Proton X50 ‘tuned for Malaysian roads’ – 1.9 million km, 75,000 hours of testing; validation still ongoing

More info on the Proton X50 from the recent City Preview event is trickling in, in addition to what we’ve shared with you from the media preview in Tanjung Malim last week. We’ve seen the X50’s claimed fuel consumption figures, and now here’s another claim – one with regards to the testing that went into the new model.

It’s no secret that the Proton X50 is essentially a right-hand-drive Geely Binyue a.k.a. Coolray in some markets. But the Proton X50 is the first RHD version of the B-segment SUV, and as we’ve seen with the Geely Boyue-to-X70 conversion, there’s a fair bit more to be done than just flipping the steering wheel. The X50 has 406 parts that are different from the Binyue, for instance. Local content is 40% at launch.

It has now been revealed that the Proton spent 75,000 man hours on testing the X50, and has completed 1.9 million km of local road testing of the SUV, which is claimed to be “tuned for Malaysian roads”. We’ve been told that it’s not the full-blown “Proton Ride and Handling” package but minor adjustments on the Binyue, like what they did for the CKD X70.

Why are we still seeing camouflaged mules running around despite the X50’s launch being just around the corner? We posed the question to X50 vehicle programme executive Mohd Haizam Bin Ghazali (basically, he’s the man in charge for all things X50, like a programme manager) and he confirmed that test cars are still piling on the miles.

Mohd Haizam explained that while production of the X50 started in mid August in Tg Malim, Proton has not completed the development of the car, and there’s still work to be done. The X50 test mules that are still on the road are the continuation of reconfirmation activities, and there’s also some validation work to be completed. Also still running are audit cars for quality. More on the work behind Geely-to-Proton, LHD-to-RHD conversions here.

Also mentioned at the City Preview customer event is that the Adaptive Cruise Control function – which allows the car to follow, stop and turn autonomously, keeping you in lane with steering assist – works at speeds of up to 150 km/h, just like on the X70 Premium.

The top 1.5 TGDi Flagship version of the X50 comes with the full ADAS pack that includes autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with a door opening warning. There’s also a parking assist system that enables autonomous parallel and perpendicular parking moves, something even the X70 Premium doesn’t have.

We’ve already covered the X50 extensively from the media preview that happened last week, and you can check it out here. Below are the spec-by-spec differences that we know so far. Bear in mind though that all the images you see here are of the range-topping Flagship – Proton has yet to reveal the other variants in the metal.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Reverse camera
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:42 pm

X50 testing still ongoing. Earlybird buyers doin free testing, better make early SC appointment yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
    • You forget that testing is still ongoing and the car not yet on sale. By the time they are available at showrooms, it would have done its target 100,000km road tests. You can be assured that car durability & reliability wouldn’t be a problem by the time you accept delivery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
      • People on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Haval give 7 years warranty, Geely can or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • dream_125 on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:07 pm

Haval give 7 years warranty if you go to Haval service center every 5000km and pay for Haval service.
          You pay for Haval service or not?

• Hart932 on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:54 am

So far from what i know, Haval owners have driven their cars over to Thailand up to Bangkok & over to Laos on their own without any service crew backup. That’s how reliable the car is. None X70 owners dare to drive over to foreign country as the car can develop problem any time & there is no SC support. In fact owners now say X70 must not be the only car owned as its highly unreliable without spare parts.

• People on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:55 am

If cannot tahan pakai buang 5 tahun lor
            Who like to play restoration job can take it
            From the rubber door seal for rattling noise to the engine mounting brake oil pump turbo cooler, etc

• @Hart932. Orealy?
            https://paultan.org/2019/02/26/proton-x70-owners-epic-road-trip-to-geely-hq-hangzhou-china/

• dream_125 on Sep 24, 2020 at 7:13 pm

“So far from what i know, Haval owners have driven their cars over to Thailand”

I didn’t say that Haval is unreliable (I don’t know anybody who drives one, so I cannot comment that). I said, that the warranty is void if you don’t go to official Haval service every 5000km.

• Dong gor on Sep 23, 2020 at 3:20 pm

That is if u assume no issue at all between now and hitting the target mileage. Any issues found that require engineering and mfg changes will not be immediate

• Raja Celup on Sep 23, 2020 at 3:40 pm

Prove it by giving 10-years car warranty unlimited mileage (including DCT gearbox too).

Ada kawtim ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Does Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi, Volvo, Ferrari, et al gives you 10 years car warranty? After all, their cars are multiples more expensive than X50, they should be giving 20-30 years car warranty no? Ke ada kawtim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 23, 2020 at 4:39 pm

WOW 1.9mil KM…. This car must be running 24/7 at 110km/h (Malaysia max road legal speed) in the last 720 days (or last 2 years!!!)

• dream_125 on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:15 pm

“Test driver” sounds like a dream job for some people, but in reality it’s not. It’s a difference if you want to drive or if you have to drive.
          And yes, they clock several hundred kilometers per day, it’s their job. But they use more than one car of course, the 1.9mil km are combined.

• Fordist on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:04 pm

Early buyers are at LEAST assured of near 2million (that’s MILLIONS!) km testing done. Rest assured.

• No matter what it is, Proton Reliability is greater with longer distance than Honda. Plus with less maintenance for Proton with low price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
      • Actually, maintenance cost for Proton X50 and X70 is higher than any Honda cars. I personally did the checking. So don’t get your hoped up too high. Objective posting here so keep the hate bashers away… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
        • Spin Too Much on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:50 pm

You personally did the checking? Sure boh? PaulTan also personally did their checking and found X70 servicing cost are cheaper than CR-V. Mau tipu siapa ah????

• 3 PLY on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:38 am

Whatever it is, even though honda maintenance cost damn cheaper but will have to pay more for replacing parts. That will be additionally cost for paying more replacing parts plus maintenance.

• LIKE: X50, Vios Facelift, Almera and Persona
      DISLIKE: City, HRV, BRV, CIVIC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • Slap the Ais Kacang’s face said that change logo need 2 years time.

• Madeinchyna on Sep 24, 2020 at 1:41 am

Power window boleh pakai tak?

• Ronald T on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Yeah, just make sure the absorber mount doesn’t give way soon like the X70. My new X70 had loud sounds coming from absorber mount after just 1 week of ownership. This is the CKD. Understand the part is made by APM and Kayaba. Ridiculous and still haven’t received the replacement parts till now. Its been 2 months. So, Dr Li, you should check on your supplier’s quality, their products etc. If not, just use those that are manufactured in China like the CBU units. Had high hopes for Proton but with this issue, not too sure anymore. Nice car to drive though, though fuel may not be as economical as the Japs. And full of technology. But the absorber mount issue, imagine do they conduct their PDI diligently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 33
    • newme on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:16 pm

See, told ya they have part issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • You mean honda also got part issues, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • newme on Sep 23, 2020 at 4:52 pm

Mengaku jelah spart part susah dapat, jangan malu-malu. All major economies are decoupling from China. Proton je still dekat2 dengan China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Celup King on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Your Japanese car fuel pump dah tukar ke belum?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Copy Paste on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:32 pm

Copy paste: “roger foo on Sep 23, 2020 at 10:49 am
        XD50 for me,. Happy with X70 currently owned. Continental feel and with all the safety features in. A safe car to drive.”

• newme on Sep 23, 2020 at 10:21 pm

Copy paste

“Owner Says Proton X70 Spare Parts Unavailable for 2 Months”

• One case out of…? Come on. This is a car and things happens, even the owner is more understanding than you, just a regular hater cherrypicking on issues.

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:45 pm

A few more copy paste for your indulgent

“Proton X70 Parts Issue Upsetting Its Owner”

“Proton X70 Owner Waiting For Spare Parts”

“X70 has spare parts issue?” – Lowyat

“Proton X50 Makes Its Debut While X70 Owners Await Spare Parts…For Months”

• Aura89 on Sep 24, 2020 at 11:53 pm

Lol! You sure you don’t want me to point out the number of complaints from dissatisfied Honda owners? Try me bub.

• dream_125 on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:17 pm

Like p2 with it’s fuel pump issue?

• Davis on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:38 pm

No worries, understood that even though there is issues for X70 but P1 always give better satisfaction to the customers. Meanwhile honda also got issues but with many broken parts. And coming out from SC, another headache again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • TiredOfIt on Sep 23, 2020 at 4:33 pm

There are type of people who don’t stop to find just a tiny bit of issue from a certain brand and feed on it. They make it look like a major thing whereas the issue might only happen once, or at a very small ratio. I think your case is valid and you’re sincerely just telling people about your experience. It’s a pity that Proton doesn’t resolve your issue as quickly as possible otherwise you won’t be posting about it now.

• dream_125 on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:27 pm

Buyers nowadays not only buy a car, but a complete package (car, servis, parts).
        If the car is okay, but the servis or parts availability is bad, it will damage the reputation of the product in the long term.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 23, 2020 at 10:25 pm

That’s true but some parts are not mass produced especially the ones that rarely have to change or have issue. Uniquely, some of the claimed issue are related to those type of parts. Which is why I mention “a very small ratio” and which might not be enough to make people think twice to buy or not to buy. If it’s something that is well known to have issues and part of a major component, that will no doubt be a clear warning sign not to consider the product at all.

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:10 am

Proton don’t change owner 2 times in 5 years for no reason.

• Neither does Nissan changing their CEOs like I change underwear. I wonder what is wrong with Japanese management.

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Still nissan is selling at developed countries with stricter regulations and not Nigeria, Somalia, Ivory Coast.

• Aura89 on Sep 24, 2020 at 11:55 pm

Really then? Try to buy any of these socalled developed country Nissan cars here. Where’s the Maxima, Kicks, Note, March, Pathfinder that are sold there?

• Aura89 on Sep 24, 2020 at 11:58 pm

And what is this? https://paultan.org/2020/09/21/nissans-best-bet-for-a-turnaround-is-china-report/

Nissan having to count their survival on a country with less strict regulations? Is it coz cannot sell in countries with stricter regulations? Hahaha

• TiredOfIt on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:45 pm

But I doubt the reason was largely because of no parts for a rare issue.

Sure, Proton have some quality issue every now and then but there must be something in them that Geely sees. I bet one of the reason is “potential”. If not, why would they bother. Not many can deny that Proton cars are much better since Geely and I don’t think Geely done a lot to be honest. Proton might already have what it takes to become better but nobody sees and managed it properly.

• romance on Sep 23, 2020 at 12:57 pm

(Like) X50
    (Dislike) HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Fordist on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:02 pm

(The X50 has 406 parts that are different from the Binyue, for instance. Local content is 40% at launch.)
    Kudos to Proton for their excellent engineering and localisation efforts. Sadly I can’t say the same for Aruz, 90% is still same as Toyota Rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Honda turbo TGDI CVT on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:45 pm

mari honda showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • Maklumat on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Sorry, too bored and yawn. Every younger want shiny younger design, not the same boring tech with crab ricer car. Yes, only aunties/uncles will go to honda showroom

• Syerin on Sep 23, 2020 at 8:14 pm

I don’t wanna be stereotypical toward any brand but you made a valid point.

• Jia Ren on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:13 pm

Bring it on

• Blind by LEDs on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:17 pm

What?! Auto high beam?…Such a feature to show how stupid is today’s drivers…

Disability in controlling standard switches, turning on headlights during bright sunny days, throwing high beam whenever computer think, use daytime running lights at night, turned on fog lamps and feel the car move faster…And still forgot to turn on signals when turning or change lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • dumnyer on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Just like smart phones getting smarter but users getting dumber. Automotive industry nowadays needs dumb road users. Or else wont sell. Just like the smart phone users, the users are the product for the advertisers, not the phone itself.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 23, 2020 at 4:36 pm

I agree.. especially when I see a brand new car that doesn’t turn on their signal, I’d be like “so kesian la this guy buy new car but signal oredy rosak”. Funny thing is, their signal seems to be working when they cut queue!

• pomen on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:23 pm

make sure it really up to standard…don’t be like ‘old’ proton, power window also took few generation to solved…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Still rehashing that old myth eh?

• Hart932 on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:46 am

Its not old myth. I’m still have the old Proton for 12 yrs & power windows have repaired 7 times. So just because Proton rectified the power window in new model still didnt solve those on older cars on the road. Is it owners fault or the manufacturer for not coming up with a new design for old cars so that owners can change to?

• @Hart932. Oh sure. You got such an old car and you expect them to rectify it for you. Hey, I got a 12 year old Vios and it didnt come with 6 airbags (only measly 2) and didnt have Stability Control, nor AEB, Blind Spot monitoring, ACC and Lanekeep Assist, etc. Is it owner fault or the manufacturer for not recalling my old Vios for fitment of all those “missing features”?

• LMST driver on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:34 pm

Haha…Power window issues nearly became part of Proton standard / standard problem of Proton.

• Not anymore no power window issue my 9 years old Exora CFE still run fast/smooth as it does on the 1st day. quality improved alot compared with P2, Waja Wira’s time.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 23, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Although it’s true, you have to come up with something more creative than that. The joke is too old and focused on one out of many issue that may happen on the car. Of course it’s because that the issue is too repetitive that makes it so imbued to the minds of others but repeating it over and over again seem to indicate that it’s the only issue that you know about and “feed on it” ..

• Chow Wei Zhen on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:28 pm

Well done Proton for checking car build quality.

• M & B on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Nice!

• Venza on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:50 pm

Impressive.

• vivizurianti on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:53 pm

Tuned for malaysian roads…….I guess it might referring to road with multiple huge bonggol, potholes, family-loaded genting climbing, and water wading capability(from flash flood). Maybe kerb climbing (when car parks cannot be found).

The mighty X50 can take all these punishment.

• X50 forever on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:53 pm

1.9km test. If going at speed of 90km/h that means the car have mean running non stop for nearly 3 years. Something doesn’t add up

• multiple car testing le

• That is combined number, you have to divide by testing car quantity.

• tatu880 on Sep 23, 2020 at 3:34 pm

Do you think Proton only test 1 car during the whole development period? They probably have a dozen of those Prototypes running around.

• 1.9m km for 75k hour, average speed is 25km/h

• Yalli R3 on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:56 pm

Paultan – “We’ve been told that it’s not the full-blown “Proton Ride and Handling” package but minor adjustments on the Binyue, like what they did for the (slightly stiffer tuned ) CKD X70”.
    Understood for the 90% of the mass market.
    Meaning the Fully Tuned reserved for the ss sport variant in the coming future, Good then selling the Standard tuned for enough profit ro prepare for the niche variant Manual with fullblown P1 Ride & handling when they have enough fund to so

• Are they sure they tested it 75000 hour..it take 8 to 9 year if it OTR 24 hour

• azrai on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Multiple test unit

• encik kanjo on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:55 pm

bro, its man hour bro..go google and understand what is man hour first la..testing not done by one person only lah

• Kotembad on Sep 23, 2020 at 3:17 pm

Not if they use multiple cars at the same time. For example, 75000 hours / 20 cars = 3750 hours per car. So it would only require 5-6 months for 75k hours worth of testing.

• Honda turbo TGDI CVT on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:18 pm

1,900,000 ÷ 20 cars = 95,000km each car testing saja

• They test last 10 years. This model 2010 just got this year..

• Seem like you not really know production line.

• Ol Skool on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Sheesh… getting my hopes up. If it were fully proton handling I would want compare it to CX-3

• Koala on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:01 pm

This is how really works that make feel better and comfort

• Give 7 years warranty like Haval, then peace of mind

• JOACHIM on Sep 25, 2020 at 10:58 am

I had peace of mind with BMW 3 year warranty previously. Why should I worry on a far cheaper car offering 5 years and why should I need up to 7 years? Typical warranty past 5 years are meaningless as majority of the car isn’t covered anyway.

• Bieight on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Don’t really believe car manufacturers press release after the whole dieselgate thing realised car makers are full bs

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:36 pm

It is still an infernal combustion engine hence Malaysians not Chinese are not moving forward fast enough.

• Dr Cooper on Sep 23, 2020 at 2:46 pm

How much RM?

• No point testing on empty freeway road speeding all the time
    Proton car always have problem with city driving

• Spin Too Much on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:52 pm

It is tested on various road conditions judging by the locations of X50 spyshots. Don’t simply make assumptions.

• Ronald T on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:51 pm

Yup agree on the certain type of people. And yes, my case is a genuine one. Imagine driving a new car out from the showroom and u get the crackling sound from the absorber mount. Who wouldn’t be frustrated. Yes, it’s a pity Proton takes this long to resolve quite a simple issue really. But looking at it holistically, the locally manufactured part is questionable. No point also changing to a new locally manufactured part as the problem will persist perhaps again immediately or somewhere near down the road. But am sure the higher management of Proton will look into this with Dr Li at the helm. Well, he’d better do his work.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 24, 2020 at 6:00 pm

There’s one problem though, like I said earlier, the ratio is too small. Imagine 10,000:1 – would any big company come up with a quick solution for a mere 0.001% possibility of some issue? I think the people in the service center should instead think of outsourcing the issue since the ratio is too small. Why wait for official part from official source? Why don’t take the initiative to buy official part from other valid sources? Or maybe just buy them from the China itself? The service center need to up their game, more work are necessary in order to make a customer happy. Hopefully your case will be resolved soon and hopefully no one had to experience that in the future.

• lazy_rhd_flip on Sep 23, 2020 at 6:58 pm

I think they just lazy flip the steering from left to right. Why claim do a lot of thing as the turn signal is on the left still like driving in China still?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:21 am

bye bye hyundai kona and kia seltos

• Still waiting for Proton’s first PHEV car. Waiting for that to replace my 10 year old Fiesta.

• EV/PHEV are way too expensive for the average Proton buyer not to mention the cutthroat replacement battery price. Even MINI EV is a Rm20k premium on the regular version so expect a Rm50k regular Iriz would cost you Rm70k for EV. Hardly a sum an average Iriz buyer would consider.

Factoring all that, you don’t save any on fuel cost but you suffer worse on depreciation. With such issues, there is little incentive for Proton to come out with EV/PHEV atm.

• Sardar Muhammad Azam on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Very impressive and state of the Art will capture market in Pakistan.

• Forgive my ignorance but can someone please explain how Proton spent 75,000 man hours testing the car? That’s 8.5 years. Geely binyue was only out 2 years ago. And how does Proton covered 1.9 million km?

• Tuned for Peninsular main road.
    Wonder how much different will it make if they tested and tune driving on Borneo roads.

• newme on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:21 am

Article is about Proton, post is about Proton. Yang ko mabuk ketum talk about Honda for what? I don’t work for Honda. And Proton selling in only third world countries is nowhere near Honda.