MCO 2.0: Full vehicle seating capacity now permitted

The Malaysian government has announced through the national security council (MKN) that the number of occupants per vehicle is now permitted up to the seating capacity of the vehicle, effectively lifting the two-per-car occupancy limit put in place in January for the recent implementation of the movement control order (MCO). This will take effect from Friday, February 19, 2021.

“We have allowed those living under MCO some flexibility after hearing public appeals,” senior minister (security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said in his briefing today. On Tuesday (February 16), the current MCO for Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang and Johor was extended until March 4, while Putrajaya is now under CMCO, and not the MCO that Kuala Lumpur is subject to.

The 10 km radius limit has also been lifted, though inter-district and inter-state travel is still banned. According to Ismail Sabri, the 10 km radius limit is no longer relevant as many businesses have already been allowed to open.

In addition to seating capacity, the government has now also relaxed the two-per-table seating limit for dine-in patronage of food and beverage outlets, now subject to the size of the table and with one-metre physical distancing between patrons as well as between tables stipulated.

As before, the increased permissible seating capacities are applicable within one’s own area. In any case, do continue to only travel when necessary, and maintain the best possible hygiene practices. Stay safe.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• azrai on Feb 18, 2021 at 6:53 pm

Now Exora Black Edition seems to be a wise choice.

• exactly, this Darudat time must total lockdown.

• Melania Rosmah on Feb 18, 2021 at 9:55 pm

Since 10km is abolished,this means mobility to the daerah boundary ,say another 10-15km extra.
        Whats worrying are the mamak restaurants and pasar malams..I seldom see enforcements.They are packed to the brim..people laughing,talking louder to be heard.Where got 3 feet apart?
        Even with 3 feet separation,the droplets aerosols can travel 12 feet according to scientist,if there is a cough or sneeze.
        So ,3000 to 5000 cases a day will still be “normal”.
        Then ,we will be extending MCOs till Christmas 2021.
        The issue is not “lack of rules or SOPs”.
        The issue at hand is lack of enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Rosman on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:25 am

Cash is king …sambil menyelam minum air. Abam2 enforcement preferred Nissan van..few Banglas inside with apek boss..Polis & JPJ stopped the van…busy negotiating at the road side..Why need to talk 3 talk 4.? If salah,issue ticket and drive off..instead causing traffic jams and being a road hazard.

• EDITOR on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:10 am

Same comment as this?
            Melania Rosmah on Jan 23, 2021 at 1:35 pm
            lately,I saw a Nissan van..few Banglas inside with apek boss..JPJ stopped the van…busy negotiating at the road side..Why need to talk 3 talk 4.? If salah,issue ticket and drive off..instead causing traffic jams and being a road hazard.

Interesting…. Dupe trolling is dupe trolling.

• Dr Strange on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:37 am

What are you talking about droplets traveling 12 ft away? Wearing mask prevents that unless you are those refusing to wear one which I would say serves you right. The problem isn’t enforcement but stupid and stubborn attitudes that cannot be cured.

• Ajibkor on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:16 pm

The 12 feet is possible when the dude is maskless,eating n talking louder cakap cakap bola at mamak stall.U need rocket science?

• Contradiction on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:17 pm

Nobody is allowed into pasar malams not wearing facemask, it is a penalisable crime with RM 1000 summons. Oh wait, your the same dude that complained about MCO making life difficult and susah cari makan. So are you asking for lesser enforcement or stricter enforcement? Trolls seems to not know what they want here.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:51 am

If MCO is working, daily cases won’t stay on 2k-3k+ everyday. It should drop dramatically to hundreds

• Dr Strange on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:07 am

Not necessarily. Majority of cases are coming from workplace & hostel infections which even with MCO not easy to resolve. You can see that in Selangor did not have cross state transmission but internally the rate is still high. To dramatically reduce is by total lockdown and isolating transmissions to individual workers hostel. Our economy would not survive such a total lockdown again so not likely it will happen.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:58 am

The issue isn’t enforcement but human stupidity.

• Dapo Cik Jah on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:31 pm

Human stupidity since came to power last FEB 2020… 12 month gone, 100 Hari honeymoon gone, PKP until FEB 4040.. Jom masak, asam pedas Ikan merah petang nih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Dredd on Feb 18, 2021 at 7:07 pm

Ha ha hah… suddenly covid virus all gone edi. My 2017 alphard ZG can full capacity now.. pity those Abam2 polis and army at roadblocks forced to main Wayang-wayang with our brilliant 70 Menteri. 2,712 New cases, record high of 25 deaths today.. sedekah alfatihah to them. Tengkiu gomen MY terbest!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Alive & kicking on Feb 18, 2021 at 9:20 pm

They’re not scared because the vaccinations are going to begin.

• Nasi Ayam Sambado on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:36 am

Gomen 70 ministers not yet wake up, sleep sleep dream…

• Dong Gor on Feb 18, 2021 at 7:23 pm

Am I the only one to feel the MCO is almost business as usual now ? With no limit to # passengers in a car, dining open to more than 2/ table, etc…are we heading the right direction to curb Covid -19 ar…

• Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:20 am

Menteri also quarantine only 3 days and now so easily can travel more than 10km and full capacity. wow! best la… i also want to be law maker…. kejap saman, kejap buka. then not satisfied, tutup and saman again.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:36 am

Kejap saman, kejap buka. Parlimen xbukak2 , takde FDI , takde pelabur , ekonomi hancurr , rakyat merana. GGWP Malaysia (

• I am still WFH. Government still only allowed 30% of management staffs in the office. 5 staffs in my company reported covid19 a month ago. Once companies have record with staff affected by covid19, enforcers may monitor these companies closely. That’s why top management still dare not to ask all staffs back to office. Company still can operate as usual now. But if it is caught to go against law, it may be not be allowed to operate. Bigger loss!

• Tang KS on Feb 23, 2021 at 10:51 am

Must all passengers in car be from the same household?