MCO 2.0: People from different households can travel in one car, following vehicle’s max seating capacity

Senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has stated that there is no ruling that those travelling in a vehicle must be from the same household or have the same address in their identification documents, according to a report by The Star.

During a press briefing yesterday, Ismail Sabri explained that during the first movement control order (MCO), the ruling at the time was only two persons from the same household were allowed to travel in one car. Following this, with the conditional and recovery movement control orders (CMCO and RMCO), the number of occupants per vehicle was permitted up to the seating capacity of the vehicle.

“When we started to allow the same in MCO states, we made it clear that the number of passengers is based on the car’s capacity. We did not say that passengers have to come from the same address,” said Ismail Sabri. The clarification comes after it was claimed that some drivers had been compounded for having passengers in their car who were not from the same house or shared the same address.

On a separate topic, Ismail Sabri also said parents who are sending their children to schools in different districts or states will not need to seek police permission beforehand. Instead, they will only need to show letters issued by the school at police roadblocks.

“The technical committee on the MCO has agreed that police permission is not needed when travelling for this purpose. Parents can just show the letter issued by schools on their children’s enrolment to the police manning roadblocks,” he commented.

The MCO is currently in effect in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang and Johor, and will come to an end on March 4. The rest of Malaysia is now under the CMCO, with the exception of Perlis that is under the RMCO.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Melania Rosmah on Feb 26, 2021 at 1:36 pm

Rakyat..beware.The press conference “seems” to be different from ground zero.Majority of rakyat 98% wants to obey SOPs.Only 2% or less keep breaking the SOPs.
    At first,the interdistric boundary issue.Now,occupants in cars.
    Judge for yourself who is /is not competent.It seems menteri’s interpretation of SOPs is not communicated well to our dear enforcement officers who have to brave the hot sun for hours,and also exposed to the virus due to their nature of work.
    Do u see this happening in Spore? None.If u are on stay home quarantine, the police officer may be at your doorstep when he gives u a phone call.They are up to date and precise with their dos and donts.
    Perhaps its time to get police permit to cross border for a “Belajar tanpa melanchong” session.
    We dont need rocket science (for Mars Exploration),for such a simple task…communication.
    Any communication experts available who can give free tuition to those with unclear communication skills?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Copy Paste on Feb 27, 2021 at 12:28 am

Copy paste: “bro lu otak ok tak”

• Dr Strange on Feb 27, 2021 at 9:54 am

Some dont seem to/prefer not to understand anything about MCO2.0 or rather maybe they do but buat bodoh and chose to nitpick when rule changes as the situation evolves. Majority rakyat 98% want to obey SOP? LMAO! Health experts warned that majority of clusters are happening caused by not following the SOPs, so what are they talking. The rakyat are stubbornly not complying until the Govt have no choice by to increase fine to RM 10,000! If this is not a wakeup call to recalcitrant rakyats, I dont know what is… maybe death penalty will make them wakeup.
      (https://paultan.org/2021/02/26/mco-violators-will-now-face-a-fine-of-up-to-rm10000/)

Selfish people dont self-reflect and prefer to play the blame game. Its easy to blame the Govt when they chose not to understand the meaning behind every action. The rules change are simply cause the situation are ever changing. Those who cannot change and adapt will get left behind. As the situation improves, certain activities reopens. Some might think MCO2.0 is useless but hey, going from 5,000 cases daily to <2,000 now showed it works and this balanced with the further loosening of restrictions.

Our way works for us, other peoples way works for them. We prefer early prevention hence why were the the few countries that didnt get the UK or African strain of Covid. Meanwhile US just reached 500,000 deaths yet we dont see Biden closing down the whole USA. Are some implying the US CDC and govt have to come here and learn from us how we control it? LMAO!

Yes we dont need rocket science but it seemingly looks like some needs a rocket science degree to understand even simple things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Kim Jong Din on Feb 27, 2021 at 12:07 pm

Dr.Tak Tau strange,
        the issue here is communication of the evolving SOPs(according to u)to ground zero.Dont talk about clusters.
        People are slapped with a huge compound that can buy more than a year supply of rice and sugar.
        The menteri just have to get a special Police officer in his meetings to get all the facts straight,n then e mail all the balai for precise enforcement.We are not bashing .We are just highlighting the confusion.
        Now ,people have to go to the relevant gomen dept to reduce the fine or cancel it,with the virus still running riot.Mind you,they may get covid in the rayuan running around.Wait,your turn will come for the compound one day,if the confusion persists.

• Amran on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:01 pm

You think we care? The gomen who allowed Sabah state elections…. and No kuarantin back from sabah #Tepukdahi

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:34 pm

We don’t see any problem with communication. All updated SOPs are disseminated well thru social media and press media channels. MKN constantly update everyone with SMS blast so you can’t say you did not receive becos no data. Stop giving excuses. Idiotic rakyats are getting saman becos they don’t want to follow SOP. Simple!

The majority who listen are not confuse, only those who don’t want listen to Gomen channels and prefers listen their own politikus are confused. When Selangor have their own SOP different from Gomen, who to blame other than those running the state.

Anyway kudos to the gomen for doing the right thing not just empty promise. Listening to rakyat. Well done.

• longjaafar on Feb 27, 2021 at 12:17 pm

Comprehensively agree bro. Stubborn or recalcitrants… the fact is Annuar Musa still not following the SOP,

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 27, 2021 at 10:29 am

Tak saman, kata takde enforcement
      Saman pulak, kata abuse of power
      Mamat spesis ni lagi baik covid kasi pupus jela

• Kalau ikut max seating capacity. Biasa jumpe Proton Saga Blm muat 11 orang.

• PlainBS on Feb 26, 2021 at 1:58 pm

God also you, ghost also you.

• IGP mom on Feb 26, 2021 at 3:16 pm

I’m IGP mom also confuse with all the rule changes that happen daily. The more confused the public is, the easier the police can issue saman based on their own interpretation. Today ok, tomorrow not ok, then saman. Today not ok, tomorrow ok, but still saman. Anything, saman 10k on the spot. But, if its ministers, then still investigating up to AG and still no result.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 26, 2021 at 3:57 pm

As’kum DS Ismail Sabri… kini darurat. Mne boleh bukak jalan, bukak sekolah, bukak pejabat. Parlimen masih tutup rapat #Kitajagakita

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:29 pm

With vaccination programs started, everyone has full confidence in how things being done. Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Sekarang ini macam esok lain pulak…it could be changed any moment…ini lah Malaysia