New Toyota 86 confirmed, slots under Supra – report

Well, it looks like rumours of the demise of the Toyota 86 have been unfounded after all. Not only has Toyota confirmed that there were no plans to kill off the entry-level sports car, but a new report from GoAuto also says that a next-generation model is coming.

Toyota Australia public affairs manager Brodie Bott affirmed the news, telling the publication, “When those reports blew up, we had a few chats internally and I can tell you right now, the car is coming. I don’t know where these reports have come from, but at this stage we are certainly not looking to discontinue it, it’s a pretty important car for us and it will be the little brother to the Supra.”

When asked directly if the 86 will receive a successor, he replied, “There will be, we’ve seen it, it is coming.” This puts to rest speculation that the car will make way for the base four-cylinder Supra to become the brand’s most affordable sports car.

A previous report by Japan Times suggested that the new 86 will continue to be co-developed with Subaru alongside the BRZ, and that production will kick off in 2021 at the same Subaru plant in Gunma. According to that report, the flat-four engine will be enlarged from 2.0 litres to 2.4, a similar displacement to the Subaru Ascent‘s turbo mill – although it’s unclear if the 86/BRZ’s engine will feature forced induction.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Darren on Feb 08, 2019 at 11:42 am

So which car Toyota is going to rebadge for new 86, since Subaru has chosen to go separate paths? My guess is Mazda’s MX-5 or a new Nissan Z car.

• toyoda clan masta on Feb 08, 2019 at 4:57 pm

No need rebadging.
      Akio will mod the latest toyota belta in 2 door version aka Levin 86 by year 2020 launching soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Basher has claimed that his Vios with TRD bodykit & GT wing plus fengtau music is like a racing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Hafiz Hisham on Feb 09, 2019 at 1:39 am

Yes he did. Which is why he everyday comes here “racing”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Aziz Mahmood on Feb 10, 2019 at 6:04 pm

No one said so john. Stop spreading fake news

• Fake news spreader is you and your fake names, bro.

• Akio Toyoda is said to be a car enthusiast. Toyota have the money or technical know-how to develop a sports car from scratch. But so far, all their latest sports cars are rebadges.

• Roti john Sendirian Berhad on Feb 08, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Habisla Proton! Proton got no sport cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • PJ fella on Feb 08, 2019 at 12:56 pm

buy rekon 86GT.

• Avatar Toyota No 1 in many countries on Feb 08, 2019 at 1:27 pm

Turbo 2.0 or more for sports or luxury cars..

But in boleh land, many turbo 1.5 ( Civic) or Turbo 1.8 ( X70) on the road..

Consider turbo for certain CC level, and not install turbo only for cheapskate car..

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:56 pm

While the NA 2.0l engine in the current 86 is sufficient I still think it needs more oomph. Since the Supra is using BMW engines perhaps Toyota could put in the B48 into the next gen and bump the output above 255hp in which the G20 330i currently has. That would probably make it a 5 sec car which is comparable to a 340i.

• Get a high revving NA to stand out of the crowd . There is no replacement for the highly praised Honda S2000. This is your chance Toyota. Lightweight body with a high revving engine .

• This is very true. Bring back old school fun of driving a simple car that communicates well with the driver.