Renault Subscription Pilot – first car subscription service on trial in Malaysia, RM999/month for Captur

A car subscription service may seem like a faraway dream for us Malaysians, but it’s soon becoming a reality. Renault distributor TC Euro Cars is trialling just such a service, the Renault Subscription Pilot, which is currently being offered exclusively to Tan Chong Motor Holdings (TCMH), Warisan Tan Chong Holdings (WTCH) and APM employees.

Two models are available, the Captur and Koleos. The smaller Captur costs RM999 per month (less than the monthly instalment on a nine-year, 90% loan), and there’s also a commitment-free 30-day free trial from now until June 30. The Koleos, meanwhile, is priced at RM1,999 per month for the 2WD model and RM2,399 for the Signature 2WD. The company provides the option of a six-month, one-year or two-year tenure, although customers can terminate at any time.

It also touts a number of benefits such as zero downpayment (although a refundable security deposit of RM2,500 for the Captur and RM3,500 for the Koleos is applicable) and the inclusion of insurance and road tax in the monthly fee. Also covered are scheduled servicing costs (every 10,000 km), but wear-and-tear items like tyres, brakes and dampers are on the onus of the customer.

For the rest of us, the Captur is priced at RM107,980 (RM113,300 for the Captur+), while the Koleos is priced at RM173,840 for the 2WD and RM187,614 for the Signature 2WD. While the service is currently limited to employees of the aforementioned companies, it could be offered in a larger scale in the not-too-distant future, although TC Euro Cars remains mum on that prospect. Would you subscribe to such a service in Malaysia?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dredd on May 27, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Name blacklist, SAA, akpk, ptptn, ccris, ctos, senarai hitam, tiada dokumen, angkasa can lease?

• Logical Deduction on May 28, 2019 at 12:04 pm

It is leasing, not buying. Of course they can lease.

• Hati Hitam on May 28, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Dah blacklist lagi gatal mau apply. Bayar hutang yang ada dulu.

• Sgt Scoop on May 27, 2019 at 7:34 pm

I’m not sure this kind of thing will take off in Malaysia. Cars are so expensive and the only saving grace is the RV. Maybe Hari Raya and CNY will see a lot of people taking fancy cars for a month?

• pengayuhbasikal on May 28, 2019 at 10:54 am

Fully agreed sgt. To the masses, cars are just necessity item & liability. To the well to do, cars are status symbol. Every Raya my well to do sdara Balik kampung, they show their new status symbol, no issue

• panjang on May 27, 2019 at 7:58 pm

Customer only save on the downpayment and not need to worry abt resale value. The rest is slightly more than owning the car ourself.

Overall its a lose-lose situation for the customer as low milegae user had paid for schedule maintenance which he might never reach while high mileage user will make Tan Chong sc in profit and the user have to spend more on parts not covered by the package.Since its a Renault, that will be significant.

• Everest on May 28, 2019 at 10:56 am

Do you even know how to read? Only wear and tear like brake or tyres is not cover…..So what kind of schedule maintenance are you talking about?

• Wilson on May 27, 2019 at 8:15 pm

YES!!

• Sengkek on May 27, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Hope merc n bmw will start offering soon so everyone can show off during festive seasons then terminate after 1-2 months coz flat broke

• zaimig on May 27, 2019 at 8:20 pm

very innovative solution for conti car fans and others to explore.

• This kind of service is long due.

• toyotafan on May 27, 2019 at 10:07 pm

The word is “lease”.

It is about time.

Who is the fintech co. going to do a one stop lease portal?

Times to bring the lease price down to earth.

• For such cars with seriously ridiculously low RV, subscription service is the better option until the subscribers realised they still don’t own the car. Meh!

• Black Sheep on May 27, 2019 at 11:13 pm

Well I’d subscribe, given insurance protection came attached and ‘unsubscribe anytime’ policy. I am fond of the idea of not being bound to a loan every month.

• ccy7218 on May 27, 2019 at 11:28 pm

Hi, I don’t understand how this works? Pay 999 for 2 year then after that how? Car belong to who? What’s the benefit? Or is it just another gimmick by TC???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • kereta_lembu on May 28, 2019 at 10:28 am

If I’m not mistaken, its just a loan plan where you pay to use the car for a duration you wish to have it. After that you return the car if you no longer wish to continue. Its just like a car rental. If you buy a new car, you need to fork out a sum and you still might need to pay as much as 999 per month or more. At the end of the day, after maybe 7-9 years you own the car but its probably worth peanuts by then

• Car never belong to you. Like renting a house.

• shogun on May 28, 2019 at 11:14 am

It’s like renting a house la. You pay to use the car. Ownership still on TC. Your monthly subscription is for car usage and maintenance. Once the lease term is over, you return it and can choose other can then.

• Logical Deduction on May 28, 2019 at 12:06 pm

The car still belongs to Tan Chong. It’s purely a lease, not lease to buy arrangement.

• Chong Yew on May 27, 2019 at 11:44 pm

better than having the cars rot in the stockyard.

• kerata on May 28, 2019 at 5:10 am

I choose myvi instead because it can tailgate any car including felali

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • bohpi on May 28, 2019 at 7:03 am

I love this kind of service. You have more option for cars, and don’t have to worry about 7-9 years of commitment. it’s like renting a house, you can move to a new one whenever you want. Property developer should start this kind of service as well.

• John Doe on May 28, 2019 at 7:52 am

Good options! This maybe some game changer strategy and I think it’s good for the market

• Add A Comment on May 28, 2019 at 8:37 am

When are they going to offer subscription for Megane? I will be the first to signup for it!

• LoWan on May 28, 2019 at 9:52 am

Car subscription already running in US and other countries. Hope Malaysia can starts soon for general public. I would like to subscript for new French car.

• Richard Ang on May 28, 2019 at 10:32 am

I think here will work because Malaysian are more like biar bergaya even poket kosong.

• “..wear-and-tear items like tyres, brakes and dampers are on the onus of the customer”

When they’re about to be replaced, terminate the subscription. Start subscribe another car, possible?

• Not Toyota Fan on May 28, 2019 at 11:33 am

Leasing program won’t be successful here. Cars are too expensive here. In the end, you’re just long term renting with nothin to show at the end.

Don’t think this leasing program will break even for Tan Chong.

• Please explain properly how the scheme works before asking people if they will be interested.

• matt farrel on May 28, 2019 at 12:31 pm

has TC Renault forgotten that the Captur is part of GoCar’s fleet?

• Subscription sounds off. Can i lease a Tesla now pretty please?