Proton giving free five years of personal insurance to frontliners and family members who purchase a car

Proton has something for the frontliners that have been serving our country throughout the Covid-19 pandemic period. The carmaker is giving frontliners or their immediate family members free personal insurance for five years. Not auto insurance or even PA insurance, but a term life insurance.

“Malaysia has made great strides in fighting the battle against Covid-19, thanks to our brave frontliners working tirelessly to safeguard our health,” the company said on social media.

“As a show of gratitude, Proton presents the Proton Cares Programme. Frontliners or their immediate families who purchase any of our Proton models will be entitled to enjoy free personal insurance coverage of up to RM50,000 for five years, covering death, accidental death, and permanent disability,” it said.

Proton’s 2020 SST exemption price list – click to enlarge

This free personal insurance – underwritten by MCIS Insurance – is for five years, with coverage of up to RM50k. As mentioned, it’s not a health insurance plan with a medical card, but rather a term insurance that provides financial compensation should the person insured pass away, or become disabled, anytime during the course of five years. The payout can be used to partially cover the HP loan’s outstanding amount. The payout decreases per year, but so does the amount you owe the bank.

Prior to this, Proton donated face shields to frontline medical practitioners and provided 50 units of the Proton X70 to the health ministry for the transport of medical staff.

Yesterday, the carmaker released its new price list with sales tax exemption factored in. From now till the end of 2020, Proton models are up to RM7,000 or 5.7% cheaper.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dredd on Jun 16, 2020 at 4:40 pm

Terima Kasih to Proton for caring about us frontliners. Together with your contribution of free car service during MCO and faceshield donations, you really have a heart of gold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Teh tarik on Jun 16, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Thank you Geely China for teaching human morals to Proton. Now Proton is going to the right direction by doing charity activities such as giving free PA insurance to our frontliners. Without China’s Game-Changing guidance, I dont think Proton would do something like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • So when is your game-changing Perodua going to do the same? Don’t you care for your customers or do you just want to reap their hard-earn money and give them trashy cars prone to accidents? Is that why your Perodua is afraid to follow suit and give free PA insurance like Proton?

• YB Albert on Jun 16, 2020 at 8:01 pm

PROTON has been tranformed into a caring organisation,although not out of the woods yet.
      It has learned to berdikari and not keep asking for bantuan,compared to those days under DRB where asking bantuan in the billions is the norm.
      Shame on the big boys like UMW ,BMW ,Merc where profits is too important.When u start to shower care,people can feel it and reciprocate in kindness.

• Facepalm on Jun 16, 2020 at 8:50 pm

Stop being a troll and a liar. Now that’s the moral values you should really look into to avoid being bargain-basement employee forever.

• Hantu Raya on Jun 17, 2020 at 8:30 am

from adopt-a-school programs to flood reliefs, P1 dah lama buat kerja2 amal macam ni, way before Geely, but i guess youre ust like the hypocritical democraps/liberal/ the (not so) progressives/the left- BLM protest n riots ok but Trump rally a covid threat?

• Thanks Najib for letting Geely to become Proton partner. This would not have happened if Malaysia was under Atuk95. Thanks again.

• vodka on Jun 16, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Xiexie CEO Dr. Li Chunrong , goodspeed Proton…

• Arnie on Jun 16, 2020 at 10:31 pm

Negative. This is thanks to their new VP of sales & marketing
      https://paultan.org/2020/06/01/proton-appoints-roslan-abdullah-as-its-new-vice-president-of-sales-and-marketing-proton-edar-ceo/

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 16, 2020 at 4:49 pm

Kudos to Proton! Yet another reason why we truly love you in all our hearts (except those minority bangang salesmen here).

• vivizurianti on Jun 16, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Syukur x 100000. P1 doing good job and perihatin. Other car manufacturers……krik, krik, krik, krik….

• Sarawakian on Jun 17, 2020 at 10:25 am

I ordered a CKD in February, supposedly one of the “first 3000” and eligible for free gifts, but have been told I will not be allocated a car this month.

I have just spoken to my salesman about this offer as I am a doctor, and told that it is only valid for June delivery, which means I may not qualify. If this is true, Proton is being insincere with this gesture, and have only made a piecemeal effort for the sake of cheap publicity.

Not too mention that as usual Proton, as with every carmakers in Malaysia, is still screwing us Sarawakians over by giving us only what is leftover stock from West Malaysia.

• X70 Buyer on Jun 17, 2020 at 12:06 pm

Ahh so East Malaysian kah? You have to understand there are still restrictions on seafaring crossings hence certainly there will be delays in getting your car from Semenanjung. Of course it don’t help that X70 is still hot hot hot and priority for deliveries are at Semenanjung. So since you haven’t got your car, why not just cancel your Feb order and put into June booking? The delay actually works in your favour if your realised it.

• Sceptical on Jun 17, 2020 at 12:43 pm

From proton website, the coverage not just personal accident PA but inclusive of NATURAL DEATH too …meaning if someone demised due to COVID-19 (*touch wood*) the coverage will paid to the next of kin… someone please confirm…if true, that is so generous…kudos PROTON…

https://www.proton.com/en/promotions/proton-cares-programme

• EDITOR on Jun 17, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Read this: “a PA insurance that will payout should the person insured pass away, or suffer permanent disability due to an accident.”

• Sceptical on Jun 17, 2020 at 3:04 pm

Quote from PROTON “Get free PERSONAL insurance coverage of up to RM50,000 for 5 years covering DEATH, ACCIDENTAL DEATH and Permanent Disablement”

Why repeat if it is same coverage. This article is understated which PROTON extend cover for LIFE insurance & NATURAL DEATH too. Thank you PROTON!

• Sick & Tired on Jun 17, 2020 at 4:41 pm

The letters PA itself spelled out Personal Accident dy, so unless COVID causes you to get into accident….

• Sceptical on Jun 19, 2020 at 8:02 am

Please check again the article sir! Have a good day