FIRST LOOK: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton – from RM100k

After months of waiting, the Mitsubishi Triton facelift is now officially on sale. Buyers can choose from five variants, with prices starting from RM100,200 for the VGT MT to RM135,200 for the top-of-the-line VGT Adventure X AT.

The good news is, all five variants get the bold new Dynamic Shield look, courtesy of a raised bonnet line, slim headlights and a wide, chiselled front apron. Even better, they all share the same 4N15 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel with 181 PS and 430 Nm of torque at 2,500 rpm. Automatic variants benefit from a new six-speed unit, replacing the previous five speeder. Manual variants get the same six-speed unit from before.

Those interested in the Triton will have quite a fair bit of kit to comb through, especially when considering the range-topping model. To quickly recap, it’s the only one to get the Mitsubishi Advanced Safety kit, which comprise of forward collision mitigation, blind spot warning with lane change assist, rear cross traffic alert, ultrasonic misacceleration mitigation system, auto high beam and seven airbags.

All variants of the new Triton are fully imported (CBU) from Thailand, and each purchase entails a 200,000 km or five years warranty package. The first 1,000 customers to purchase the Triton will also receive a Thule Subterra luggage worth RM2,000. You may view the detailed specifications and compare the new Triton against its rivals at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure X

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Premium AT

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Premium MT

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton VGT AT

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• benzs on Feb 01, 2019 at 5:22 pm

It looks sporty. Compare to other pickup. Still MMC looks much better. MMC pls bring in Eclipse (SUV), Xpander (MPV), Pajero Sports (SUV) and Lancer (Sedan). Your current product line is too aging.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Better to buy this Japanese car than the junk X70. At least Mitsubishi engines are sold in all first world countries. Geely engines were all rejected in all first world countries and only 95% are sold in China only.

China tried their best to sell their cars in first world countries but failed due to poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Feb 02, 2019 at 2:51 pm

PT shuld ban u and ur fake news.. the X70 is on a whole diff lvl compared to the Triton.

• Muzaffar on Feb 02, 2019 at 10:56 am

In Europe, Mitsubishi is so well known. In US also. Cause they got top quality.

I wish they bring in more cars. But I think gomen don’t allow cause it competes with X70.

See even Outlander now so laku. You bring Eclipse, who will buy X70?

• Copy Paste on Feb 02, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Copy paste: “I don’t trust Mitsubishi, they treat their foreign interns like slave labour doing hard jobs like normal factory workers but with measly, downright insulting pay. See this https://paultan.org/2019/01/28/mitsubishi-motors-ordered-to-halt-foreign-internships/

I rather go for China cars since they are more value for money and not made with slave labour.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Wahab on Feb 02, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Pity Mitsubishi wanted to transfer technology to Malaysia from 1985 to 2010 but Proton workers could not understand.

So now, just become rebadger. Tampal logo sahaja pandai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Oh yeah. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.

• Jepunis and slavery, berpisah tiada

• Say NO to slavery!
            Say NO to Jepunis!
            Say NO to unsafe outdated cars!

• benzs on Feb 01, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Went to view at Sarawak showroom. Nice interior quality and taller. The looks really impressed me at first sight. Feels like fall in love with it. So good looking while power delivery is superb. This 2.4 can beat 2.8 hilux. Just compare its HP and Torque. Triton is lighter by 100kg compare with Hilux for sure will be more convenient to accelerate. While Triton turning radius is the smallest compare to all pick up. Easy to do u turn. But price is very very very spicy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Only the top spec Adventure X looks good with those LED DRLs and headlights. Yeah, very pricey at almost 140k if include insurance.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Better to buy this Japanese car than the junk X70. At least Mitsubishi engines are sold in all first world countries. Geely engines were all rejected in all first world countries and only 95% are sold in China only.

China tried their best to sell their cars in first world countries but failed due to poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Copy Paste on Feb 02, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Copy paste: “I don’t trust Mitsubishi, they treat their foreign interns like slave labour doing hard jobs like normal factory workers but with measly, downright insulting pay. See this https://paultan.org/2019/01/28/mitsubishi-motors-ordered-to-halt-foreign-internships/

I rather go for China cars since they are more value for money and not made with slave labour.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • gigi kuning macho on Feb 01, 2019 at 6:34 pm

The front facia not tough looking leh……….

• Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 01, 2019 at 11:27 pm

Pickups used to cost only 70k in the previous government, now it cost 100k. What happened to pakatan promises of cheaper cars?

• Daniel on Feb 02, 2019 at 6:17 am

Bless you Mitsubishi Malaysia for bringing the manual transmission in a premium trim! Seriously THANK YOU!

• Eternalgl0ry on Feb 02, 2019 at 11:31 am

Why they are so lazy to update the interior quality?

Still use hard dashboard plastic. I rather buy wildtrak ford Ranger

• Eternalgl0ry on Feb 04, 2019 at 8:10 am

Their website says the engine is best in class. They are lying and outdated

Because ford Ranger wildtrak biturbo is only 2.0 liters with two turbos going around 213 hp and 500nm torque

The Mitsubishi engine is far less Performance

• Fordist on Feb 04, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Well, perhaps they meant “best in class” for RV or “best in class” for reliability, because those are what Japanese fanboys fall back on when everyone else had advanced ahead while their cars remains stagnant. Even then these excuses are highly doubted since newer Hilux are prone to intercooler leaking and turbo failures very early on.