New tint ruling not just to generate income – Loke

The transport ministry says the new window tint regulations have not been introduced solely to generate revenue for the government, The Star reports. According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the new guidelines – which includes the removal of the 30% minimum visible light transmission (VLT) cap for rear windscreen and rear windows – are also aimed at providing all motorists with the convenience of darker rear windows (and hence, cooler vehicles).

He said despite there being revenue involved, this was only for darkening a vehicle completely, and not every application will result in approval. Individuals can apply to reduce the VLT percentage of the front windscreen and front side windows below the regulated 70% and 50% level respectively for security and health reasons, but will have to pay a RM5,000 fee for a two-year permit if approval is granted.

“Anyone can apply, but that does not mean that those able to afford the RM5,000 charge will get their applications approved. We will assess what kind of risk the person has,” he said. Loke was responding to his predecessor Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s views that the RM5,000 charge seemed to be “only looking at the revenue side.”

Loke said a committee had been set up to approve these applications and this will ensure there was no abuse in power by the transport minister or the road transport department (JPJ) director-general.

“There will be a committee and processes (to follow) particularly, to filter out those with criminal records. I have surrendered my power to this committee,” he said. Loke had previously said that the government projects that the annual income from fees will be worth around RM6 million annually. Read all about the new guidelines here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Einstein on May 10, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Its all about the money,
    its all about the dum dum duh dee dum dum
    and i think we got it all wrong anyway
    We find stranges ways,
    of showing them how much we really care
    when in fact we dont seem to care at all
    -Meja (Its all about the Money)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • Last time illegal duit Kopi, is now duit Kami.
      its all about the duit Kopi dum dum duh dee dum dum

• Sack the Servants on May 13, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Tun said there are too many, so how?

• Sembang on May 10, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Salam YB Anthony, this osem move to regulate the new window tint within 1year in authority. Those detractors got nothing constructive to contribute… kondem & bashing, troll thats what they do best in frustration. Their own transport minister did nothing about dark tinting since the 1980s, more than 30 year ago. Sigh insaf laa hang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
    • Richard Santana on May 11, 2019 at 7:15 pm

YB Anthony it seems works very hard and cares for the nation. This is what you call an honest and caring Minister. Totally honest!

• Transport Ministry on May 10, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Before you bash, please know that those who don’t like to tint their cars can always leave it as it is, we are not forcing you to tint. We are only giving you an option, like the options given by past government to VVIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
    • PJ fella on May 11, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Is it my option if some ahole who decides to tint super pitch black then can’t see my car and unintentionally knocks into me? The voice of the majority should be heard, not the voice of selfish minorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Crony on May 10, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Double speak. When they are not talking about the money, their intention is ALL ABOUT THE MONEY. Didn’t they said cash is king? Indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Basher on May 13, 2019 at 11:35 am

Cash is definitely king. That’s why when the past cronies account got frozen, they can’t protest or do anything. Can only bash the gov online. Haha.

• Lol! Digging even deeper the hole he is entrenched. Why so defensive. Just admit you’re wrong and you will postpone implementing this new ruling until you have another round of consultation and all parties are agreeable. I beginning to suspect you don’t actually know what you’re talking about here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • John doe on May 10, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Useless minister don’t catch the road culprit but this stupid white to again policy , what’s does it helps? Nothing , and minister having such low standard of achievement shows quality of our ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Loppy on May 10, 2019 at 1:57 pm

So is this new rules green light? Or still under consideration?

• johnnas on May 10, 2019 at 1:59 pm

even the US wouldn’t allow dark window tints without special permits. not one single window on a vehicle. take note, anthony loke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Frozen on May 10, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Yeah sure bro. We believe ya (ROFL!)

• STOP IT with all the bash and petty comments! on May 10, 2019 at 2:17 pm

This is a good news to hear about the tinting percentage debate! Keep it up Loke! You can destroy all the bashers and haters…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • azrai on May 10, 2019 at 2:47 pm

This is one of the way MOT can stop the chance and room for corruption by the traffic police. Since the dark tint are legalised, no need to kowtim la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Dredd on May 11, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Corruption also can be kautim’ed so why not better legalise corruption? Solves all the problems, when problem is no longer defined a ‘problem’.

• thumbs up for yb anthony..one of proactive minister in new government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • I would give him the thumbs up… if he was the Finance Minister. As of currently, he is the Transport Minister.

His role is not to find money, it is to ensure the road safety for us. Change his portfolio if he is so passionate to find money. This job as Transport Minister is not suited for his ambitions.

• Now with police escort, Loke has forgotten how the general public drives on the road. He doesn’t think it is a problem for him but he forgotten it is a big problem for us regular road users. Thumbs down Loke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Aura89 on May 10, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Money, money, money
    Always sunny
    In the rich man’s world
    Aha aha
    All the things I could do
    If I had a little money
    It’s a rich man’s world
    (Money Money Money by ABBA)

Very apt for what its happening.

• superbird #43 on May 10, 2019 at 6:00 pm

darker window tint = aesthetics? security? privacy? for the thrill of it?
    i dont understand.
    why would someone out there somewhere want to apply dark window tint and then proceeded to roll down the windows in a less-than-ideal conditions while annoying other commuters in traffic because they are driving too slow?
    also, what if there’s a heavy downpour and the street light is not illuminated or no street light or wipers smearing water all over the windscreen?
    how are you going to communicate (signals) with other commuters if they cant see you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 10, 2019 at 6:53 pm

is it? i beg to differ. i see it otherwise.

• Browning on May 10, 2019 at 7:41 pm

If it’s not for the money, then for what? Very obvious that it’s not for safety, because you threw that out the pure black-tinted window.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 10, 2019 at 10:20 pm

I’m starting to lose faith & respect for this Mini-Stars.

He’s being typical ruling party Minister, cover line kiri kanan. Next if still cannot convince rakyat, just strong arm it and say just follow the laws we put up. Syabas, PH. Slowly becoming BN 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Calvin on May 10, 2019 at 10:50 pm

I’ve come to realise the most dangerous person on the road isn’t idiot road users, but this Minister who changes and bends rules based on his whims and fancies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Crony on May 11, 2019 at 9:14 am

Maybe. But it is definitely for us to generate income. he he he. More dark tints, more accidents, more towing and more repairs, good for our income. Thank you my minister. L luv you. he he he he he

• Isobel Chin on May 11, 2019 at 11:46 am

Excuses, excuses and even more excuses!

• Paulwee Chong on May 15, 2019 at 10:32 am

Whenever you buy a grey import such as an Alphard, the dealer will ask for a service fee to replace the tinted windows with clear ones, so that the car passes the Puspakom test. After the test , the dealer will put back the tinted windows. I suspect its just kopi money.

With the new rule, i hope this dirty practice is stopped. Imagine the savings for the entire Marketplace! the fee is about RM500 per transaction.