Mercedes-Benz SLC Final Edition shown – last hurrah?

The Mercedes-Benz SLK was a revolution when it was unveiled in 1996, debuting a folding metal hardtop design that was copied the world over. However, lacklustre sales in recent years have put the future of the roadster – now called the SLC – in doubt, and with the current R172 generation now eight years old, Stuttgart has chosen to release a Final Edition model that harks back to its seminal premiere.

One callback is the sun yellow paint option that is exclusive to this variant, reminiscing the uncharacteristic (for Mercedes) yellowstone hue that was the launch colour for the original R170. The car also comes in AMG Line trim as standard, adding sportier front and rear bumpers as well as 18-inch five-spoke AMG alloy wheels – these rollers are finished in black with a machined face.

Also fitted as part of the AMG Line package is the sport suspension that is lowered by 10 mm, linked to larger brakes with perforated discs and Mercedes-branded front callipers. Spec your car in a lighter colour (sun yellow, polar white or diamond white) and you’ll also get black accents on the front spoiler, wing mirrors, door handles and rear diffuser, while SLC Final Edition badges on the front fenders complete the look.

Inside, the Final Edition receives black and silver pearl Nappa leather upholstery with alpaca grey stitching and seat belts, plus carbon fibre-look leather inserts on the headrests, seat backs, steering wheel and gearknob. Standard features include bright aluminium trim panels, sport seats, a flat-bottomed sport steering wheel, embroidered floor mats, Airscarf neck heaters, memory seats and four-way lumbar support.

The Final Edition is available in 156 hp SLC 180, 184 hp SLC 200 and 245 hp SLC 300 variants. You can also get it as an AMG SLC 43, which adds a 390 hp 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 as well as additional gloss black exterior highlights, matte black alloys with a yellow rim and an AMG Performance steering wheel with a crystal grey 12 o’clock marker.

With no successor in sight, this might be the end of the quirky open-top, and that’s a real shame.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:22 am

Time to stop it. If sales are bad, if you are a good businessman, you know when to kill your product.

Only a real bodoh, when sales are bad and you are losing millions per day, you still keep your company going and live on tax payers bailouts.

• Kaput on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:18 pm

Honda UK is out. Lotus UK is in, but P1…foreva!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:04 pm

P1 is surviving thanks to China’s help. As a reward, we should allow more China people into Malaysia to give us more expertise and run our country more efficently

• Mercola on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:29 am

I think they will replace this with SLA… cheaper

• Digidigi on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:14 pm

simple, this car is truly ugly

• There goes Mesidis.

• The ultimate hairstylist ride

• Too many similar product which ate into this model. Mesidis have E keras cabrio, E keras coupe, C keras cabrio, and C keras coupe at same price levels, and thats only in MY market. They shud streamline the product line so this dun happen again.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:54 pm

Final edition?

That just means as an owner, you are the last (silly) ones to buy up some old stock before the new model comes out.

No thanks. Limited run supercar this is not.

Don’t think mercedes is going to sit quietly around and watch the supra and Z4 take all the limelight.

The R170 was great for the roof, unfortunately was underpowered and unrefined…..but that held true for the z3 as well. Too bad neither was as tossable and fun like the NB Miata of the same era.