2019 Skoda Superb facelift teased in design sketch

The facelifted Skoda Superb is due to make its debut later this month, and the automaker has teased its refreshed third-generation flagship via a design sketch, offering a glimpse of what to expect.

The L-shaped LED daytime running lights appear similar in shape to those on the 2015 car, though the headlamp appears to consist of different elements within the housing. Elsewhere, the grille is now a more imposing item and now sits directly adjacent to the headlamps, whereas it was previously book-ended by sections of the front bumper.

The grille also features rows of twin chrome elements as compared to the 2015 car’s singular line. Meanwhile, the front foglamps are slimmer on the 2019 design sketch, and the chrome strip that bridges the two foglamps now loop around the foglamps.

Being a mid-lifecycle update, the facelifted Superb should continue to use the Volkswagen Group’s MQB platform, albeit with updates. It will be the marque’s first to offer a plug-in hybrid option courtesy of the 1.4 litre TSI petrol-eletric powertrain from the Volkswagen Passat GTE, according to Autocar.

The facelifted Superb will also gain interior revisions similar to those applied to the Skoda Scala hatchback, where wireless mobile device integration for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay is likely to be standard fit across all variants. It has also been reported that Skoda’s own revised infotainment system will also enable over-the-air updates and new mobile app functions.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• See how beautiful Skoda cars are. Their designers work hard to produce excellent looking cars. In the 90s, Skoda was the joke of Europe. Everybody laughed at Skodas.

Now, they are highly respected cars and have top sales all over the world.

• Eugene Tan on May 09, 2019 at 3:20 pm

If only Proton was bought out by VW. By now, we would have cars like the Tiguan which shares the same platform as the Macan

Now, Proton kena rebadge Geely China cars pulak. I rather buy a German car which is loved by the world, instead of a China car that is rejected by 95% of the world.

Malu malu

• R j S B on May 09, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Ikr, instead of creating game changing cars using Geely’s platform, Proton rebadge their Boyue instead. Most likely that Geely bought Proton just to resell their cars instead of sharing their technologies or platform to Proton. If only VW bought proton like what you’ve said, I am sure Proton can create game changing cars using VW platforms. Today, Proton only can rebadge China cars…

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 09, 2019 at 5:27 pm

This superb is all new Perdana Turbo 278PS. If Proton was more humble and less syok sendiri back in 2010 , Volkswagen collaboration. People had made the right choice to Change , Malaysia superb mantap!

• If Proton was smart, today rakyat Malaysia can have Proton Tiguan. Tiguan is highly acclaimed as one of the best SUVs the world has made.

We will even have Proton Passat. A solid D class segment.

• Brian on May 09, 2019 at 4:15 pm

“Skoda… have top sales all over the world.” Now I know your the same bullsh8t king in PT.

• Avenger on May 10, 2019 at 10:26 am

When you copy paste too much without using brains, you make sloppy mistakes that commenters such as above(Brian) easily catch. Skoda is top seller in the world? LMAO!

• Aziz Mahmood on May 10, 2019 at 12:17 pm

You assume that there’s only 1 same guy. Actually there’s at least 3 people bro LOL

U know these people troll and troll but why u layan??

• Since u admit it urself, I have nothing more to add except: BUSTED! Hahahaha!

• nomorevag on May 09, 2019 at 10:10 pm

is the DSG reliable already?