CMCO lifts in most states – no more police roadblocks or passenger limit in vehicles, interstate travel allowed

While the conditional movement control order (CMCO) for Kuala Lumpur and Selangor has been extended to December 20, the government has announced it is easing certain restrictions that were put in place when the CMCO was reinstated on October 14.

These are the lifting of inter-state and inter-district travel restrictions. As of Monday, December 7, all inter-state and inter-district movement is allowed without the need for police permission, except in enhanced movement control order (EMCO) areas, senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said in his non-health briefing earlier this evening.

Additionally, the limit on passengers travelling in a vehicle is also being removed. Ismail Sabri said that as of December 7, vehicles will be allowed to carry occupants based on their designated allowable capacity, essentially bringing things back in line with that during the recovery movement control order (RMCO) period.

“We will no longer limit the number in vehicles. The total is based on the seating capacity. If the usual car’s seating capacity is four, then it is four. If a multi-purpose vehicle (MPV) has seating capacity for seven, then it is seven, based on vehicle capacity,” he said.

When the CMCO was first announced, the rules allowed only two persons from the same household in private vehicles and three persons in a taxi or ride-hailing service vehicle, including the driver. On November 13, this was revised to three persons from the same household being permitted to travel together in a private vehicle.

As part of the lifting of inter-state and inter-district travel restrictions, Ismail Sabri said that the police will no longer carry out roadblocks based on Covid-19 prevention measures across the country from Monday, and will instead focus on compliance with standard operating procedures (SOPs).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Truckers on Dec 05, 2020 at 11:29 pm

Why lifted CMCO? People lives in real danger outside. How come govt so uncaring & incompetent. Today 1,123 new cases & 4 deaths…. ytd 2000+ plus cases & more then 10 dead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 64
    • Ghani on Dec 06, 2020 at 6:44 pm

Don’t lift CMCO, complain “keje xde, makan xde.. susahh”
      Lift CMCO, complain “People lives in real danger outside”

Yeah right. Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • COVID on Dec 06, 2020 at 7:36 pm

Because life must go on and we’ll have to learn to live with it.. COVID may stay with us for years to come so no point in staying at home forever. Government also will not be able to support rakyat forever and if the economy getting worse, how can the government provide the fund for even buying vaccines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • People need to cari makan .
      if you scare, just stay at home. no one force you to go out .

• Sorry Naik Lorry on Dec 07, 2020 at 9:20 am

What uncaring? If people really care about danger they will stay at home and practice perfect social distancing. Clearly people don’t, and it’s their choice.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 07, 2020 at 10:35 am

No worry. News reported PM said vaccine available on Jan’21

• AJibkor on Dec 07, 2020 at 2:53 pm

WE r in this mess due to absence of 14 day quarantine during Sept 26 Sabah elections.
      From June to Sept 25…the covid cases are double digits.Now it is four digits.
      All because of the 500 who came back with the virus from Wuhan 2.0.
      Now rakyat have to live with daily threat of the virus.
      DG wants to lockdown again,if given a choice.But the whole country except the rich will go into meltdown if another total lockdown.
      I wonder why DG health did not “lockdown” the 500 with the virus when they landed at KLIA.There is a failure here,in terms of public health. Who is responsible for this failure?

• Dr Strange on Dec 07, 2020 at 3:15 pm

“Who is responsible for this failure?”
        Look at the root cause. Who call for that unnecessary state election? The responsibility and failure is on the previous MB.

• Rosman on Dec 07, 2020 at 3:31 pm

Bapa Dafi & Bung declare no quarantine back from Sabah, so no problem. Buatpe kecoh2 bhai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • azrai on Dec 06, 2020 at 8:02 am

Once more we are being defeated by ringgit. At RM300m loss in daily economy, we gonna follow the Indonesian way in juggling between economy and health.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Ghani on Dec 06, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Unlike them we haven’t yet gave up the fight against Covid. There they have stopped reporting cases, since it became too much to handle.

• azrai on Dec 07, 2020 at 2:07 pm

They already received the 1st 1.4m dose of vaccines from China yesterday which not in our case.

• Dr Strange on Dec 07, 2020 at 3:11 pm

China vac still not vetted by WHO and there are reports of deaths due to unintended side effects. Indon got plenty of people to spare for trials and willing to accept these side effects. Do you want us to be that? Do you want to risk your live knowing such side effects might just kill you? A boat to Indon is still open if you are willing you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • azrai on Dec 07, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Hospital across the United Kingdom have received their 1st deliveries of the vaccine ahead of the national rollout tomorrow.
            About 800k doses expected to be available within the first week, with up to 4m dosses in total by end of this month.
            Russia, China also have their vaccines, but since media controlled by the west only Pfizer and Moderna highlighted.
            So UK also follow Indonesia. Malaysia is better than.

• Dr Strange on Dec 08, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Haiz…. UK make their own vaccines complying to European safety standards but they prioritise their own consumption first. Don’t hope to get it so soon from Western countries laa. You want to put your life on Russian or Chinese vaccine with questionable effects?

• azrai on Dec 09, 2020 at 9:18 am

A 90-year-old grandmother from Britain, has become the first person in the world to receive the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine outside of a trial yesterday.
            So, it’s the Pfizer one, not a made in UK vaccine which is a work of University of Oxford. It has passed safety and efficacy tests but still not being approved by FDA (US) or even WHO.
            The Oxford University vaccine trial paused after participant falls ill in September 2020.

• Velington Fernandes on Dec 06, 2020 at 9:25 am

So can we go from Sentul to Genting Highlands/Cameron Highlands from today and would we be able to come back without having any documentation?

Regards,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Ah Loi on Dec 06, 2020 at 6:56 pm

People with stable income would cried out loud Gomen as lame, bow when it comes to ringgit. But for god sake, try listening to people who lost their income, even lost their family just because of the CMCO around the globe. Theres always a way to balance both and Gomen is trying hard walking on the tight rope. Give some support laa

• Tangks on Dec 06, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Am I allowed to carry my neighbour for groceries now? That is no more same household requirement in the car

• Vanguard on Dec 07, 2020 at 8:44 am

Now, daily COVID cases in thousands, CMCO are lifted.
    During March 2020, COVID cases hovers in hundreds, whole country in lockdown.

Cannot brain la. Maybe 2020 big surprise will be waiting for us.

• COVID may stay with us for years at quite a large chance. stay safe.

• Don't care la on Dec 08, 2020 at 8:57 pm

Those of you who are unhealthy and overweight with history of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, etc will now have to beware.