2021 BMW 5 Series facelift launched in Malaysia – G30 530e and 530i M Sport LCI, RM317,534 to RM368,122

Having been teased for the better part of two months, the facelifted G30 BMW 5 Series has officially been launched in Malaysia today. As previously reported, the refreshed executive sedan is being offered in 530e plug-in hybrid and 530i variants, both fitted with the M Sport package out of the gate.

Prices for the locally-assembled models range from RM317,534 for the 530e M Sport to RM368,122 for the 530i M Sport, both on-the-road without insurance inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption and the standard two-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. These figures are valid until June 30, after which they will increase to RM323,980 and RM378,980 respectively with SST.

With the extended five-year warranty and free scheduled service package, those prices go up to RM334,354 and RM384,942 respectively (RM340,800 and RM395,800 with SST), which are quite a bit cheaper than previously estimated. They are also a little more expensive than the outgoing models, largely due to an upgraded equipment count which we’ll get into.

The G30’s Life Cycle Impulse (LCI, which is what BMW calls a facelift) adds several upgrades to the exterior, including a new front fascia with a more angular double kidney grille. The two nostrils are roughly the same size as before (not comically oversized like recent models) and are flanked by reshaped headlights with L-shaped daytime running lights. New three-dimensional taillights with C-shaped graphics feature at the rear.

The aforementioned M Sport package on both cars adds larger front air intakes with a U-shaped contour running into the headlights, plus a redesigned rear bumper with a contrasting grey bumper insert and trapezoidal tailpipes. Both models come with the same 19-inch Y-spoke Style 845 M alloy wheels, with the 530e also coming with adaptive LED headlights.

Differentiating the 530i are the more advanced Laserlights which are new to the 5 Series, identifiable by their blue illuminated “eyebrows” instead of white. It also gets a satin aluminium finish on the side window frames and Air Breather vents.

Not many changes on the inside, save for remapped steering wheel controls, gloss black centre console buttons, redesigned seats for greater comfort, a revamped 12.3-inch instrument display and another 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen that is two inches larger than before. The car runs on the BMW Operating System 7.0, featuring larger tiles, over-the-air updates and the Intelligent Personal Assistant voice control.

The 530e and 530i are nearly identical on the inside, both coming with an M Sport steering wheel, M side sill scuff plates and M alloy pedals, plus power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s side memory, Dakota leather upholstery, Smoke Grey Aluminium Rhombicle trim and black headlining.

Both cars are also fitted with the Parking Assistant Plus with a 360-degree camera system and a three-dimensional view which can also be accessed remotely – a huge upgrade over the previous reverse camera. The 530i does come with some extra kit, however, such as a sunroof, a head-up display and a 16-speaker, 464-watt Harman Kardon sound system (the 530e receives the 12-speaker, 205-watt BMW HiFi system).

Otherwise, standard equipment remains the same and includes keyless entry, push-button start, four-zone automatic climate control, powered rear windscreen and manual side window sunshades, auto lights and wipers, auto-dimming mirrors, adaptive dampers and a hands-free powered bootlid.

Safety-wise, both models come with the Driving Assistant package that includes autonomous emergency braking, lane keeping assist and blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert. The 530i gets the additional adaptive cruise control with stop and go, previously offered on the initial imported batch of the pre-facelifted G30 but removed on the CKD models.

Mechanically, the 530i is similar to the previous model. Despite the B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine getting higher-pressure fuel injection, outputs are identical at 252 PS from 5,200 to 6,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 1,450 and 4,800 rpm – all sent to the rear via an eight-speed automatic gearbox. It gets from zero to 100 km/h in 6.4 seconds and delivers a fuel consumption figure of 6.7 litres per 100 km.

BMW 530e M Sport, click to enlarge

The 530e, on the other hand, receives the upgraded powertrain from the 330e, pairing the 184 PS/300 Nm B48 engine (same outputs as the 520i) and eight-speed auto with a 50 kW (68 PS) electric motor. While outputs are the same at 252 PS and 420 Nm, a new XtraBoost function enables the motor to deliver an extra 30 kW (41 PS) upon acceleration, temporarily bumping the power figure to 292 PS.

As such, the car will get from zero to 100 km/h in only 5.9 seconds. A larger 12 kWh battery (up from 9.2 kWh) brings a useful improvement in all-electric range, which goes up from 48 km to 67 km; fuel consumption is rated at just 2.3 litres per 100 km combined. Another feature that’s new for the 530e this year is an external loudspeaker that plays a sound to alert pedestrians and cyclists at speeds of up to 30 km/h.

The facelifted 5 Series is available in five colours – solid Alpine White and metallic Carbon Black with Cognac upholstery and metallic Phytonic Blue, Sophisto Grey and Bluestone with a black interior. Additionally, both models are available with a number of optional accessories.

BMW 530i M Sport, click to enlarge

The M Performance Parts package (fitted to the white 530e in these images) consists of a gloss black grille and rear bumper insert, carbon fibre door mirrors and matte black side stripes, side sills, rear spoiler and diffuser. It is priced at RM17,410 but is available with a 10% discount at RM15,712 until December 31.

Exclusive to the 530e is the extended Shadow Line package, which adds a gloss black finish to the grille, side window frames and Air Breather vents to replace the satin aluminium items. The pack retails at RM5,437 but it too comes with a rebate valid until December 31, dropping the price down to RM5,000 excluding labour.

The facelifted 5 Series will be available at dealerships starting today. With the Balloon Financing Plan from BMW Group Financial Services Malaysia, the 530e can be had from just RM3,778 per month, while the 530i starts from only RM4,388 per month, both with an 80% loan and a five-year tenure. Browse full specifications and equipment of both variants on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2021 BMW 530e M Sport facelift

GALLERY: 2021 BMW 530i M Sport facelift
GALLERY: 2021 BMW 5 Series facelift M Performance Parts

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 28, 2021 at 12:07 pm

Looks beautiful after facelift all thanks to the new headlights and new backlights treatment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • peminat neelofa on May 28, 2021 at 12:58 pm

Missing bigger grill more Garang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 28, 2021 at 5:47 pm

Motoring semakin bosan dengan kedatangan EV. Topik hanya jer (1)fast charging berapa lama, (2)batteri 100% tahan berapa KM, (3)batteri kena tukar berapa tahun, (4)batteri harga berapa. Tukar batteri cukup usah tukar kereta dah

• Any idea why the SST rebate is so less. merely about 6k for 530e (RM 330k) and about 10k for 530i (RM 390k).

Does anyone can share SST calculation method which may reflect the actual car cost and dealer margin? Is there any additional tax there after?

Any idea?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 28, 2021 at 12:56 pm

The SST is applied to the government approved selling price (the one nobody gets to see) and doesn’t include any dealer margins, which is why it’s not a full 10% reduction. Car companies aren’t obliged to show us the pricing structure, so we’ll never truly know how they got to those figures.

• Thanks for your input Jon. However I was calculating with reference to https://paultan.org/2020/06/05/100-sales-tax-exemption-for-ckd-cars-in-malaysia-does-this-mean-car-prices-will-go-down-by-10/

If using this calculation method, Sst will impose on the recommendations price by gov. Ie. A 530e will be about rm 60k (backwards calculation based on 10% sst impose.)
        Unless car dealer is allowed not to full rebate sst to buyer.
        Else the 530e will be rm60+k + sst + margin = approx rm 324k.

Similarly 530i will be about rm 100k + sst + margin = approx rm380k

Possible?

• Amran on May 28, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Can check with MITI minister perhaps

• Yeah, but i doubt they will entertain us to disclose these information.

With using these “Fixed Rebate” backward calculation, we maybe able to estimate the actual car cost/market value and why certain spec is removed/included.

If the calculation is correct, selling this Brand has a fat Margin vs the rest.

I am still hoping with any expert from the industry will share more $ cost information and we consumer can have a better understanding :) Thanks .

• Avenger on May 28, 2021 at 2:45 pm

Well known that SST is less transparent vs GST. Deswai during past GST free period we got the full 6% off but with SST, you don’t get the full 10% rebate. Guess who decided to replace the more transparent GST with the opaque SST?

• Yes and No.
        GST is a blanket transactional Tax. Hence it imposed at the very end of the product costing (information not disclose and after dealer margin)calculation

SST from the reading, it is only Tax based on government approved selling price (information not disclose to public and before dealer margin).

As a consumer myself, i will rather spend most $ in the product itself then paying non value added taxes and margin. Meaning if we will able to pay less tax and less margin. We will get a better product with the money we spent. Especially, the dealer do not transfer the “Tax Saving” to consumer and they included that be part into their Margin.

Agree?

• Avenger on May 28, 2021 at 4:06 pm

No.
          You’re paying the same price right, but paying less for SST doesn’t mean you’re paying more for the product, just that you’re paying more to fill pockets of distros. Lesser goes to taxes meant lesser available for Govt to use for nation building works. So you’re getting less overall benefits from SST vs GST while distros gets richer. The reason why business community supports going back to SST back then and were so against GST.

Agree?

• The point I am trying to reach were, avoid those distri who do not translate the saving to end consumer. Ie hybrid incentive.

Mainly in the automotive industry. This sst rebate had reflected “almost the cost” of the distri and reveal the fat margin

Generally GST is a better and fair transaction tax.. Close down quite a number of loophole with Sst.

• Avenger on May 29, 2021 at 3:29 pm

You don’t get to pick & choose which distro except for the car brands, unless you go for parallel imports. An official imported BMW 530e is the same price any outlet you go to, you might get different showroom discounts and freebies but that ain’t coming from paying less SST.

• Abahdin on May 28, 2021 at 3:33 pm

BMW cars are not CKD complete knockdown units. Deswai no full SST for semi-knockdown cars… Btw its jemin who decided, cuba tnye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Brian on May 28, 2021 at 7:28 pm

It was Pakatan who decided as a whole. Responsibility and blame falls onto the entire lot of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • HighBoi on May 28, 2021 at 1:15 pm

Clearly trying to front run the new c class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • G30 LCI on May 28, 2021 at 1:56 pm

Got Android auto & apple car play?

• Got or not, people still able to enjoy, as long as equipments, safety and power are there.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 28, 2021 at 2:44 pm

Nope, those cost extra and have to be purchased from the ConnectedDrive Store.

• Avenger on May 28, 2021 at 2:48 pm

RM300k+ car with neither AA nor CP and people here complain of local car @RM100k comes without them. LOL!

• You can purchase android auto now too? I thought only apple carplay was offered.

• Key classic on May 28, 2021 at 5:02 pm

Both available at around RM 1299 in the new myBMW app. But the classic digital key which unlock and start car with samsung hp is no more. Instead they add Apple key. Bmw so weird now. Half generation let samsung android have key then anither half let apple have it. CNt they just accomodate both?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 28, 2021 at 5:52 pm

BMW is moving over to a newer digital key coming to Android 12, expected to be released later this year on selected Pixel and Samsung Galaxy phones.

• Avenger on May 28, 2021 at 4:00 pm

RM300k+ car with neither AA nor CP and people here complain of local car @RM100k comes without them. LOL!

• Headlights on May 28, 2021 at 4:59 pm

How can they give laser light to the 5er higher variant but dont for the 330i. Campare the price diff 330i more than 320i also more than 40k before mco. Sigh. But luckily the normal LED on 3er is getting nicer the more u look at.

• Contender on May 28, 2021 at 10:41 pm

What about 520i LCi ? Entry level 5 series mana ?? Bila

• 520i LCi variant replaced by 330Li. Both cars are same wheelbase but 330Li price is cheap and power has more compare to 520i.

• Still no ventilated seats for this D segment sedan? Even Proton X70 C segment SUV included ventilated seats.

• Volvo S90 or BMW 530e on Jun 06, 2021 at 2:45 am

Just curious between the BMW 530e and the Volvo S90 T8 both recently launch which is the better car and which is the better buy?

• I test drove both. Initially booked 530e, then hand itchy went to test drive S90 at Sisma.

S90 is the clear winner, without a doubt like oh my god the wood trims, bowers & wilkins sound system, the level 2 autonomous driving, ventilated seats, Android automotive OS, HUD!!!!

Terus cancel booking and go for S90

At least I’ll sleep well knowing that people on the road won’t think I am an *sshole