Litter from vehicle and face RM300 fine, police reminds

We didn’t think drive-by littering would still be an issue in this day and age, but clearly it is. So much so that the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) has decided to remind the public that ejecting rubbish out of a moving vehicle is, in fact, a crime.

The rozzers went onto Facebook on Sunday, saying that offenders are punishable under Rule 52 of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 (LN 166/1959) with a maximum fine of RM300.

Rubbish on the road is not only bad for the environment, PDRM continued, but it can also endanger other road users by increasing the risk of an accident. It told motorists to gather their trash in their vehicle before depositing it into the provided bins when they make their rest stops.

Folks, it goes without saying that littering from your car is a deeply irresponsible thing to do, and we highly discourage you from doing so. There are bins at every petrol station for a reason, and that is to keep rubbish disposed in the right place – not on the roads, where it is unsightly, unsanitary and dangerous. Whatever it is you need to dump, it can wait.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• digidigi on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:18 am

should impose higher penalty or jail etc, this is very uneducated behaviour

• This is good. But how do we help? Just putting a PSA doesn’t work. So far, nothing mentioned in their FB post over how we can assist.

• Robyn Bankes on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:38 am

Completely agree with you, Jonathan.

Unfortunately, a percentage of our population still retain a peasant mentality and either have no concept of what it means to live in a modern world, or they simply don’t care.

Disappointing but true.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:04 pm

In Malaysia, nothing is wrong or illegal unless/until getting caught. Reminds me of the Majlis Perbandaran/Daerah signage saying “Dilarang membuang sampah, etc. Denda RM300.00…” Ironically, there would be a heap of rubbish next to these signs.

Welcome, to Malaysia. A true land of Semua Boleh.

• Concerned Passenger on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:20 pm

But Taxi’s of Malaysia full of rubbish inside and out. When police you go to dispose this rubbish?

• Aniki Tan on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:29 pm

including cigarette butt

• Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:43 pm

This is especially the abang abangs who have so many babies. They like to throw pampers out of their cars or whilst waiting at the traffic lights.

Disgusting and disgraceful

• Good move PDRM. Please provide Whatsapp number to report litterers that I catch on my dashcam.

• The authorities should come visit Rawang/Sg Buaya/Bukit Sentosa/Bukit Beruntung. Many people throw rubbish out while driving and act like it’s normal. It’s almost like a culture there.

• Richard Ang on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:07 pm

Finally it been ages

• eric_ocy (Member) on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:20 pm

Wait at SG-JB checkpoint there, confirm 3/10 Sinkie cars throw rubbish out of their cars, even ricebox with leftover rice with it, saw it happen like never ending times already.

• albag on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:05 pm

if captured on dashcam, where can we send the video to as proof?

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Malaysian oredi biasa buang babies……So, buang sampah is their second nature lor….hihihihi

Filthy habits never ever die, unless offender die.

• Edwardo on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:50 pm

I did see a cop litter from patrol car… question is, who is going to saman him? (lucky for him that I don’t have dashcam onboard my car)

• Its not just the roads. Our car park full of liter left by previous car.

• Jezza on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:26 pm

My question is, how will PDRM enforce just rules? I have seen authorities ignore helmet-less motorcyclists and even traffic offenders right in front of them. Can citizens also be involved by taking photographic evidence of offenders?

Slightly off topic but in places like the US, there are even off-duty police personnel in private vehicles chasing/stopping offenders. Best of all, those turning without switching on their signal lights get pulled over too. Would love to see that here on our roads.

#PDRMKaya

• Look Around Malaysia Rubbish is every where .

It proof that Enforcement them self Don’t even bother .

If Government are care – COMPLAINT FACE BOOK OR WHATAP CONTACT SHOULD BE SEEN EVERY WHERE.

AND ENFORCEMENT OFFICER MENTALITY IS THE MAJOR PROBLEM.
    ( IMPLEMENT by Not Emphasized )

• I 100% agreed with you.

Complaint number should be on social media like facebook or whataspp.

Irresponsible people just simply throwing things out of their transportation( vehicle, motorbike, bus, or even pedestrian..