Agong declares darurat effective until August 1, 2021 – no curfew will be enforced, no additional travel bans

Agong declares <em>darurat</em> effective until August 1, 2021 – no curfew will be enforced, no additional travel bans

Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has declared a national state of emergency as a proactive measure to curb the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic. The period of implementation for the darurat is until August 1, 2021, or until an earlier date if the number of daily positive cases can be controlled and lowered.

The decision was made after the Agong met with prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the national palace on Monday, and was announced by the latter today. In his speech, the prime minister confirmed that there would be no curfews enforced during the darurat period, and there will also be no elections of any sort.

He added that the government will continue to operate as usual, although there will be no parliamentary and state legislative assemblies held until a decided period. There will also be no army intervention except to assist healthcare workers in combatting the pandemic, and to man roadblocks alongside the police.

The declaration comes following yesterday’s announcement by the prime minister, which will see the reimplementation of the movement control order (MCO) for the states of Selangor, Johor, Penang, Melaka, Sabah and the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan from January 13 to January 26.

During the same two-week period, a conditional movement control order (CMCO) will be applied to Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan, while a recovery movement control order (RMCO) will be in place for the states of Perlis and Sarawak.

Agong declares <em>darurat</em> effective until August 1, 2021 – no curfew will be enforced, no additional travel bans

In terms of protocols and standard operating procedures (SOPs) that we know of following yesterday’s announcement, they are as follows:

• Inter-state travel across the entire country is prohibited
  • Inter-district travel is not permitted for states under the MCO
  • All social activities involving mass gatherings or sporting events are not permitted for states under the MCO
  • A 10-km radius limit for the purchase of food and necessities as well as for the seeking of healthcare and medical services will be reimplemented in MCO states
  • Only two people from the same household will be allowed to travel in a car when going out to shop for groceries or necessities
  • No in-place dining will be allowed in MCO states, with stalls and restaurants only permitted to do take-away and deliveries

As before, any individual caught violating MCO rules will be served with a RM1,000 fine, and there will be no discount once a compound notice has been issued.

The government said it had identified five economic sectors that will be permitted to remain operational during the MCO period, and these are manufacturing; construction; trade, logistics and distribution; plantation and commodities, as well as essential services.

It added that only 30% of management staff will be allowed to be in the workplace, while the number of supporting staff or workers on site at any one time will have to be determined by the organisation, with strict SOPs in place. As for the list of essential services, these will be detailed by the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) like previously.

We would like remind everyone to heed the government’s fight against the pandemic by just staying at home. If it is absolutely necessary for you to get provisions, medical supplies and food, please make it fast and limit the distance travelled for those purposes. There’s also no need to rush out to buy groceries and supplies, as you will still be able to shop for these during the MCO.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Cincalok on Jan 12, 2021 at 12:19 pm

With darurat declared, many will now work at home. No need go traveling to office, struck in jam wasting time and petrol and being stressful.

Wait, I hope my boss will not potong my gaji, or worst still sacking me….since there is litle productivity. haih…..senang jadi susah. Susah jadi lagi susah liow.

Better not think of buying new car for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Bob AI on Jan 12, 2021 at 1:35 pm

Well not if your boss is the Government servant then you can go balik kampung and work at hometown for free salary.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 12, 2021 at 1:54 pm

There is also associated stress factors by working at home for families. Try working with 2-3 young kids dancing around you and see what kind of stress levels you will be getting.

• Fordist on Jan 12, 2021 at 7:56 pm

When ppl dont follow SOP, balik kampung 2-3 young kids dancing around… is good destress.

• Melania Rosmah on Jan 12, 2021 at 2:29 pm

Rakyat,hard times seem to come in waves now.
      If u have booked X50 or X70 and your company is trimming staff,do u need rocket science to call the distributor to abort the purchase?
      Now MCO 2.0
      Who knows whats left when MCO 3.0 comes?Stonehenge ?

• Dredd on Jan 12, 2021 at 3:32 pm

Daulat Tuanku!
      Uphold rule of Law, Charged them all in Courts!!

• Firm now. Safe now. Can sleep well now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • KUNTA KUNCHI on Jan 12, 2021 at 2:33 pm

Wah..you must be super loaded like Hafriz,who keeps buying X50 and exotic cars like no tomorrow.
      You can sleep…what about those who just lost their jobs or about to get the dreaded ‘VSS or straight redundancy ‘ letter?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 12, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Caring rulers n gomen working together to safeguard our lives n health. Tahniah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Gabriel on Jan 12, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Great!
    No more politicking.
    Rakyat well being and health come first. Thumbs up from me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • John Doe on Jan 12, 2021 at 2:49 pm

1 month too late

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 13, 2021 at 3:22 pm

Cause too much politiking from Bang Non. Everyone was waiting to see his numbers but it never materialise.