Mimco Alif – production version of electric SUV, Malaysia’s New National Car Project hopeful imagined

Here’s one of the proposals for Malaysia’s New National Car Project (NNCP) – the Mimco Alif by Alam Perkasa Consortium (APC). Alif’s the model name and Mimco stands for the Malaysian International Motor Company.

The Mimco Alif was conceptualised as a mid-sized electric SUV, and was reportedly penned by famous designer Giorgetto Giugiaro and his son, Fabrizio (who are said to be part of the consortium).

These renderings are based on APC’s sketches released by The Edge last month, and the goal was to turn sketch into production reality. That would mean making the proportions realistic (sketches are always extremely squat and wide), as well as reducing the size of the wheels and “muscles” on the body.

As you can see here, the details that make the Mimco Alif unique have been retained – see the beltline that melds into the windowline, the front grille ‘M’ light signature (grille is blocked off, EV-style) and the full-width LED rear lights – but details such as the headlamps have been “productionised” here. The Mimco logo is a blue roundel with a stylised head of a bird, finished in gold.

What do you think of our take on the production Mimco Alif? We think that it’s a handsome, if rather conventional-looking crossover. An SUV from a start-up with design help from a famous name isn’t new, even in these parts – let’s compare the Mimco Alif with Vietnam’s Vinfast LUX SA2.0, which is based on the F15 BMW X5 but re-sculptured by Pininfarina. Which do you fancy?

There are ambitious plans for this car, which is set to debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March 2020 before going on sale in 2022. The consortium plans to sell 60,000 units of the Alif per year, with about 80% being exported to places like Europe and the USA. Against an initial private investment of RM5 billion, APC aims to rake in an annual turnover of RM14 billion. Yup, that’s what they said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Celup King on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:51 am

Hahahahaha! What’s with the BMW frontage and X50 rear.

• Pocari sweat on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:59 am

I hope Proton can realize their mistakes and release their game changing Iriz EV soon. If the third national carmaker unveil their EV SUV, then it will game the Iriz EV over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Aug 06, 2019 at 6:57 pm

Where did delusional ministers get their delusions from? From their delusional supporters such as one above.

• Looking for jobs on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Initial PRIVATE investment RM5 Billion, annual turnover of RM14b. Be afraid Tesla, be very afraid

• Kassim B Khairul on Aug 06, 2019 at 6:38 pm

Elon just cannot compete with RM1.6 Trillion. Yup, that’s what they said. Trillions.

• “The consortium plans to sell 60,000 units of the Alif per year, with about 80% being exported to places like Europe and the USA. ”
    Very funny. The Europeans will buy cars from an unknown company? Until now, they even don’t buy cars from China?

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Some Arab Prince “invest” 5 Billion, plans to sell 60,000 per year and turn over 14 Billion??? That’s some good shit they’re smokin’

Just don’t use Rakyat money on this scam.

• Lets See on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:51 pm

Looks like a Vinfast rejected design. Did they actually spent Rm20million on this artwork? Flabbergasted!

• Ajibkor on Aug 06, 2019 at 1:04 pm

2 yrs down the road,they will ask for r n d grants,costing billions of rm,..to pay cronies,like what poor Protong did to tax ringgit.

• Itu saja laa... on Aug 06, 2019 at 1:21 pm

With this realistic rendering, its become really nothing to shout about,. U will see many similar design models on China road now, being with engine or EV

• Nigel Atticus Cheong on Aug 06, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Proton took a step in the right direction by abandoning its erstwhile practice of christening models with local names that not only sounded vernacular, but served to limit its marketability. X70 is so sure-footed that such generic nomenclature would not be lost in a crowd, but is transcendent, instantly recognisable and understood. Therefore, the first salvo of this new project should follow suit instead of taking a wrong route down memory lane. These said, I love, am fluent in and proud of Bahasa Malaysia.

• Shukor bin Azman on Aug 06, 2019 at 2:26 pm

Well done Malaysia. Now without corruption, the country is heading towards greater heights. We are even aiming towards flying cars which is something the Japanese are heavily talking about.

I am proud to be a Malaysian now. We are innovators and will be leaders in the aviation and car industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Copy Paste on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Copy paste: TunM’s face says it all: “Is this what I have spent RM20million on? WTF is that?! A remote drone toy? How am I gonna get kickbacks on this thing?!”

• Nigel Felix Cheong on Aug 06, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Warning : Responses to my comment must be objective and not tinged with politics and religion.

Proton took a step in the right direction by abandoning their erstwhile practice of christening car models with local names that not only sound vernacular, but limit their marketability overseas to a certain degree. In contrast, X70 is so sure-footed that despite such generic nomenclature, it still stood out and commanded attention, which subsequently translated into commendable and encouraging sales performance. Why? Simply because it’s transcendent, instantly recognizable and understood. Therefore, the first salvo from this new automotive project should ideally follow suit, instead of taking an unnecessary and a wrong trip down memory lane, which is neither nostalgic nor functional. These said, I am fluent and a lover of our Bahasa Kebangsaan.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 06, 2019 at 3:03 pm

That’s quite good looking. But as usual with concepts, the real thing will be watered down, and won’t be as flashy. Though still hope they retain most of the design as-is.

• Geely already has 400km driving range electric car, why we need this?

• Kassim B Khairul on Aug 06, 2019 at 6:36 pm

Ini perancang,
    Saja sembang kencang,
    Nak kereta letrik kencang,
    Jangan tambah kereta juga terbang,
    Nanti gajah letrik pun boleh terbang.

• Fariz on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:29 pm

Can’t wait !

• seeing how well x70 being sold, they decide first model is a suv too?
    that will be a fail project if they think like that

and who owns Alam Perkasa? hmmm….

• Leafable on Aug 06, 2019 at 10:31 pm

When BMW i3 and Kia Sportage have sex and give birth.

• Oh please ….. not another car company again. Or is this the only way the PM knows how to create jobs for one race only.

• Taxes for foreign brand hybrids and electric cars i assume will be increased to protect local manufacturer i presume.

• If
    1.reliability is good
    2 maintainane is affordable
    3. Company is well managed.
    4.a better name perhaps
    I believe it will be a success.

• Fendi on Sep 09, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Come on , you can do better than this with the naming..mimco? Alif? .. here are my suggestions for the name.. Tron, Electro,