Gov’t to take gradual approach on enforcing e-hailing regulations, some leniency to be given – Loke

The transport ministry says that while it will fully enforce the new e-hailing regulations that came into force on October 12, it has promised to be more lenient towards e-hailing drivers who are in the final processes of obtaining their mandatory public service vehicle (PSV) licence, reports Bernama.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, enforcement will be done gradually and e-hailing drivers need not worry that the authorities will mount a big operation against them. “We have started enforcement and like I said a few days ago, we are taking a gradual approach, we will still give them room long as they have registered for their PSV examination or are taking steps to fulfill the requirements,” he explained.

“We have no problems giving them a leeway because there might be some processes that will take time to complete. So, it does not mean that the authorities will conduct checks from car to car and detain the drivers,” he said.

Last week, road transport department (JPJ) enforcement director Khairul Anwar Bachok said that the department will take firm action against e-hailing drivers who did not meet the stipulated rules and regulations once enforcement had begun.

Under the new regulations, vehicles used for e-hailing services will require a PSV licence for the driver, passenger insurance, an e-hailing sticker and e-hailing vehicle permit (eVP) from the land public transport agency (APAD).

Loke has since clarified that it will not be compulsory for e-hailing drivers to have a physical copy of the eVP. He said that the eVP number will be listed in the MySIKAP system, and drivers need not worry if they do not have the print-outs with them during the enforcement period.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ongtk on Oct 14, 2019 at 10:15 am

Minister says this, but JPJ says that. What gives? I can only hope that when enforcement begins, ordinary road users like us would not have to endure bad jams.

• History Bender on Oct 14, 2019 at 11:59 am

Minister and his downline not speaking with each other Minister say A, JPJ says B. When JPJ follows A, Minister decided to go for B. This is PH governance for you.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:53 pm

Many high rank civil service climb the ladder under Be-End rule. Some got up there not by what they can do but by who (politicians) they knew and kipas.

Now opposition become ruling gomen. You think these high rank will be happy? You think where their true loyalty lies? Yes, they will do their job but strictly per standing order. You think they will buta buta ikut cakap PH Menteri like they did with Be-End Menteri?

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 14, 2019 at 10:52 am

Pity our genuine Grab drivers. All working so hard. Gave Malaysians a cheaper alternative to the dirty cheating teksi.

Then all the abang abang teksi drivers make noise and protest, now got shortage of Grab drivers and prices have shot up.

Don’t know why these abang2 teksi drivers are so lazy and always relying on bantuan kerajaan. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab

• Ghani on Oct 14, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Pity our grab drivers kena buli oleh mentri2 mentah PH. Why did we elect them? WHY???

• Rosman on Oct 14, 2019 at 11:26 am

Kejap2 mau enforce, kejap mau lenient. Ini lalang kjaan ke? Uturn bertalu2 tak henti.

• Grab Partime retiree on Oct 14, 2019 at 11:29 am

Tenkiu Gomen prihatin.. tenkiu yb Loke byk bantu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Smoke Gets In My Eyes on Oct 14, 2019 at 1:42 pm

“yb Loke byk hantu.” Corrected that for you.

• lalazhai on Oct 14, 2019 at 1:53 pm

Loke definitely dropped the ball with the handling of the e-hailing enforcement.

that said, once the enforcement is at 100%, taxi drivers no longer have any excuses if they still lose out to e-hailing drivers.

• Ben Yap on Oct 14, 2019 at 1:57 pm

now hard to get drivers as many aren’t driving. such an inconvenient!

• I think the government misjudged it. Most of the drivers are part-timers where they will drive as and when they like and for some quick cash. For part-timers like us, we are not making tonnes of money driving for Grab, Mycar etc. We are earning just enough to survive through the month. Most of them would not go through the hassles to fulfil those requirements, which I believe should only be for full-timers. But then again if one can fulfil all those, better for them to drive a taxi. For me, I do pickups on my way to and fro office, just enough to cover for petrol and meals. Now, this petty thing is being chocked by the government. What a shame.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Gomen dulu plotek plotek strongly.

Gomen sekarang pun same same. Plotek maximum teksi gangster.