Proton is the latest company to reveal its rebates in accordance to the government’s exemption of the sales and service tax (SST), valid until December 31. In stark contrast to the norm, the national carmaker isn’t providing a straightforward tax deduction, as the figures you see here include additional discounts on top.
Naturally, all models are either built or assembled locally, thus qualifying them for the full 10% exemption. The Saga gets rebates of up to RM500 or 1.4%, while the Iriz is cheaper to the tune of up to RM800 or 1.58%. The Persona, on the other hand, gets discounts of up to RM900 or 1.65%.
Next on the list is the Exora MPV, which is up to RM2,500 or 4.18% cheaper (oddly enough, this number is for the cheaper Executive CVT, the Premium CVT instead getting a RM2,000 rebate). But the biggest beneficiary of all this has got to be the X70, which gets a rebate of up to RM7,000 or 5.7%. Collectively, the SUV range now starts from under RM90,000 and tops out at just under RM116,000.
At this juncture, you may be wondering why the Saga, Iriz and Persona receive comparatively low rebates (all under two percent, whereas even the cheapest Perodua Axia gets a three percent drop). While the company has not specifically given a reason for this, it probably has something to do with the fact that Proton absorbed SST when the tax was reintroduced back in September 2018.
The “tax holiday” prices from June to August 2018 have since been made permanent, and this carries on through to the facelifted models, which were launched last year. The X70 was the only all-new car to be launched after the SST’s reintroduction, possibly explaining the larger drop in price.
“Proton absorbed SST when the then-incumbent government reintroduced the tax back in September 2018. The “tax holiday” prices from June to August 2018 have since been made permanent, and this carries on through to the facelifted models”
Proton had been taking care of rakyat’s lives and rakyat’s pockets. Another reason why we love Proton dearly and continue to support them. Proton dulu, Proton sekarang, Proton selamanya.
(Like) Proton X70 PremiumX rm115k.
(Dislike) Toyota RAV4 2.5 rm215k
Shall compare x70 with HRV. Not with RAV4 that is much much higher category
Your right. If compare with RAV4, there is no competition. X70 wins hands down doesn’t take an Einstein to figure that out.
wow, you could pretty much buy 2 X70’s for the price of 1 RAV4
With SST holiday, can buy 2 X70 and 1 Saga for the price of 1 RAV4. More worth your money.
Such a shame that Proton is only giving such low reduction. How come our national carmaker is not being generous? This way Proton will be Game Over as other carmakers are giving high reduction
The same troll that always tell lies about Proton employees makan gaji buta now wants to complain Proton not generous enough pulak. Either way, your opinion in any matter is worth less than the few MB of your comments, Kunta tikus.
I always love you and all of your dupes here John!!!!
Alright then LOL, I can say that you are also the same Game Over troll as john
You sure love to reply yourself, don’t you?
True dat, good sir EDITOR!
The tiny rebates from proton is well understood..they r out of ICU recently.Dont expect high rebates.With zero sales in april,they need time to regroup and boost sales.
PATIENTS discharged from covid infection,needs time to recover.If make losses again,nanti another bailout again.
best comment ever, at least abang abang can see for their own eyes.
it’s weird. by right ckd models should enjoy bigger rebates up to 10%. now, it’ll make people go to honda, toyota and the rest. let’s wait for perodua.
Perodua is also about there.
https://paultan.org/2020/06/10/2020-sst-exemption-new-perodua-pricelist-revealed-up-to-rm4-7k-or-6-cheaper-until-december-31-2020/
Even CKD-ed Toyota, Honda, et al doesnt give you satisfactory rebates. For best valued rebates, go buy CBU cars where the rebates are near 5% off the old selling price.
P2 gives min 3% bukan main marah dia orang. Ni proton bagi 1% je
Copy paste: “Proton absorbed SST when the then-incumbent government reintroduced the tax back in September 2018. The “tax holiday” prices from June to August 2018 have since been made permanent, and this carries on through to the facelifted models”
Proton had been taking care of rakyat’s lives and rakyat’s pockets. Another reason why we love Proton dearly and continue to support them. Proton dulu, Proton sekarang, Proton selamanya.”
With so much preferential treatment given to a foreign brand to be same status as national car, apalah sangat SST tu? Grant RM1.1bil tu dah pulangkan ke?
Nama pun geran. Bukan pinjaman.
Tu lah masalah bila mamat tak paham English mahupun Bahasa Malaysia.
https://paultan.org/2019/09/24/proton-msias-first-and-only-proper-oem-faisal-albar/
https://paultan.org/2018/10/10/proton-vendors-to-collaborate-with-chinese-companies-for-x70-production-rm170-million-initial-investment/
https://paultan.org/2018/10/10/proton-invests-rm1-2-billion-for-production-of-new-x70-and-next-gen-models/
https://paultan.org/2018/09/24/proton-was-a-success-not-a-failure-pm-tun-mahathir/
Returned back and added much much more. Also please answer Ghani’s question below.
Yeah, so when your Perodua gonna return all those tax breaks and incentives you have enjoyed as a foreign brand pretending to be national car?
Copy paste: “Lay off the ketum, dude.”
They had already been giving discounted price as standard practice, so why are you complaining now? You should be asking why your P2 wasn’t as generous to your customers instead.
Syukur syukur sangat. Uni grads can now afford cheaper new cars, to drive to work. Safe, convenient, comfy and stylish during their journey. Mak ayah sure syukur knowing their children always safe.
Anyway, Balik kampung noneed to take buses and himpit himpit buying tiket.
Gomen should give cheap cheap petrol oso. Can?
They don’t want our money, let them rot in hell. Bettery buy Perodua or any other Japanese car makers (Toyota, Honda, etc). Proton KEDEKUT NAK MAMPUS
Lay off the ketum, dude.
kevin23 is that you?
not happy with RM600 off on 40k car, imma buy a 70k car instead. that will show them!
underpowered proton cars that none is faster than the civic or crv turbo.
I guess people dont care about being faster…proven when the underpowered proton car kick the butt of crv turbo in term of sales.
Worst is when the underpowered proton car is actually a China car.
Bro, U forgot about me…
Amir… bro U forgot about me, X50 on the way coming to Malaysia… Price should be attractive since X70 Starts at RM89k…. Maybe RM 65 to RM88k…. bye Civic N CVR , I can do 0-100km/hr in 7.9s cheers
Maybe S50 can beat the Civic. X70 design for comfort drive not for speed, so slower than CRV.
SUVs are not for speeding. Centre of gravity is high for these kind of vehicles.
Only Jap lalabeng fansies seek to smoke everyone, always wanting to go faster, even when going to hell.
Rule of thumb, the lesser discount % you see, the higher the profit markup is. Due to SST is taxing the cost of the vehicle.
In Proton’s case, it is different as they had been absorbing the SST cost as confirmed by Jonathan. However the other brands…. yeah, I agree with you especially for P2.
X70 below 90k! Those who bought earlier must feel the pain especially 1st batch CBU.
The price so attractive for a c segment suv.
However, make sure your job or business are secured for next 3 years before you go for it.
Habislah Aruz! At that super cheap prices, who would still go for overpriced, underspecced, crappy Aruz! Perodua better chaplap today!