E-hailing cars can remain as private vehicles – Loke

The requirement for e-hailing drivers to change their vehicle’s category from an individual private vehicle to the mooted e-hailing private vehicle category (AH) has been reversed. This was revealed by transport minister Anthony Loke yesterday, reported by Bernama.

He said that the decision follows discussions between the transport ministry and the JPJ after complaints from e-hailing drivers, especially those from dominant platform Grab.

“I have talked to the JPJ, and we have agreed to do away with this requirement. This means e-hailing drivers can still keep their vehicles as individual private cars,” he told reporters.

Prior to this announcement, e-hailing drivers were required to change the usage code of their vehicles to the AH code with the JPJ. The other requirements remain. Loke said that e-hailing drivers should have a public service vehicle (PSV) licence, passenger insurance, e-hailing sticker and an e-hailing vehicle permit (EVP) from the Land Public Transport Agency (APAD).

The minister did not mention Puspakom inspection yesterday, but it was previously announced that e-hailing cars over three years old are required to undergo a Puspakom inspection before the AH conversion, plus a yearly inspection after that.

Enforcement by JPJ begins July 12, 2019.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lolwhut? on May 08, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Lolwhut?! Isn’t that obvious? At this stage, their mode of business is the only thing remaining that separates them from a full fledged taxi service. With all the punishing regulations and the one-sided benefits for taxi drivers, they might as well sell their car and convert to taxi driving. Is that what you’re trying to do Mr Minister? Helping your crony taxi businesses while ensuring the slow choking death of ehailing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 37
    • Syukur lah umat. Thank u kerajaan prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • yawnz on May 08, 2019 at 6:37 pm

Loke so far is the best and most dedicated Transport Minister ever. Thank you Loke for your hard work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
        • Frozen on May 09, 2019 at 12:20 am

Really, how much are you worth? Is defending the indefensible worth trading your self-respect?

• Hussein on May 09, 2019 at 11:32 am

Hello brader, Anthony Loke is a good minister. He has done more than the previous road minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • LRT User on May 09, 2019 at 3:49 pm

He has done more alrite, done more harm to transportation as a whole. How is limiting public access to better modes of public transportation can be considered anything good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Explain Pls on May 09, 2019 at 5:46 pm

How is he limiting public access to better modes of public transportation when he removed the said requirement? I would like to hear the explanation of the opposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Darren on May 09, 2019 at 10:14 pm

@Explain Pls
            Explain this: “Ride-hailing services – expect a driver shortage in July”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Maszlee on May 11, 2019 at 2:04 am

Opposition tak tau baca kah? Already explained in this article.

• Spin Too Much on May 11, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Explained? Please show where, don’t just simply talk like your simpleton minister.

• Maszlee on May 13, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Adui! Driver shortage so they decide to do away with this requirement. Ini pun mau explain kah? Are the opposition keyboard simpleton or what?

• Happy on May 08, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Sez the crony taxi business owner I see.

• Enough with the Gov Bashing! on May 08, 2019 at 6:30 pm

I don’t know what you are smoking but e-hailing is a blooming business while taxi business are slowing down. What else would you think taxi drivers are protesting for?

If you want to talk about crony taxi business, think of who owns the majority of them? Malaysian should know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Dilbert on May 08, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Eh, what’s with PH and the sudden surge in their social media troll army of supporters? Grab already reported that many of their drivers are not keen to be shackled with more rules that are not relevant to them and which are hindering their opportunities. You talk about taxi drivers protesting. Where are they now, why are they so quiet all of a sudden?

And yes, we do know who these cronies report. The grand old man at the top now. We want equal opportunities and freedom for Grab drivers to conduct their work in transporting the public. There’s a huge market for it, so why is PH blocking our access to better public transportation? It looks to me like greed is the only reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
        • Which is why ‘E-hailing cars can remain as private vehicles’ as the title says, duh. To remove restrictions.

Why will these conies report to the grand old man? What benefit does he have? I thought taxi permits have been issued to Umno politicians as a reward for their support and he is no longer with them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on May 09, 2019 at 3:45 pm

“I thought…” That is the problem, people thought this was true but the facts point to the contrary. Many of the permits went to the old geezer’s cronies which is why they had been making a lot of noise towards the end of Najib’s administration. What about now? Suddenly so quiet. It’s very obvious what has happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
          • panjang on May 09, 2019 at 9:26 pm

I thought this what has happened.
            https://paultan.org/2018/04/16/spad-sediakan-kad-bantuan-teksi-1malaysia/

• Logical Deduction on May 10, 2019 at 12:34 pm

What are you pointing at? The kad bantuan is for the driver, it helps the driver not the crony owners. How is this relevant? Putting more hurdles for Grab, now that is helping the crony owners

• Lets See on May 09, 2019 at 12:36 am

Blooming business you say?
        https://paultan.org/2019/04/09/ride-hailing-services-expect-a-driver-shortage-in-july/

Really? Well not with those high barriers placed to stunt their bloom.

• SK, Lim on May 09, 2019 at 12:50 am

Dear paid supporter, clearly you have an issue with factual criticism of your gubmint paymasters. I have read your comment which doesn’t have any relevancy to the subject and you clearly have something to hide with a pseudonym. I have come to the conclusion you are clearly and idiot with an axe to grind. Go grind it at some other forum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Lolwhut? on May 09, 2019 at 9:19 am

The same stuff coming out of our ludicrous Cabinet. Grab has highlighted many of their drivers are reluctant & hesitant to adhere with these new stifling rules, this is bad for business. How long has it been since the last protest before the gahmen started taking action against Grab?

Who owns the majority? The big M (and I don’t mean McDees). Yes, we know. And yes, you’re welcome.

• panjang on May 08, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Its funny when old beat up taxi can always pass the inspection year by year….and now e hailing vehicle which will be newer and better vehicle in every aspect to undergo the same inspection.

Its like telling Lee Chong Wei to compete at MSSM level to prove himself worthy before he can represent Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • redpilled on May 08, 2019 at 5:10 pm

lets all do business without licence.

• Safety First on May 08, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Yes, let’s just legalise non-transparent tints since everyone is doing it. It is another source of money so why not legalise it and we can get into the business?

• uturn on May 08, 2019 at 9:17 pm

Another O

• John Doe on May 09, 2019 at 8:36 am

bro… AP….
    When you going to settle the AP to reduce the car price rather than looking at all this areas which your other officers can handle.
    It’s like MPs doing ADUN’s work everyday announcing about your plan on how to clean the drain and walk way…
    You guys are really popular being tak tentu hala

• passion on May 09, 2019 at 11:40 am

something is wrong with this govt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • What effect does changing the vechicle category from individual private vehicle to ‘AH’ on owners or the cars?