VIDEO: 2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R with Yoshimura pipes

Fourth in a series of videos from Kawasaki Indonesia, the 2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R is being modded and put through the paces on a dyno. Released today, the video shows the ZX-25R is fitted with a Yoshimura exhaust and you can listen to what a modded ZX-25R sounds like.

From previous videos released by Kawasaki Indonesia, you may have heard the ZX-25R in standard form on the dyno. This time around, it is definitely satisfaction guaranteed as the ZX-25R sounds like a larger displacement motorcycle like its ZX-636R or ZX-10RR siblings.

Despite displacing only 250 cc, the inline-four of the ZX-25R does mimic the sound of a much faster machine, much like its predecessor, the ZX-2. Of note is the blue flame emanating from the exhaust on the overrun when the throttle is released, indicating the ZX-25R’s engine has the potential to be modded to great heights.

First shown at the Tokyo Motor Show, not much else is known about the ZX-25R, save that it has a 250 cc, inline-four engine that is capable of being revved up to 17,000 rpm in fifth gear. A previous video released by Kawasaki showed the ZX-25R is capable of 160 km/h performance right out of the box during a demonstration by professional racers on a racetrack.

As Kawasaki’s return to the quarter-litre, four-cylinder arena – the last time any of us saw a four-cylinder 250 was the Yamaha Phazer 250 and the Kawasaki ZX-2 – equipment specification is high for the ZX-25R. This includes upside-down Showa SFF-BP (Separate Function Fork – Big Piston) forks, Horizontal Back-Link monoshock, radial-mount front brake callipers, quickshifter, ride modes and traction control.

GALLERY: 2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R at the Tokyo Motor Show

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• vivizurianti on May 15, 2020 at 6:28 pm

I am in love with the exhaust sound and the flame. With some ecu remap, tinker here and there…..I bet this kawa will breath fire and shoot fire!

Balik kampung riding this bike will surely gempak x1000.

• Hm, you think it’s fun to go to kampung with 17,000rpm? It has a good reason why all 250cc four-cylinder disappeared as soon as Japan lifted the driving license rules for motorbikes.

• Now waiting for the independent review, most likely this will be a high revving bike because of the very short stroke engine, resulting in very little low end torque. I hear they did design the gearing to sacrifice top speed in favor of regaining some of the low end power but i4 in nature has their power up top, so it did question the usability of the bike in busy road or will it become weekday exclusive bike.

• 4G63T DSM on May 16, 2020 at 10:44 am

Oh my, that sounds glorious. 17k rpm redline. Brings back memories.

Too bad it costs as much as a 650 twin. And realistically the 650 twin will ride so much better in-town. Probably need to ride it like it had nothing below 7000rpm to extract the most fun.

Miss my old FZR400.

• Goblock loo on May 16, 2020 at 11:34 am

250cc hahahahaha

• i love how sensible everyone is in this comment section :)

This motorcycle will only sell if its cheap. at current price point speculation, you’ll be better off with something bigger like 600cc++, which will be more convenient to live with, and performs better too.

But the cool factor will be off the charts. not often you have something that revs that high. definitely a go for someone looking for a small displacement track bike.

• Car motorcycle & truck on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:25 am

Hopefully there’s 400cc version..250cc inline 4 bad in low torque..You need to reach certain rpm to make it a bit fast thus getting not so great fuel consumption in return..