Modenas axes 175 cc supercub engine, new COO Roslan takes over, fresh RM1.3 million investment

In a media session today, a new development has risen with regards to the 175 cc single-cylinder engine developed by Modenas. After a long wait for the engine to emerge in a new Modenas product in the supercub category – some seven years by rough estimate – it has been confirmed the engine project has been axed.

This was confirmed by DRB-Hicom managing director Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar on the cancellation of the Modenas 150 cc engine project. According to Syed Faisal, the engine was designed according to the emissions standards of the time and to bring the engine specification up to Euro 4 or Euro 5 level would not be cost effective.

With the cancellation of the engine project, what happens next for Modenas? No details were forthcoming save news of a RM1.3 million investment to establish 45 Modenas service centres this year.

Modenas is also evaluating incentives given to its dealers to ensure they remain competitive in the current motorcycle market. More importantly, after its collaboration with Bajaj in 2017 and the introduction of several rebadged models, Modenas is evaluating a new strategic partner to increase its competitiveness.

After the launch of the last rebadged model, the 2018 Modenas Dominar 400, Modenas has remained quiet of late. It was also announced a new chief operating officer has taken the helm at Modenas, Roslan Roskan, who reported for duty last week.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• mr1031 on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:14 pm

just rebadged la after this..always r&d cost to be cut or nothing at all..no need invention, just copy..

malaysia

• donno on Apr 10, 2019 at 6:03 pm

The problem is that the R&D is syok sendiri.

Why do you need to reinvent the wheel and create a totally new engine without the big volume needed to justify it? You can always follow the chinese route and build engines based on off the shelf components. Most chinese underbone engines are based on honda cubs. CFMoto 650cc engines are xerox of kawasaki ER-6 engines. Secondly why does modenas stuck with the old designer that designs ugly coversets? You need a sporty, superbike inspired design to challenge the dominant yamaha Y15.

It is very discouraging to see Modenas selling less bikes than say KTNS or MegaFortune.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • MyNewToy on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:37 pm

I don’t think they are doing R&D or they owned the engine design. Only interested to make tons of profits to take advantage of the national project status. Not worth to maintain as a national project anymore for Modenas due to this failure. Why all national project put in the one basket?

• Agree so so much with u

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 10, 2019 at 3:49 pm

This is how lembap GLC DRB is. They waited like 7 years before dropping the product

This is why we need foreign CEOs like Li Chunrong. He would have axed an unproductive product within few months and not waste money on it.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs to run our GLCs, productivity will tenfold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
    • SK, Lim on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Better if foreigners can come and replace our entire Cabinet. Then we won’t have jokers and blur sotongs as ministers pushing RM20million toy drone projects down our throats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Jimho on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:11 pm

He didn’t push the project. It was just an idea, & if it becomes reality, it won’t be for the public. Som ministers just want to impress the PM/nation that they aren’t lazy & have good ideas…all copied from abroad.

• benard on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Modenas has so much potential. You need a die-hard biker to helm the company. How can you sell a product that you are not passionate about, have no connection to the needs of a motorcyclist and have no intent to seriously turn the company around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:26 pm

175cc engine also cant make and yet they wanna make flying car, NAP etc. Dream on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • MyNewToy on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Agreed even we have multiple education systems as basic. Should be one system like others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Rider Forever on Apr 10, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Coorporate don’t need bike and should stay in financial..

Motorcycle dream by people who ride and passionate about engine..engine..and design..

I ride kapchais big bike small bike FZ., because I love biking..I learn how to big bore, set up cam in out, change ecu setting because I don’t have opportunity to work in bike industry..

Sadly people who run this industry just men who like in corporate wear coat necktie to be recognized as bill gates

• Abe Nik on Apr 10, 2019 at 10:44 pm

rebadge bajaj avenger 220 cc fuel injected as a new jaguh.

• china may be interested and within a short time it will be profitable …

• Mustafa on Apr 11, 2019 at 12:18 am

Another.failed project ? Are we surprise ? When they want to put the none logic to logic, only none logic act like gov fund can only sustain such none logic act

• Jerrious on Apr 11, 2019 at 2:08 am

That sucks. I’ve been waiting for a successor of the GT 128. Guess I’ll hold on to it then.

• pengayuhbasikal on Apr 11, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Malaysia petrol still on Euro 2 .. why worry..later when euro 4 came…just redesign laa tu euro 4 …. at least sell the engine for other purpose… palm oil industries kaa…sport hobbyist kaa..aiyah…wasting time laa waiting for this bike…last time very hu haah….

• Affy NoX on Nov 08, 2019 at 9:39 am

Too many idiots, modenas only manage to push the bikes price higher and less choice in Malaysia, I can’t think of any other achievements.