QUICK LOOK: 2019 Subaru Levorg Prototype at Tokyo

Of the many cars that were on display at the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show, the Subaru Levorg Prototype has got to be one of the best-looking models of the lot. Equipped with an aggressive fascia, sleek profile with squared wheel arches and huge dual-tone wheels, as well as stylish C-shaped LED tail lights, the Levorg looks as though it’s ready for production.

Well, sort of. Subaru says the Levorg is pretty much close to production ready, and it’s expected to be launched in Japan in the second half of 2020. The second-generation wagon features the “Dynamic x Solid” design philosophy, and is powered by a new 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder boxer engine.

The lean-burning engine is expected to offer better fuel economy compared to the existing 1.6 litre turbocharged engine, and more power than what the smaller engine offers (170 PS/250 Nm). As per Subaru DNA, expect it to be mated to a Lineartronic CVT and Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system.

New to this Levorg is Subaru’s next-generation EyeSight system, which features a new stereo camera setup with a wider viewing angle, and it’s supported by four radar sensors on the front and rear bumpers. The EyeSight’s pre-collision braking function has also been expanded to cover crossing and turning at an intersection with low visibility.

Lastly, it’s the first Subaru in Japan to get the Advanced Automatic Collision Notification, which is essentially an SOS service that automatically sends an alert to an operator and emergency services when a big impact from a collision is detected. Who’s a fan of the way this Levorg looks?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 31, 2019 at 1:55 pm

I wish we get more Subaru cars in Malaysia. I cancelled my order to buy a Proton X70 because I thought, might as well buy a Forester for RM130k.

Slightly more but true Japanese quality. Some more Subaru had won thousands of global awards for quality. China car got ZERO awards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Frozen on Oct 31, 2019 at 6:19 pm

You only ride a bicycle. You can’t even afford a motorcycle yet you say you ordered a Forester? Freezing story here. Brrr!

• 300hp? on Nov 01, 2019 at 2:32 am

Did i hear him right, current car has 300bhp? need to check your facts bro.