian motorsports with the international motorsports federation (FIA) will be holding a discussion forum and workshop on the mapping of a motorsports development blueprint for the country. This will be held at the auditorium of the department of museums Malaysia, at the Muzium Negara on November 20.

In moving forward, there is a need to push for significant development of the national motorsports scene in Malaysia, and AAM has formulated an initial blueprint to improve the national motorsports scenario, specifically the development and creation of a healthy and active motorsports industry that will lead to more properly organised, sanctioned, and accessible motor racing events held in a safe manner that will galvanise the development of a supporting industry and economy.

Whilst Malaysia has organised F1 for nearly 20 years, motorsports development has not moved in tandem with the hosting of such an international-level event. Hence, it is timely that we now address this need to chart a new order for Malaysian motorsports with a development blueprint. In light of the realisation that we can now jointly move things forward and execute the much-required changes, we are now united to conceive and conceptualise these changes for implementation.

Motorsport is not just a sport; it’s a catalyst for automotive and mobility technology developments. Due to its high engagement factor, it can be made very entertaining, serving as a valuable platform for awareness and promotions.

It is thus that the objectives of the Forum as listed by the AAM are:

1. To present a handful of major development areas that need to be addressed, either by private or government sector, to further development the nation’s motorsports industry;

2. Call-out and recruit new talents to join the creation of a new workgroup commission within AAM to follow-up on these developments;

3. To show the racing license holders, affiliate clubs, affiliate promoters, and other affiliate partners that AAM is active, now changing within with a new movement on-board to truly represent motorsports in Malaysia both to the government and to the world;

4. To get buy-in and mobilise grassroots support.

Major development areas that will be discussed are:

1. Development of more racing circuits.
    a) Inspection of existing circuits and grade them.
    b) Construction of new racing circuits: One per year?

2. Tax exemptions for sponsors and import.

3. Better support from and interaction with the media.

4. Development of independent organisers – to rope in small and club-level event organisers to AAM so as to assist them develop affordable, grassroots-tier events.

5. Reduce participation costs.
    a) Equipment – tax exemption for helmet, HANS, fireproof racing suits, leather suits, etc
    b) Logistic support – Semenanjung, Sabah, Sarawak, regional.

6. Appoint, employ, train, and develop next wave of AAM officials – stewards, marshals, commissions.

“AAM, as the national motorsports body, has over 1,000 competition license holders, and we want to get their feedback and ideas on reigniting the national motorsports industry”, said AAM vice-chairman Wan Zaharudin Wan Ahmad. “The main direction during the forum is to discuss the development areas and come out of it with a concrete action plan with personnel, work scopes, delivery dates, and budgets,” he added.

The motor racing license holders, being the actual participants actively involved in motorsports, would obviously be the best people with a cognitive point of view on the matter. “It is important for the genuine stakeholders to attend and contribute ideas to embrace the future of Malaysian motorsports,” AAM chairman Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar Tunku Mustapha said.

The Malaysian Motorsports Blueprint Forum is strictly-limited to only motorsports clubs, event promoters and current competition license holders. Further forums will then be organised in the near-future to drum up further support and feedback from the rest of the industry that is involved in Malaysian motorsports.

Adian Yein Khalid

Adian was one of the start-up members that initiated the Proton Motorsports Division (R3) back in 2003. He has over 20 years of motorsports experience, culminating in two back-to-back wins of the Merdeka Millennium Endurance. He’s currently a professional driving instructor, and a co-host of the Driven Web Series. He has recently found joy door-to-door racing again at MSF!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:41 pm

This is a big joke. The AAM could not even provide simple road side assistance and keep that business going, now they want to guide Motorsports.

OMG. I remember being an AAM member, call tow truck, tow truck come 5 hours later despite it being in PJ.

Simple business also cannot do, want to make blueprint for our Motorsports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • rally_fan (Member) on Nov 13, 2018 at 7:07 pm

just so you know,the “AAM” that does insurance, road side assistance..etc. is a totally different organisation. This is “AAM Motorsport”. It is national governing body appointed by the FIA for Malaysia. all motorsports, including F1 (when it was running), motogp, sepang 1000km race, MSF…etc .etc. falls under their jurisdiction.

• Andy Yong on Nov 14, 2018 at 10:20 am

both also same chairman. Means both also got same type of management. So don’t lie here

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 14, 2018 at 11:01 am

please please show your ignorance somewhere else. i am only pointing out AAM motorsports as an organisation that has a totally different function from AAM which handles insurance, road side assistance..etc.

what are you even talking about??? of course they have the same chairman. who said it wasnt so?

• AAM the best, any problem with my Gen 2 i call them.

• Lolz! This basher dunno diff between that AAM that does insurance and this AAM that handles motorsport. Pls read more b4 u bash, otherwise again u r exposed as an ignoramus.

• Copy Pasta Ohwai on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Typical abang abang mentality, cannot do anything original. Everything also must copy or plagiarize. Why put stig here? Stig is from Top Gear. This also must copy pasta….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Shukor Majid on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:55 pm

AAM was run by a bunch of incompetent goons the past 30 years. When they went bankrupt, people were so happy.

Same caliber people running Putrajaya. Unable to do business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Cannot even run proper road side assistance and tow truck service…..want to do country blueprint for motorsports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • AAM, MAA, MAI on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:58 pm

Automotive Association of Malaysia (AAM), Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), etc. Too many “official” automotive associations in Malaysia now, it’s really confusing. Please let us know which is the real authoritative government-sanctioned one.

• Badrul on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:11 pm

I had 3 year AAM membership. One day suddenly AAM lingkup. Until today also they refuse to give me my membership money back

You guys cannot return membership money…..you want to do blueprint for our motorsports?

How to trust you guys with our money?

• Badrul on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:13 pm

Pls return AAM members their money first because AAM tow truck service lingkup overnight.

How to trust AAM Motorsport membership now?

• mansore on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Good job AAM Datuk Aishah.

• Joe fangs on Nov 14, 2018 at 8:54 am

Datuk Aishah is with MAA lah…or are you trying to be cynical?

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 13, 2018 at 7:11 pm

just so you guys know as its obvious many are confused, the “AAM” that does insurance, road side assistance..etc. is a totally different organisation. likewise, this is not related to MAI or MAA as well.
    This is “AAM Motorsport”. It is national governing body appointed by the FIA for Malaysia. all motorsports, including F1 (when it was running), motogp, sepang 1000km race, MSF…etc .etc. falls under their jurisdiction. and to Shukor Majid, what you said is very true, and its because of this reason, this forum is being held. to look at new development plans, strategy, etc. for the future, and to finally inject a new generation to steer motorsports in Malaysia.

• Lolz! If they had read more b4 straightaway bash then they wont look so foolish, but u knowlah they got KPIs to meet. Oso if u properly, its the same copy paste bollocks by another name, so u will know its by that same troll as well. Basically, its just one person making noise.

• Lil Cupacabra on Nov 13, 2018 at 7:47 pm

4 words.

AAM tak bole pakai.

• Petronas Gang on Nov 14, 2018 at 3:35 pm

Memenag tak boleh pakai. But it’s good they are finally doing community consultation like this forum. The motorsports fraternity can now give direct feedback to drive developments.

• Amirul V8 on Nov 13, 2018 at 8:56 pm

This is constructive. Competitive licence holders only… great. Well done AAM. Ignore the whiners. They don’t know the difference between motorsports and tow truck service.

• Abam teksi on Nov 13, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Ohmaigad. They are still around? Tot all dead already.