G20 BMW M340i xDrive to be introduced in Malaysia – first-ever CKD M Performance model, RM430k est.

BMW Malaysia is set to add another G20 3 Series variant to the local line-up in the near future, and this one promises to be a scorcher. The said model is the M340i xDrive, which will have the honour of being the first-ever locally-assembled CKD M Performance variant when it arrives on the scene. Its upcoming introduction was revealed by a product document sighted by this publication.

The M340i xDrive, which made its debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show in November 2018, will be powered by a 3.0 litre straight-six engine. The twin-scroll turbocharged B58 in its B30O1 guise offers 382 hp (or 387 PS) at 5,800 to 6,500 rpm and 500 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm.

Incidentally, before anoraks point it out, yes, the mill’s current power output is up by 13 hp (or 13 PS / 10 kW) from when the M340i xDrive was originally announced and when briefly sampled during the international media drive for the G20 two years ago, right up to last year – the output then was 369 hp (or 374 PS), although torque of the OL version of the B58 remains unchanged.

Working with an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission and xDrive all-wheel drive, the engine propels the 1,670 kg offering from standstill to 100 km/h in just 4.4 seconds and on to a 250 km/h top speed.

Aside from the rear-biased xDrive system, the variant also features a M Sport differential, which offers electronically-controlled, fully-variable rear-wheel locking function. Other specific novelties include an Adaptive M suspension, which lowers the ride height by 10 mm, and four-piston front and single-piston rear M Sport brakes, with the calipers finished in blue.

Exterior equipment on the local specification M340i will include an M Aerodynamics package, M rear spoiler as well as BMW Individual high-gloss Shadow Line trim elements. Additionally, a number of items will be finished in a signature Cerium Grey shade, these being the front grille, front air inlet surrounds and side mirror caps.

Other exterior highlights include BMW Laserlight headlamps, dual trapezoidal exhaust tailpipe finishers and 19-inch double-spoke 792 M bi-colour light-alloy wheels wrapped with runflat rubbers.

Inside, the M340i will be dressed in Vernasca leather upholstery, with two colour schemes available – black and Cognac. Additionally, the cabin features aluminium tetragon interior trim elements with highlights in pearl chrome as well as BMW Individual headliner in an anthracite shade.

Elsewhere, there are front sports seats, a M steering wheel and M-specific pedals, and other standard fit items include a 16-speaker, 464 watt Harman Kardon audio system, a 10.25-inch touchscreen navigation display, three-zone auto air-conditioning, 11-shade ambient lighting and a head-up display.

In terms of driving assistance systems, there’s parking assistant, a rear view camera and a Driving Assistant package, which has front collision warning with brake intervention (or autonomous emergency braking), lane departure warning, lane change warning, rear cross traffic alert and rear collision prevention in its kitbag.

Buyers will have four exterior colours to choose from, these being Portimao Blue, Sunset Orange, Black Sapphire and Alpine White. As for pricing, that’s not fixed yet, but the document suggests an estimated price of around RM430,000 for the car. More on the BMW M340i xDrive when it eventually makes its debut.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 6:46 pm

m performance. for those who cannot afford a proper m car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 35
    • Jom Parking on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:38 pm

Might as well get X50, pick up is faster than this lower class M Performance car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
      • 25yrsOld on Oct 17, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Betul, my friend who booking Proton X50 say its better than his father’s BMW

• Ms Norlia on Oct 18, 2020 at 10:26 am

Betul laa. This the same pipu cant think straight & sapot bawah umur.

• Wkaka on Oct 18, 2020 at 5:39 pm

Stick to your Myvi or X50, this car is marketed for your boss.

Finally, a car to match the c43 with official warranty. Hope they also bring the S4, highly doubt it though. More choices always better for the consumer.

• Contradiction on Oct 16, 2020 at 9:28 pm

Cheaper to buy standard car and M badges from Taobao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Jeremy on Oct 16, 2020 at 11:47 pm

That Volvo S60 T8 way more powerful 407hp and 640Nm. But much cheaper 295K, standstill to 100 km/h in just 4.4sec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
        • if you watching carwow drag race 1/4 mile time

bmw 340i in 12,7 sec
          audi s4 avnt in 13.6 sec
          mercs amg e53 in 13.6 sec
          and your loser volvo s60 t8 in 13.8 sec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
          • Veyron Owner on Oct 17, 2020 at 9:14 am

few times i joined those enduro roadtrip konvoi drive to Siam. those performance car owners bmw, lotus, ferrari, mercs etc drive slow n safe. What is 1 sec, we all can stop by a beautiful sawah padi terbentang hijau… for full 2hrs. to admire the majestic scenery & happy camaraderie. Real life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Li Peng on Oct 17, 2020 at 2:04 am

…and 180km/h max speed

• China and German ? on Oct 17, 2020 at 10:16 am

Dont compare volvo with bmw bang, totally different and lower class by one or two level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Actually it’s for those who need a faster daily car. Your wife sure wouldn’t appreciate the harshness of a full on M3 lol…

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Wah exciting times ahead for the 3er. For 430k you are almost getting M3 performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • For 200k lesser, better save for more fun n exciting car. Toyota GR Yaris 275PS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • The GR Yaris would be priced 300k not 200k.

• Webex on Oct 17, 2020 at 9:42 am

Both GR Yaris and M340i looks more fun and exciting car, yeah. And, at least better than Civic Type R

• dream_125 on Oct 17, 2020 at 7:41 pm

Comparing a four-door sedan with a two-door hatchback?

• Toyota Salesman jobless on Oct 18, 2020 at 10:28 am

Are you trolling Ryan? Better you compare souped up turbo Myvi that can really fly . Beats every car on the road.
        If you even have half a brain you will not compare a cheap junk like Yaris with premium cars like this M340i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • dream_125 on Oct 17, 2020 at 6:21 pm

“For 430k you are almost getting M3 performance.”

M340i xDrive is more refined for everyday use.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:01 pm

That is indeed great news. Technically, the B58 engine is already being CKD’d in the 740Le & X5 45e, correct? However, those cars get EEV benefits, being plug-in hybrid models, thus are a bit cheaper. And that X5 is almost everywhere now, with its fairly “affordable” price tag of RM441k.

• X5 is macho but it was driven mostly by house soccer mum who do the school ride. I like it but after seeing too many auntie old small fat etc drive it i lost taste of it. Mm…same as those vellfire or alphard all either school run aunty or non formal chaffeur car.

• Ghani on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Sell that kinda price, better we buy KIA Stinger GT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
  • Zika Fly on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:06 pm

YAASSSS, pls BRING M245I, 540i too, but this is good enough first step.

• Chow Wei Zhen on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:11 pm

Good to bring this M340i. Kudos to BMW Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • M & B on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:12 pm

Nice!

• Jia Ren on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Sportier Car. Bring it on.

• Buick on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:15 pm

(Like) BMW M340i
    (Dislike) Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
  • G20 Fans on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:16 pm

Next – 330e. Coming soon

• It will storm the marker just like the previous one and then after 2 yrs it will.disappear because all owner throwing due to hybrid fear..and all.park in the use car garage or as bmw sales manager company cars.

• Jours on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:18 pm

Together with this variant, will also going to launch hybrid too, if not mistaken.

• Intel on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:22 pm

Oh wow. Some wants to drive this 340i M units. I also looking forward too

• tricycle on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:50 pm

yes, finally

• Silverado on Oct 16, 2020 at 7:53 pm

Nice. To compete directly with the C43.

• Bieight on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:06 pm

GG lah c43 amg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Faiz Arshad on Oct 16, 2020 at 10:37 pm

Good news who like a 6 cylinders but don’t like massive grille on the M3.

• Sticks on Oct 17, 2020 at 1:07 am

Absolutely great job

• this non-m car is faster, more powerful and has more torque than my favorite analog M3; the E46.

quite an impressive feat of engineering and cost management.

• R J Loo on Oct 17, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Finally my wish come true, can’t wait to have a test drive and put my money on this car with my outstanding sales figure of brand new Berukdua with special package.

• We can have better nose?
    This king kong nose already outdated

Bmw has moved forward

• hazamiey on Oct 18, 2020 at 4:43 pm

I’ll take this over the new hideous-looking M3/M4 anytime.

• Matsuda Driver on Oct 20, 2020 at 3:05 pm

This is awesome news. BMW can’t afford to have Merc going to town with the C43, which has been selling pretty much like hotcake.

• robocop on Oct 21, 2020 at 7:17 pm

bmw malaysia please bring in next M3 CKD