NAP 2020 to be launched early next year – Leiking

The launch of the revised National Automotive Policy (NAP) has been shifted again, with the policy now set to be announced early next year. This was revealed by international trade and industry minister Datuk Darell Leiking today at the Proton X70 CKD rollout event in Tanjung Malim.

He said that there were still things to be incorporated into NAP 2020, which will cover the entire automotive eco-system. This includes new and emerging tech, reiterating what he said in October. “Works are in progress because we want to add a lot of things. As you can see in the coming days, if not weeks and months, something new will come of it and we have to be adaptive to it as well,” he had said back then.

The announcement of the reworked NAP has been in review since last July, and was previously due to be announced in the second quarter of this year. At last juncture, the policy was reportedly set to be presented to Cabinet for approval in November.

In September, Malaysia Automotive, Robotic and IoT Institute (MARii) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari revealed that the new NAP will be implemented in three phases until 2030, with the first phase ensuring the continuity of NAP 2014 and introducing necessary elements to prepare the country to become a producer of EEVs (energy efficient vehicles).

The new policy is expected to see a shift in focus from energy-efficient vehicles (EEV) to the ‘next-generation vehicle’ (NxGV), with the first phase of this focusing on battery production, management systems and the establishment of EV charging stations, while the following stages will focus on other technological advancements such as 5G connectivity.

The criteria for a national car will also be defined in the policy. As previously reported, six criteria make up the requirements: it has to be majority-owned by Malaysians, receive its funding from the public sector, be comprised of 75% local supply chain, have 98% local workers, have research and development conducted in Malaysia as well as to take steps to align with the definition of next-generation vehicles.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• M50B25 on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:37 pm

Useless minister. Ding dong ding dong, car makers all tapao and go to Thailand, Indon and Vietnam. Car buyers like me fed up of waiting, I have decided to fix my old E36, Waja and Kelisa instead rather than buying new cars. I will still support the Malaysian auto industry with new spare parts, mechanics, tyres and such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • Motohead on Dec 13, 2019 at 10:44 pm

Madani achieved alot for the industry past 15yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • Ibrahim Hassan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:06 am

15 years nothing done just to protect the lazy AP holders. Our whole nation like to protek and help lazy people to try to come up but they dont eventually

• NAP - Natives Always Preference on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:35 am

Hope we can abolish AP once and for all. How long must 30 million people support 30 individuals?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Adib Ismail on Dec 15, 2019 at 2:27 pm

Every AP holder make billions per year. And we Malaysians suffer.

This like petrol station lesen. Give to clowns only, we the rakyat never see the money.

• Adib Ismail on Dec 15, 2019 at 2:31 pm

NAP is the ONLY reason why all companies want to open up in Thailand and not Malaysia anymore.

Mat Salleh and Jepunis are fed up with all the red tape and the fact they must give up 40% of their company away for FREE

• Wait for it…..wait for it… lei king king king! I present you our NAP2020 national flying car… I mean, drone… that is made in China!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Ghani on Dec 14, 2019 at 9:57 am

Another troll bigot … nothing constructive as usual. Like our previous PM and his gang …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • Brian on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:22 am

What is bigot about his comment? The flying joke car turned out to be not a car nor is it national when you ca buy them from China.

• Ibrahim Hassan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:07 am

‘we must open AP to everyone in Malaysia and not just a selected few who cannot be helped anymore.

Given so much help, they still sell their AP to others.

• Brian on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:23 am

Why still use AP? To make money for all cronies and not just some cronies? Is that how Pakatan operates?

• Adib Ismail on Dec 15, 2019 at 2:30 pm

Mat Salleh company and Japanese company refuse to give 30% of their company FREE away. Also, they refuse to give the Chairmanship to some ex Government dude who does not go to work at all and only comes once a year for AGM.

That also he falls asleep during Q & A.

Buta buta get few million remuneration as Chairman

• Copy Paste on Dec 16, 2019 at 10:17 am

Another troll bigot … nothing constructive as usual. Like our current PM and his gang …

• Jeremy on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:31 am

Clueless ministers filled our New Government cabinet, this another one of them together with LGE & Loke. They only know how to talk and criticize and whack and demo and makan, but when comes to do their real jobs they don’t know how to perform. This is Pakatan.

• Radzuan on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:31 am

Dont blame the Minister when your own people want bantuan kerajaan. The whole NAP is about the AP and helping your own people.

Grassroots from the kampung still demanding preferences and bantuan. So, Minister no choice but have to gip

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Amran on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:00 pm

The people never asked for NAP or AP or bantuan unless they truly needed help. Isn’t that the point of having a government? If the Pakatan Government isn’t going to take care of the people in need, perhaps its high time they hand the government role over to those who are committed to helping the people and not just themselves.

• Adib Ismail on Dec 15, 2019 at 2:33 pm

All investments went to Thailand the past 30 years. Don’t blame the current Minister. Blame the policies the previous Government put in place.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 16, 2019 at 12:38 pm

Out of 30 years, 22 years in previous Government lead by who?

• TopsyBoxyTurvy on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:57 pm

Abolished car taxes and excise duties…
    Final hurrah, before fossil fuel running out in 2030.

• NAP - Natives Always Preference on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:33 am

This is the true meaning of NAP. We must give this up so that we can compete with Thailand again

• NAP = No Action Policy. Same garbage every year with different naming scheme. Look at how Thailand’s automotive industry has progressed and left us behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Ollie on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:14 pm

If we only the rakyat could get a refund on all the billions spent on these plans plus proton that are now worth less than cow manure. Literally, as cow manure can be sold as fertiliser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Budiman Sariman on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:31 am

maybe you cannot count. Proton has taken RM20 billion in bailout plus another RM20 billion in losses. Getting RM1.2 bil is no big deal

• Spin Too Much on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:02 pm

And Proton has returned back RM30 Billion in profits. So what are you pointing at?

• NAP - Natives Always Preference on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:34 am

It is estimated that we have overspent RM300 billion just to support Proton.

If Proton was not born, we could still buy Toyotas and Hondas cheaply

• Haidi on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Proton failure was all due to the majority carmaking prowess and hardwork since 1985 , or very much lacking… we just cant make it.

Koreans and China , now part of carmaking powernations Germany and Japan… what else can we give to the majority youths ? And be globally competitive and great engineering?

• Geely is just using Proton to enter SEA and Australia market. It has nothing to do with saving or investing in Proton in the first place. It’s a tiny price to pay, ridiculously low price for a car company.

• Amran on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Geely could enter freely our market as what Cherry and Haval did. Nobody stopped them? They just don’t have the brand presence of Proton nor the network which doomed those 2 brands.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 14, 2019 at 6:56 am

Heh too slow mate. Global vehicle sales dropping for 2020 as manufacturers move towards the next big thing which is autonomous drive and vehicle lease. Flying cars? Still a fairytale I’m afraid especially in Malaysia where the police can’t even enforce rear set belt usage. How they gonna enforce the laws in the sky? Waiting for the day a flying car rempits and crashes into an airplane taking off in KLIA. We should have invested in AI and 5G a long time ago when advanced nations were doing so.

• advanced nations on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:57 am

Invested in AI and 5G , money not a issue. We saw Rm55 Billion squandered in 1Mdb … Big question is human capital. Do the local grads and Local uni got the brains to do AI and 5G ??

Bro.. you let us know. this is a no brainer.

• vivizurianti on Dec 14, 2019 at 8:49 am

National Automotive Policy (NAP) obviously has been napping all the time……

The relevant ministers. directors, etc should just quit as they only good at “eating salary blindly”….

Come 2020, 2021, 2022, really not expecting anything from these goons.

• Newme on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:16 pm

What policy? All they will do is to grant china made car national status and enrich selected few at the expense of the rakyat as always. Also for the old man to indulge his hobby.

• minister of talk cock sing song on Dec 14, 2019 at 5:06 pm

cheyy fuking puppets, promise to fight these tyrant in the end become gang with them tyrant. PUI!!! its no wonder why many malaysian is bleeding the country dry as quickly & fukoff from this donkey land. call it a national car but copy and paste since 1982. national scam its what it is.
    force malaysian to buy ur national scam,& u ppl drive taxfree BMW,AUDI,MERC,PORCHE,BENTLY,FELLALI. PUI!!!

• Ingenuity does not come from the top.
    Gahmen induced policy normally will end in failure. Just look at soviet and china centrally planned economy before both abandoned it and embrace market forces.

• firdaus on Dec 15, 2019 at 11:13 am

i want to take another NAP……..
    wake me up in 2050!

• KENG VUI CHOK on Dec 15, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Somehow these ministers think there is a correct answer as in an examination for the NAP, can somebody tell these idiots the global auto industry and the parameters/environment it has to deal with changes every minute and hour forever and there is no way u can get the right one for it? Just launch it and adjust alongthe way bro!

• These ministers used to whack NAP but now they are in power and sleeping with Mahathir, suddenly NAP is now justified. This is Lalang Malaysia Baharu!

• janji manis on Dec 15, 2019 at 1:24 pm

Kalau harga minyak pun dia tak turun kan, jangan di harap lah harga kereta turun.