Feb 2019 week one fuel price – petrol goes down

It’s Friday, which means the usual weekly fuel price update, and there’s some cheer for the festive season, specifically for motorists with petrol-based rides. The price of both RON 95 and RON 97 has come down compared to last week, while that for diesel remains unchanged.

From tomorrow, February 2, RON 95 will be priced at RM1.93 per litre (down five sen from last week), while RON 97 will go for RM2.23 per litre (also down five sen from last week). As for Euro 2M diesel, it continues to be priced at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel, which is always 10 sen more than standard diesel, remains at RM2.28 per litre.

These prices will be in effect until February 8, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced. This is the fifth week of the weekly fuel price format, which is set to be announced every Friday. The prices will be effective from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• How can diesel remain more expensive than petrol?
    I remember diesel being the cheaper choice ever since decades ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:07 pm

I am so glad we have an honest Government. PEtrol seems to be going down and down. If follow the previous corrupted Government, it will be RM2.90 per litre now.

Thank you for giving us cheap petrol. We are an oil producing country so I don’t know why we were paying so much for petrol the past 20 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Happy on Feb 01, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Happy long weekend guys!
      Happy safe trip and Happy cheap petrol! PHappy

• Calcutta on Feb 02, 2019 at 8:40 am

diesel are actually a more expensive product world wide, there’s less diesel in one barrel of oil and the refinery process especially for a clean diesel that meets Euro standards is more expensive.
      everybody shouting for the best of the best want to follow ekor euro in everything but when price increase they curse the gov again

• Muzaffar on Feb 02, 2019 at 11:01 am

Petrol is so cheap now.

Public transport so cheap now with MY100 and MY50 travel cards

Car prices also gone down a bit

Broadband prices also so cheap. I pay RM129 for 300Mbps

Food prices also cheaper now without GST

Wah, untung betul lah now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Spin Too Much on Feb 02, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Nice dream but reality:
        1) Petrol is 43cents more expensive than they had promised.

2) The previous concession system was more cheaper to use for most journeys.

3) Car prices went up like fuk. Triton went from RM70k to RM100k.

4) 300Mbps? Then why testing only give my 30Mbps? Am I overpaying ridiculous prices just for marketing gimmick?

5) Food prices went up with SST now at 10%

6) Wah rugi betul lah now! Really regret going for Pakatan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • my england is bad on Feb 02, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Cheaperer means nothing without us Dedak tongkat bantuan , sad butt true…

• Shazwan on Feb 02, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Where is the guy who has been telling us Malaysia has the cheapest petrol prices in the world and cheapest car prices in the world for the past 5 years?

• Amran on Feb 01, 2019 at 5:12 pm

Harga naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Harga dah turun, kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Dulu harga naik, ada yg dah turun. Dulu tomato naik, sekarang dah turun. Ada yg dah turun. Telur turun 2 sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:10 pm

I hope the troll john does not come here and ask where is the RM1.50/l petrol?

Tun Mahathir already confirmed it was NEVER in PH manifesto to give RM1.50 petrol. He said this was fake news.

I rather believe a distinguished PM and a statesman than a frustrated keyboard warrior spreading fake news with his 20 fake dupe names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • Calvin on Feb 03, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Why should we believe what you said when you keep claiming that Malaysia has the most expensive petrol prices and most expensive car prices in the world?

• Amran on Feb 04, 2019 at 10:14 am

I support tun M pun salah..?

• Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Feb 04, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Dia cakap pasal john, bukan awak. Jangan terperanjat.

• This is the same guy that told us Malaysia has the most exp car prices in the world and most exp petrol prices in the world. Oh wait, Calvin above alredi sounded u on that. Lolz!

• UTurn M on Feb 01, 2019 at 11:29 pm

This is an automotive blogsite. You want to talk about tomato or telur, you please go to that site. Don’t bring irrelevant things into this site.

• Spin Too Much on Feb 01, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Up 6sen, down 5sen meant that Govt still profits 1sen per liter. In total, Govt still got clean profit of 44sen per liter since the abrogation of their promise to give Rm1.50 per liter petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • #mampusapaboss on Feb 01, 2019 at 8:16 pm

RM1.50 per liter kerosene no good lah can use in your kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • vVivi Zurianti on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:32 pm

Enjoy the low petrol prices, while still can….