Noise Radar camera being tested in Paris, France

Vehicles with loud exhausts are irritating outside of a racetrack and a suburb in Paris, France is taking steps to combat the problem with the installation of “Noise Radar” cameras. Villeneuve-le-Roi, a town near Paris Orly airport, is installing these devices in order to curb noise pollution, especially from motorcycles or cars with modified or loud exhausts.

The noise radar will be brought online once a law is passed legalising use said Villeneuve-le-Roi mayor Didier Gonzales in a Reuters report. Expected to be passed later this year, the law will allow local authorities – the equivalent to the Malaysian Majlis Perbandaran (town council) – to record and fine offenders.

Developed by noise pollution agency Bruitparif where Gonzales is the head, the system, which is linked to police CCTV cameras, comprises of four microphones taking sound levels every tenth of a second, allowing it to triangulate the location of the sound. The acoustic wake of the sound is displayed as a series of colored dots behind a moving source of loud noise, such as a motorcycle with a modified exhaust, with a photo of the offending vehicle being taken with the police camera.

While the system is currently in trial mode and no fines have as yet been issued, the Paris suburb is in contact with the French transport ministry to immediately do so once the law is passed. “We have nothing against Ferraris or Harley Davidsons, but their owners sometimes like to demonstrate their vehicles’ power and the noise really troubles residents,” said Villeneuve-le-Roi official Remy Jourdan.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• les bleu on Sep 05, 2019 at 1:32 pm

Bunyik mcm guruh , tp larik mcm lembu.. rempett

• Azlan Yusoff on Sep 05, 2019 at 4:10 pm

If this comes to Malaysia, so many abang2 rempit will be caught.

I think there will be millions of saman issued.

• redpilled on Sep 05, 2019 at 7:46 pm

And also the Ah Bengs/ Ah Lians with their fart can equipped, made for ASEAN B segment saloons and hatchbacks…
        Rempit is a state of mind. Anyone peacocking around, strutting their ride (two or four wheelers) as if the road is their mak bapak punya is a mat rempit and I’ve seen many mat rempits on Harleys, R1s, Scoobies, Evos, GTRs, and even Ferraris.

• James on Sep 05, 2019 at 11:10 pm

At least those in cars wont insist that they are always right. Plus those rempit on bikes will call their gang to destroy your car or even hurt your family if you dont comply with them

• I’ve seen plenty of road ragers coming out from their cars with steering locks & pipes to know that it goes both ways, buddy.

• Ghani Muzaffar on Sep 05, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Rempit make so much of noise. Better they go work as Grab Food or Gojek.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 05, 2019 at 1:41 pm

We need a lot of these to pin down the rempits.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 05, 2019 at 2:20 pm

They should try living in KL. Our rempit lagi terrer. You Frenchie complaint about Harleys & Fellali but we alls here got rempits.

• Lolwhut? on Sep 05, 2019 at 4:06 pm

French people are way too triggered. Even chickens crowing during dawn can get neighbours fighting each other.

• Heng Lee on Sep 05, 2019 at 7:45 pm

The rooster won in a french court today btw.

• Jeremy on Sep 05, 2019 at 9:51 pm

Funny how a chicken can be charged in court. I guess in French court, it is a jungle out there (lol!)

• Add A Comment on Sep 06, 2019 at 9:12 am

Please put 10 of these along the road in front of my house…stupid rempit vrooooommmmmm every night.