Opel/Vauxhall Corsa-e – 6th-gen hatch goes electric

Opel has revealed the sixth-generation Corsa, which will be wearing Vauxhall badges in the UK as before. The new Corsa will be available in electric form for the first time, and the car shown here is the Corsa-e.

Now under the PSA Group alongside Peugeot, Citroen and DS, Opel/Vauxhall’s B-segment hatchback is underpinned by the French group’s CMP platform, as used by the recently-launched Peugeot 208. The Corsa will share powertrain options with the Peugeot; likewise, the Corsa-e uses the same internals as the e-208 EV.

The Corsa-e will have a 50 kWh battery that can be fast-charged to 80% of its capacity in 30 minutes. Charging can be done via cable, wallbox or high-speed charging – and the battery is covered by an eight-year warranty. Battery levels can be checked with the “myOpel” app.

Motor power output is 135 hp (100 kW) and 260 Nm, and the range one gets from a full charge is 330 km according to the latest WLTP standards (provisional figure).

Unlike many EV press releases, this one claims “fun-to-drive” as one of the Corsa-e’s values. “The Corsa-e’s propulsion system combines emission-free driving with a maximum fun-to-drive factor. The highlights include responsiveness, agility and dynamic performance,” Opel says, pointing out that their EV’s 0-50 km/h sprint time of 2.8 seconds (0-100 km/h in 8.1s) is a match for sports cars.

The compact footprint of previous Corsas has been retained. The new one is 4.06 metres long and its roof line is described as “coupe-like”, being 48 mm lower than its predecessor without detriment to headroom. The driver sits 28 mm lower, and Opel touts a low centre of gravity that benefits handling and dynamics. There are three driving modes – Normal, Eco and Sport.

Tech highlights include IntelliLux LED Matrix lights, which aren’t common in this segment. The adaptive, glare-free lights contain eight LED elements controlled by a high-res front camera, which continuously adapts the light beam to traffic and surroundings.

In the advanced driver assistance systems department, the new front camera traffic sign recognition now detects additional information, such as LED signs. Radar supported adaptive speed control and a sensor-based flank-guard make their debut in the Corsa.

Order books for the all-new model will open in a few weeks, beginning with the Corsa-e, followed by the diesel and petrol versions. Check out the Corsa-e’s Peugeot sister here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Christian Wong on May 24, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Everybody is going eletrification now. Where is Proton Iriz EV? I am waiting now already 7 years for it.

Hybrid I waited 11 years….nothing come also. How long to wait for Proton Hybrid or Proton EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • EDITO R j on May 24, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Dont worry Christian, our second national company, Perodua, will release a game changing EV car soon. So we don’t have to wait for Proton to release their game over Iriz EV anymore

• Singarajah on May 24, 2019 at 6:52 pm

Even Vauxhall/Opel know the world is moving towards Hybrid and EV. Infact, all car manufacturers are now fully moving towards EV

By 2035, the whole of Europe will be fully EV. That is not long more. Just 15 years time.

Car companies that are sleeping, please wake up. Then when nobody buys your outdated products because the whole world is already EV, you blame the world. You say rakyat not patriotic.

How to export lagi? Whole world use EV and Hybrid….then you want to sell fossil fuel car.

• Zaman Khan on May 24, 2019 at 10:12 pm

Don’t worry, China will deliver what Proton was unable and incompetent to deliver

• Frozen on May 24, 2019 at 11:59 pm

No point for Proton to launch EV when the gomen is going to increase the electric charges for EV charging. Only make the rakyat suffer more that they are now.

• kakaka on May 26, 2019 at 10:34 am

Hahaha whatever names you use, pipu still know you as blatant resident basher.

P2 dun have EV Kah?

• typical malaysian on May 27, 2019 at 9:47 am

bla bla bla bla…you guys bark about P1 EV, P1 this and that, and when there is all those things you bark, you will bark further how “game over” it is. when will your kind be extinct? please do not reproduce.

• EDITOR on May 27, 2019 at 5:34 pm

He barked for P1 EV, then if it comes out he will bark why battery prices cost nearly as much the car. Let him continue to bark, it’s just all bark but no bite.

• Zaman Khan on May 24, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Tahun 90an, banyak kereta opel dan vauxhall di Malaysia.

Teksi teksi semua pakai Opel Kadett kerana Opel dan Vauxhall kereta murah

Tapi sekarang, kerana ringgit tak ada nilai lagi, kereta Opel sudah jadi kereta mewah di Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Frozen on May 25, 2019 at 12:00 am

Which multiverse of Malaysia did you live in when plenty of Opels were in the country back in the 90s?

• kebal on May 25, 2019 at 9:51 am

Hello authors, do you guys have any info if any of the EVs coming in Malaysia? Like Peugeot e208, Porsche Taycan, Audi E-Tron, VW ID.3, etc?

• just like how the subtle design of the car.

looks way better than the overdeisgn recently launched Yaris ^^