Penang Bridge – 20% discount for RFID users begins

Motorists in Penang who have registered for the Touch ‘n Go (TnG) RFID system will receive a 20% discount on toll charges for private passenger cars when travelling across the Penang Bridge, the New Straits Times reports.

The RFID toll discount – which began yesterday as planned – follows the system already in place for TnG card users, where Penang residents and those working and studying on the island enjoy a 20% discount for travel on the bridge. With the RFID discount, the toll charge will be RM4.59 instead of the regular RM5.74 for private vehicles crossing the bridge into Penang island.

“Soon, all of us will be able to travel between the island and the mainland in a swifter and more efficient manner using the RFID technology, and Penangites will continue to enjoy the 20% discount,” said chief minister Chow Kon Yeow.

“This move by PLUS is hugely welcomed. The RFID technology allows for faster throughput, reducing congestion at toll lanes. Its cashless and contactless transaction reduces human interaction at the lanes and reduces the risk of Covid-19 transmission,” he added.

PLUS MD Datuk Azman Ismail said that RFID offers the convenience of topping up via online channels and allows for faster clearance at a toll plaza. “It is safer, much easier and a more convenient mode of toll payment, which supports the Penang government’s move towards adopting new technology in enhancing the mobility of the people,” he said. He added that those with TnG cards will still enjoy the 20% toll discount.

Penang residents and those working and studying on the island are required to install the RFID sticker before registering with PLUS in order to facilitate the discount. The RFID sticker costs RM35, and is available at selected fitment centres throughout Penang. Self-fitment kits are also available online.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• So, all smart tag lane are closed for good?

• Smart Tags are still in use during the transition period as not all highways are RFID enabled yet.

• PLUS should expedite the RFID implementation on the NSE. Their initial plan was on March 2020.

• Andrea Lee on Jul 15, 2020 at 3:53 pm

I fitted the RFID some time back when it was free n I just used the RFID for the Penang Bridge on Sunday n I wasn’t given the discount. The meter listed 5.74 n not 4.59. Is it automatic or do I have to register something? Thanks

• You need to register here https://jimatdipenang.plusmiles.com.my and wait for the email on the approval

• fh006 on Jul 15, 2020 at 3:55 pm

To reduce congestion in Penang Bridge Toll, convert the normal Touch n Go lane to RFID lane. Not converting Smartag lane!!! Now the congestion is worst ever !

• Call me by your name on Jul 15, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Ok but why only penang?

• Ang Tong Leong on Jul 16, 2020 at 11:45 am

Already installed

• pilih mana satu untuk drafta discount?
    1) Pemohonan Baru
    2) Pemohonan penyambung
    3) Pemohonan pertukaran RFID tag

• Zailani on Nov 17, 2020 at 12:17 am

Kali pertama kena pilih permohonan baharu, kalau dah pernah dapat disount kad touchNgo pilih permohonan penyambung, kalau sudah pakai RFiD sudah dapat discount kena pilih pertukaran RFiD tag

• Can’t register my 2nd car .. Tells me i have registered .. Check plusmile portal – 2nd car not listed …

• Tan Chieu Guat on Aug 02, 2020 at 3:35 pm

May I know, how to registered and get discount to RM4.59. Today deducted RM5.24from Tngo.ewallet

• Shaik Farid bin mohamed yahaya on May 09, 2021 at 5:43 am

I misplaced my smart tag which i registered at penang bridge office how to check the balance in the card and to get nee card