Petronas launches Syntium 7000 Hybrid 0W-20 lubricant – Petronas’ first hybrid-specific engine oil

Petronas has introduced its revised range of Syntium with CoolTech lubricants for 2019, here formulated to better perform against excessive engine heat for improved performance and efficiency, says Petronas. CoolTech was introduced to the Syntium range of lubricants in 2015, and the range has been expanded to feature in several grades of the brand’s engine oil.

The revised lubricants range includes the Petronas Syntium 7000 Hybrid 0W-20 with CoolTech – the firm’s first lubricant for hybrid engines, Petronas Syntium 7000 0W-16 with CoolTech, Petronas Syntium 7000 0W-20 with CoolTech, Petronas Syntium 3000 5W-30 and Petronas 800 5W-30 CoolTech; these lubricants meet the latest API SN Plus specifications and have been made to protect against low-speed pre-ignition, particularly in turbocharged, direct-injection petrol engines, says Petronas.

“The new range stands to capture the growing market as we tap into a previously underserved, cutting-edge segment. Coupled with our experience in Formula One, we have developed a formulation that focuses on optimising engine performance for both gas fuel and hybrid vehicles,” said Petronas Dagangan Berhad MD and CEO Datuk Sri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamad Tahir.

“In this regard, the CoolTech technology has been developed to help cool critical engine parts so that the machine can run efficiently, even when under pressure,” he added.

The new range of Syntium lubricants were showcased with Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsports F1 driver and five-time Drivers’ Championship title winner Lewis Hamilton as well as Petronas Lubricants International chief technical officer Eric Holthusen.

“Petronas Syntium plays such a crucial role in the cooling of our engines and supports us in achieving results on track. The teamwork between our technical organisations has been outstanding, and it’s reassuring to know that we have the best and most reliable fluids for our engines. It makes it easier to stay focused on our goal and achieve the best result for the team on the race track,” said Hamilton.

Prices for the latest Syntium with CoolTech range of lubricants are RM295 (4L) and RM80 (1L) for the Syntium 7000 Hybrid 0W-20 with CoolTech, RM315 (4L) and RM95 (1L) for Syntium 7000 0W-16 with CoolTech, RM185 (4L) and RM60 (1L) for Syntium 7000 0W-20 with CoolTech, RM180 (4L) and RM55 (1L) for Syntium 3000 5W-30 and RM144 (4L) and RM40 (1L) for Petronas 800 5W-30 with CoolTech.

Further afield, Petronas continues to expand across Malaysia with more than 1,000 retail outlets as well as through 3,000 independent workshops.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hayenadeblue on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:08 am

….while some Malaysians think that the 0WXX engine oil is for sub-zero Celsius degree countries.

• Azman Malek on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:44 am

Nobody buys Petronas oils at all. Why buy so pricey when I can get fully original Shell Fully synthetic from Tesco for a mere RM120?

Petronas Oils only live because Government vehicles from Spanco gives support to it. Otherwise, sales will be ZERO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • Too much free time on Sep 25, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Amazing factual figure…Bravo!
      Thank you, you should be appointed as lifetime Petronas advisor. Otherwise Petronas will become zero.

• Wow. Didn’t know that Government use Mercedes CLA 45 AMG.

Bodoh sombong.

• Razzi on Sep 26, 2019 at 12:58 am

What do you mean, dude?

Mercedes-Benz cars assemble in Malaysia using Petronas lubricant as their OEM lubricant don’t you know it?

Petronas lubricants are sold worlwide.

Philippines, China, European market (distributed via Selenia Italian company and etc), Asia pacific region and etc.

All good motor oils are expensive as their additive won’t come cheap. You can see how much is the price for Liqui Moly, Motul, Mobil 1 and other good quality motor oil on market too.
      These motor oils can go for high mileage up to 30,000km or even 40,000km.

The reason you can get cheap Shell motor oil is just because Tesco buy the motor oil for sell in Tesco in bulk. You can read it here

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/leisure/2019/04/02/why-is-the-shell-lubricant-in-tesco-so-much-cheaper/

I also get this motor oil (Shell and Castrol) from Tesco (when they have big discount and offer) but not stupid enough to make blind statement for Petronas lubricant or any other lubricants from other company which is not sell by Tesco like an idiot without study and know the fact first.

• Shahrul on Sep 29, 2019 at 9:15 am

Do try out Petronas lubricants and compare it with Shell, honestly my ford focus running on shell (because Ford dealer uses them and I can’t bring my own lubricants) makes it sounds like a lorry compared to any of my previous cars running on Syntium 5k/7k

• 25yrsOld on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:21 am

excellent syntium 7000 0W-20 with API SN+ rating.

0W-20 is the most common engine oil required for our modern cars now. Common among new Perodua to Mercedes Benz.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 25, 2019 at 1:35 pm

Typical dumb Malaysian.

The damn lubricant has been in the Mercedes F1 car, powering them to back to back championships for 5 straight years, and with a 6th coming soon – and still idiots want to badmouth Petronas.

Why do Paultan moderators approve such nonsense comments I’ll never know…

• Well its for us to laugh at their lies. Too bad theres no disclaimer from PT they r allowing it just for the lulz. Those who dunno might take their fake news as the truth. Which is why its up to us to reveal their lies here

• redpilled on Sep 25, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Free speech, it’s to allow idiots to reveal themselves when they spew their ‘facts’.

• Aura89 on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:21 am

Like one above said, that free speech really should come with a disclaimer to warn people they’d about to read a wall of lies.

• All my cars use petronas lubricants.